Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great little starters guide
I'm very new to Python and was looking for a language I could learn that is portable across platfroms. Being an experienced programmer this was more 'Python in a couple of hours' for me, but for somebody very new to programming this is a cute little intro to the world of Python.

There are a couple of little issues though. The installation chapter: I noticed...
Published 15 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Thin and simple.
Its ok but the ad implies more. Buy it as a first book if you have no previous experience. Then save up for a proper book.
Published 9 months ago by Hippo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great little starters guide, 6 Jun 2013
This review is from: Python In A Day: Learn the basics, Learn it quick, Start coding fast (In A Day Books Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I'm very new to Python and was looking for a language I could learn that is portable across platfroms. Being an experienced programmer this was more 'Python in a couple of hours' for me, but for somebody very new to programming this is a cute little intro to the world of Python.

There are a couple of little issues though. The installation chapter: I noticed that it seems to refer to version 2.7.3, whereas I had already installed version 3.x. Some of the example didn't work. For example, the print statement seems to insist in brackets, so >>> print x (no good), >>> print (x) (OK). Similarly the built-in raw_input() function, I discovered, is superseded by input(). As I had skipped this chapter I missed the reference to version 2.7.3.

Overall a gentle introduction to Python. Suddenly the prospect of learning a new programming language doesn't seem so daunting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Book, 14 Jan 2014
By 
J. Butterly (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Python In A Day: Learn the basics, Learn it quick, Start coding fast (In A Day Books Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
very pleased with book very clear instructions and you jump straight into programming on the first chapter. The book was not too expensive and is good for a reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Thin and simple., 14 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its ok but the ad implies more. Buy it as a first book if you have no previous experience. Then save up for a proper book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit too basic - read it in under an hour., 8 Nov 2013
By 
O. Benson "ollybenson" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Python In A Day: Learn the basics, Learn it quick, Start coding fast (In A Day Books Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Bought this as a reasonably competent PHP programmer who wanted to try out Python as so many organisations seem to be using it.

This book is intended for people who have never really done any programming before, so it spends lots of time explaining fairly standard programming tools such as for/next loops, whereas I was looking for something that simply explained the python approach to these tools.

And then when I thought we'd get to the more interesting bits, the book ended.

If you've never programmed before then I can see value in this book, if you have some previous programming experience, use an online primer instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good and straight to the point!, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Python In A Day: Learn the basics, Learn it quick, Start coding fast (In A Day Books Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is a must get book even for those of you that have no experience in programming.
It is straight to the point and concise.
Of course I've seen other books but this tops it all keeping it short, quick and not boring at all.
It is also very basic so this is covering the fundamental parts of Python.

For those of you that are experienced programmers, this is on version 2.7x.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a book, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Python In A Day: Learn the basics, Learn it quick, Start coding fast (In A Day Books Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
What a book . Very easy to follow with some great ideas which helped me enormously. Good value for money and highly recommended for anyone interested in Python.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars UNnecessary, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Python In A Day: Learn the basics, Learn it quick, Start coding fast (In A Day Books Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book is very insufficent with the content and very thin. I got disappointed when i received this and saw how small and thin it was.

An hour of googling python basics would be more helpful than purchasing this item.

I definitely don't recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Python In A Day: Learn the basics, Learn it quick, Start coding fast (In A Day Books Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Good Book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews