Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
TELLS A STORY THAT NEEDS TO BE TOLD
Published 3 months ago by R. Eldridge

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, first 100 pages a hard slog
I was looking forward to reading this, but to be honest it was a bit of a hard slog. The first 100 pages were a general history of British photo reconnaissance/intelligence, from its adhoc origins post WW I to the amateurish establishment of a photographic intelligence service at the outbreak of WWII - nothing to do with Crossbow at all which was essentially the reason I...
Published 20 months ago by N. Page


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, first 100 pages a hard slog, 23 July 2013
By 
N. Page (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I was looking forward to reading this, but to be honest it was a bit of a hard slog. The first 100 pages were a general history of British photo reconnaissance/intelligence, from its adhoc origins post WW I to the amateurish establishment of a photographic intelligence service at the outbreak of WWII - nothing to do with Crossbow at all which was essentially the reason I wanted to read this title. The writer's style is also disappointing, and tends to jump around all over the place; far too many characters introduced tending to halt the flow of the narrative over the early chapters and far too many dropped into the narrative to leave you wondering who the hell they were. The chapter on 'model-making' may be interesting to some but was far removed from 'Crossbow' ..as a manuscript I'd say it was particularly unfocused or disjointed, probably rushed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars operation crosbow, 26 Aug. 2013
The secondary title of the book explains its content. However the editor of the book should be taken to task. The story of the search for the V weapons is forever being interrupted by episodes of the history of photographic intelligence. This makes it somewhat difficult to follow. Moreover there are many instances of sentences being repeated on the same page in different paragraphs.
Tighter editing would have resulted in a far more readable book about an excellent topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 20 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Operation Crossbow: The Untold Story of the Search for Hitler's Secret Weapons (Kindle Edition)
so far, too many names and dates to remember and not enough story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Dec. 2014
By 
R. Eldridge (bucks uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
TELLS A STORY THAT NEEDS TO BE TOLD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars comment, 31 Oct. 2013
By 
D. Macpherson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
satisfactory, but just another book, with interesting info.
Why do you need such veerbage when a word or two will suffice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
GREAT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr. S. Lombardo (Birmingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A book that is better than the film very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 23 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Operation Crossbow: The Untold Story of the Search for Hitler's Secret Weapons (Kindle Edition)
As with all good books and photographs, its easy to identify what these weapons and sites were for. At the time, it must have been very interesting and thought provoking trying to work out exactly what was going on.

A good read on a subject that most people only know a little about
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars operation crossbow, 9 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very well written and revealing book. However I would take issue that the V3 installations were not mentioned at all..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellently written history of aerial reconnaissance, 25 Aug. 2013
By 
London (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very interesting and well written book. A detailed and gripping history of the secret work of the aerial reconnaisance work in the Second World War, and how that changed the war. Aerial reconnaissance had a similar value to the secrets obtained through Ultra, but untio recently its role has not been recognised. This book explains how it started, how it affected the war, and speculates on how London would have been wiped from the face of the UK without the work done by the top secret unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews