Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtful and rewarding drama
I enjoyed all three episodes contained in this set and I look forward to the release of the next three. Van Veeteren is not so much a case of one detective trying to solve a crime, but more about his team and how they try and solve crime together. I think this is something that adds strength to the three episodes. Each episode focuses in on a different detective,...
Published 17 months ago by rorijs

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't quite come up to scratch
Cards on the table: One: I'm a great fan of Krister Henriksson's Wallander. He is likeable and vulnerable, and if he is both grumpy and cynical, he is nevertheless charismatic, with a mind and methods of his own. Two: I haven't read the Van Veeteren books.

Van Veeteren, played by Sven Wollter, is a retired Detective Chief Inspector. Although he is supposed to...
Published 5 months ago by Kalense


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtful and rewarding drama, 28 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Van Veeteren Films: Vol. 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed all three episodes contained in this set and I look forward to the release of the next three. Van Veeteren is not so much a case of one detective trying to solve a crime, but more about his team and how they try and solve crime together. I think this is something that adds strength to the three episodes. Each episode focuses in on a different detective, though all of them feature in each episode to a larger or lesser degree.

As in the other Arrow Films release, 'Wallander', each episode is 90 minutes and the cinematography on southern Sweden is quite stunning. The acting is strong, particularly in the last episode's (the main detective character played by Eva Rexed in 'Moreno and the Silence'.

The music score by Stefan Nilsson is the usual powerful and minimalist aprroach, used to great effect in the 'Wallander' series and it is indeed again TV4 that produced this drama. The pace is not racing, but neither does it plod and there is a strong narrative in each of the three episodes.

I have to confess, that up until now, I have not read the novels that this series is based upon. Perhaps my view would be different after reading them although I still believe there is much to enjoy here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rewarding detective stories, 13 Oct. 2014
By 
NoirAddict (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Van Veeteren Films: Vol. 1 [DVD] (DVD)
For UK audiences, the interest in so called Nordic Noir has been largely generated on TV by BBC4 on Saturday night and by Arrow, who've created dvd/blu ray releases for home audiences. The original books have helped but it's the TV adaptations that have affected audiences the most. Sadly most of the imported shows shown on BBC4 are very recent shows from Scandinavia (and also mainland Europe) so other well regarded crime shows from the recent past are still yet to get an airing on British TV.

So what's this got to do with Van Veeteren? Well for one thing. This underrated gem of a show has real class. The music, acting, writing, direction are all top notch featuring title character retired Detective Chief Inspector Van Veeteren. The stories can be quite intense and often bloody with the dark undercurrent of obsession and (twisted) motivation so typical of the best Scandinavian dramas. My only objective observation is that as a viewer, some of these films are a 'slow burn.' Not flashy. Not using the latest camera or editing techniques for flash or effect. Just well told, well made drama. So well worth your time and money.
This set (and Vol 2) feature all the Van Veeteren films made to date.

Vol. 1 contains:

Borkmann's Point
In 'Borkmann's Point' (2005) Veeteren, who we see retiring from the force, is invited in by former colleagues to find links between two brutal murders to try and catch the killer before he strikes again.

Münsters Case
In 'Münsters Case' (2005) Veeteren's colleagues Münster (Thomas Hanzon) and Moreno (Eva Rexed) investigate the murder of a wealthy man. Although he's not a dominant player in the story, Van Veeteren's intervention and counseling to the younger detective is critical in solving the case and saving the man's life.

Moreno and Silence
In 'Moreno and Silence' (2006) Moreno investigates the murder of a girl who had left a controversial religious sect trying to find the killer before he murders again. Van Veeteren is again, not a dominant player throughout the story, but provides crucial support to Moreno at the cases end, as she tracks down the murderer.

Recommended release for anyone with a taste for a distinctly different kind of Nordic murder/mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't quite come up to scratch, 3 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Van Veeteren Films: Vol. 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Cards on the table: One: I'm a great fan of Krister Henriksson's Wallander. He is likeable and vulnerable, and if he is both grumpy and cynical, he is nevertheless charismatic, with a mind and methods of his own. Two: I haven't read the Van Veeteren books.

Van Veeteren, played by Sven Wollter, is a retired Detective Chief Inspector. Although he is supposed to be a kindly, grandfatherly and spritely old man, I find the character vaguely unpleasant and unappealing - shades of some rancid child molester. I think that much of my distaste stems from his slurred speech, which emanates from a mouth that is less repellent when closed. Part, though, comes from his inability to accept that he is, indeed, retired, and should leave police work to the police. I admit that this is an entirely personal perspective, but being myself retired, but yet a hippie, you have to let go, man, let go, roll with the flow, get with the vibe. The graveyards are full of indispensable people. Give someone else a go.

So; not specially likeable, then. He, like Wallander, is played as vulnerable, but since we hardly glimpse what he thinks or feels in his private life, we are left with a rather shallowly-drawn vulnerability, a kind of flaky veneer. Since he himself seems to have the empathy of a doorknob, it is difficult to engage with him. His reaction to any visitor is "have a beer", and to any emotional shock to stare meaningfully into the middle distance.

Since he is retired he has to be shoe-horned into each episode in one improbable way or another. This means that the series is really not "Van Veeteren", but "Moreno or Münster (and Van Veeteren)".

The stories involve particularly unpleasant crimes and deaths. The goodies turn out to be crack shots with hand-guns. Spoiler: all the baddies get shot in the penultimate scene, which saves the Swedish taxpayer money.

The series is OK, but set against other Nordic Noir, doesn't quite come up to scratch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will there be a Vol 3 ?, 29 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Van Veeteren Films: Vol. 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Vol 1 and 2 are both excellent and I hope that there will be a vol. three. Good stories, well scripted, acted and directed. Not too black either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good scandinavian drama, 5 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Van Veeteren Films: Vol. 1 [DVD] (DVD)
While some have commented on the differences between the filmed version of Van Veeteren and the books I think you can enjoy both and though slightly more eventful the tv adaptations are entertaining and in my opinion capture the spirit of the books if not the detail. I also think some of the poor reviews are somewhat exagerating when they claim every episode ends in a shoot-out this is certainly not the case in the three filmed episodes I have viewed so make up your own mind, if you already enjoy scandinavian drama I think you will enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Van Veeteren Films: Vol 1, 26 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Van Veeteren Films: Vol. 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Again great series. Great story, good actors. Could not stop watching. Met all our expectations. If you are into these type of mobies, do not miss this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars We love Van Veeteren, 11 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Van Veeteren Films: Vol. 1 [DVD] (DVD)
We love Van Veeteren. It's a bit like Morse but Swedish. He's a thoughtful, clever, semi-retired police officer who runs a bookshop in Maardam. If you like careful, slow mysteries with real characters and plots - give it a go. Can't understand why they never showed it on UK TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars like a glass of fine old wine, 20 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Van Veeteren Films: Vol. 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This series is different to the other Nordic Noir. Like an old wine its one you sip and savour and talk about.

Old wines may not have much fruit left, but they offer plenty of interest. Like here if you blink you miss the very occasion flash of histrionic and drama but what you do get are penetrative explorations into characters which like wines trapped inside bottles for decades, are allowed screen time to stretch and silently reveal their glory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent viewing, 6 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Van Veeteren Films: Vol. 1 [DVD] (DVD)
good stories good images great actors very enjoyable
Nordic Noir has an excellent collection that I highly recommend
original and creative
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Van V, 25 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Van Veeteren Films: Vol. 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Great Nordic crime, will buy other series if the price is right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Van Veeteren Films: Vol. 1 [DVD]
Van Veeteren Films: Vol. 1 [DVD] by Rickard Petrelius (DVD - 2013)
£7.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews