Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very satisfying crime thriller
Very enjoyable read with interesting characters and plot. Serial murders, a complex FBI agent and lots of question to keep you hooked till the end.
Unusual to have an elderly female protagonist but Brigid Quinn is the kind of protagonist who seems real and believable and she carries the story. Interposed between the action, her relationship with her college...
Published 16 months ago by BWH

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not very believable, but gripping nonetheless
Brigid Quinn is a recently retired FBI agent. One of the major cases that she worked on was a serial killer whose victims included a colleague of Quinn's who was intended to serve as bait to catch him. This case has haunted her, so when it appears that the killer has finally been apprehended she seizes the opportunity to dive back into the action. However she and the...
Published 16 months ago by Julia Flyte


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very satisfying crime thriller, 30 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very enjoyable read with interesting characters and plot. Serial murders, a complex FBI agent and lots of question to keep you hooked till the end.
Unusual to have an elderly female protagonist but Brigid Quinn is the kind of protagonist who seems real and believable and she carries the story. Interposed between the action, her relationship with her college professor husband adds an extra layer to the plot.
A satisfying crime thriller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not very believable, but gripping nonetheless, 15 Jan. 2014
By 
Julia Flyte - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rage Against the Dying (Paperback)
Brigid Quinn is a recently retired FBI agent. One of the major cases that she worked on was a serial killer whose victims included a colleague of Quinn's who was intended to serve as bait to catch him. This case has haunted her, so when it appears that the killer has finally been apprehended she seizes the opportunity to dive back into the action. However she and the investigating agent start to question whether they have the right man. It also appears that Quinn herself may be the target of someone unknown.

This is a fast paced story which has lots of twists and turns and a very intriguing, albeit pretty nutty, main character. I read it in two sittings and was wondering what would happen in between. Lots of atmosphere, good use of its Arizonan setting and a pleasing whodunnit.

I've given it three stars because I'm torn between the parts I liked and the parts I didn't. Firstly, there are some continuity errors and while these aren't critical, they did pull me out of the action from time to time. Secondly and more importantly, the main character's actions just stop being believable at some stage in the second half of the book. Obsessive agent or not, I can't accept that she would take the risks that she does or draw the conclusions that she does. Nor do I believe that it would be so hard to find someone to listen to her. Nevertheless, a fast paced and an original story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected in many ways, 18 April 2014
This review is from: Rage Against the Dying (Paperback)
I read a number of crime thrillers but generally prefer those written by and set in Britain (eg Ann Cleaves, Kate Atkinson, Elly Griffiths). I tried Lee Child and thought it was dreadful. This was a book club choice and I was pleasantly surprised. I liked the protagonist. It was interesting to have an old woman who was so confident in many ways but felt she had to try so hard with her marriage. There were unexpected twists and turns but a satisfying outcome. I liked the comedy of the Pugs. There was violence but it felt legitimate rather than included for the sake of it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You won't be disappointed, 22 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Rage Against the Dying (Hardcover)
I won this book through Good Reads First Reads

Brigid is retired FBI, haunted by the case that led to the rookie under her wing being kidnapped and murdered. The FBI finally have a confession and are happy to shut a case that to Brigid appears all wrong - in Dirty Harry style, Brigid decides to investigate for herself.

Starts with a whimper, ends with a bang, a really decent read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grey power, 16 Dec. 2014
By 
Brigid Quinn has recently retired from the FBI and is living a quiet life in Tuscon with her new husband Carlo. Carlo doesn't know the details of Brigid's federal past and she is reluctant to share these with him. Brigid was a top agent working on high profile cases but she is haunted by the Route 66 killer, the one she did not catch and the one who killed her protege. After killing a suspect in another case Brigid was sidelined and shunted into retirement.

One day she gets a call from the FBI, they have a man who has confessed to being the Route 66 killer and he leads the FBI to the body of the agent Brigid was so close to. However something about his confession does not ring true and when Brigid is targeted by another killer, and when another agent goes missing, Brigid is in a race to find the real killer before others die.

This is a novel premise in that the heroine is a retired female with grey hair and health problems, yet is still mentally functional. This type of central character is not written about unless in the 'Miss Marple' vein and it is refreshing. The plot is convoluted but clever and moves along at a decent pace - not so fast that detail is lost, but not so slow that it drags. Brigid is a prickly character and other characters are not drawn as well. Overall this is a really entertaining book for a short term fix of thrills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pretty good read., 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book I thought was well written, with a witty dialogue and fast-paced. Decent plot to keep me reading. The main character was likeable, if not a little stubborn which I found frustrating, but the writing style saved it. I would definitely give the author another go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but not great, 24 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some things jarred in this book. There were some enjoyable bits but other bits just didn't hang together as they should and I never really got the feeling of great suspense. Readable though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Very readable, a promising writer, but unfortunately incredibly cliche ridden, 29 Nov. 2014
By 
R. A. Davison (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I chose this based on watching a woman engrossed in it on a step in Trafalgar Square.

Something of an Alas! occurred upon the discovery that it was a crime thriller, which is really not my genre, because of general predictability problems. I bought it anyway. In some respects I was grateful for it, as I was coming off quite an intense novel and so it acted as something of a palette cleanser.

We meet a man assessing an elderly woman as a potential victim, before he is about to rape then kill her.

The opening of this novel almost promises to be a very different book, like the prologue was a flash of inspiration from which the writer wasn't sure where to turn. From here she steers the novel somewhat unfortunately into incredibly familiar territory not just for novels but for cop shows and films in general.

The former FBI agent, the serial killer she never caught, the guilt over the lost protege, the new young upstart challenging the superiors who care about career and image over case, going rogue against everyone else to solve it alone because you alone believe you are right etc etc

There is nothing new to see here, nothing at all, and yet for that it was both engaging, and highly readable, at no point did I feel like tossing it aside incomplete. There were a few sentences that I highlighted because I thought they were pretty great expressions of certain things. An easy and undemanding read which reminded me greatly of the early Kay Scarpetta novels by Patricia Cornwell before they slid down the mediocrity slope and became utterly unappealing.

It read as if it had been built for a film adaptation too, and I wouldn't be surprised to see it appear on a big screen near you. A sequel lands in the new year, having read the synopsis my reaction was an instant 'no thanks' and yet I'm not sorry I read this one at all. As a writer you can see in those little sentences I enjoyed that she has a lot of potential, which will be wasted if she goes further down these very well trodden roads
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rage is a good thing, 16 Dec. 2014
By 
Mrs. A. Hunt (Bolton, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This serial killer with a heroine who is one character I want to see more of.
Brigid Quinn is a retired FBI agent who lost a colleague of hers to a serial killer.
When someone, the serial killer is apprehended, She comes out of retirement but starts to doubt if the really have caught the killer.
I loved this book. Becky Masterman has got a star character in Brigid Quinn and I want to see more of her.
This book was sent by the publisher via netgalley for an honest review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book that lives upto the blurb, 1 Jan. 2014
By 
P. S. Davis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rage Against the Dying (Hardcover)
I read this book in a day - I could not put it down.

It is the unusual heroine that hooked me - a retired middle aged FBI agent . Brigid does not fit the stereotype of a female detective she is flawed but has strength and determination. A far cry from Miss Marples.

Masterman writes with intense and compelling style - the Prologue works well and sets the scene for the complex plot.

We need more heroines like Brigid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews