Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very satisfying crime thriller
Very enjoyable read with interesting characters and plot. Serial murders, a complex FBI agent and lots of question to keep you hooked till the end.
Unusual to have an elderly female protagonist but Brigid Quinn is the kind of protagonist who seems real and believable and she carries the story. Interposed between the action, her relationship with her college...
Published 6 months ago by BWH

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but not great
Some things jarred in this book. There were some enjoyable bits but other bits just didn't hang together as they should and I never really got the feeling of great suspense. Readable though
Published 4 months ago by Kate


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very satisfying crime thriller, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very enjoyable read with interesting characters and plot. Serial murders, a complex FBI agent and lots of question to keep you hooked till the end.
Unusual to have an elderly female protagonist but Brigid Quinn is the kind of protagonist who seems real and believable and she carries the story. Interposed between the action, her relationship with her college professor husband adds an extra layer to the plot.
A satisfying crime thriller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected in many ways, 18 April 2014
This review is from: Rage Against the Dying (Paperback)
I read a number of crime thrillers but generally prefer those written by and set in Britain (eg Ann Cleaves, Kate Atkinson, Elly Griffiths). I tried Lee Child and thought it was dreadful. This was a book club choice and I was pleasantly surprised. I liked the protagonist. It was interesting to have an old woman who was so confident in many ways but felt she had to try so hard with her marriage. There were unexpected twists and turns but a satisfying outcome. I liked the comedy of the Pugs. There was violence but it felt legitimate rather than included for the sake of it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You won't be disappointed, 22 Dec 2013
This review is from: Rage Against the Dying (Hardcover)
I won this book through Good Reads First Reads

Brigid is retired FBI, haunted by the case that led to the rookie under her wing being kidnapped and murdered. The FBI finally have a confession and are happy to shut a case that to Brigid appears all wrong - in Dirty Harry style, Brigid decides to investigate for herself.

Starts with a whimper, ends with a bang, a really decent read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pretty good read., 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book I thought was well written, with a witty dialogue and fast-paced. Decent plot to keep me reading. The main character was likeable, if not a little stubborn which I found frustrating, but the writing style saved it. I would definitely give the author another go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but not great, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some things jarred in this book. There were some enjoyable bits but other bits just didn't hang together as they should and I never really got the feeling of great suspense. Readable though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not very believable, but gripping nonetheless, 15 Jan 2014
By 
Julia Flyte - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rage Against the Dying (Paperback)
Brigid Quinn is a recently retired FBI agent. One of the major cases that she worked on was a serial killer whose victims included a colleague of Quinn's who was intended to serve as bait to catch him. This case has haunted her, so when it appears that the killer has finally been apprehended she seizes the opportunity to dive back into the action. However she and the investigating agent start to question whether they have the right man. It also appears that Quinn herself may be the target of someone unknown.

This is a fast paced story which has lots of twists and turns and a very intriguing, albeit pretty nutty, main character. I read it in two sittings and was wondering what would happen in between. Lots of atmosphere, good use of its Arizonan setting and a pleasing whodunnit.

I've given it three stars because I'm torn between the parts I liked and the parts I didn't. Firstly, there are some continuity errors and while these aren't critical, they did pull me out of the action from time to time. Secondly and more importantly, the main character's actions just stop being believable at some stage in the second half of the book. Obsessive agent or not, I can't accept that she would take the risks that she does or draw the conclusions that she does. Nor do I believe that it would be so hard to find someone to listen to her. Nevertheless, a fast paced and an original story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific thriller, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hooked from the opening pulse-racing chapter. Gripping debut with believable well-drawn characters. Looking forward to the next Bridgid Quinn case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rage Against the Dying (Paperback)
If you like American style crime fiction this is for you. The book gained a lot of media hype and for me didn't live up to its publicity .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was initially worried about the graphic violence but was so caught up in the story I was able to get over it. I thought I had guessed the killer several times but was wrong on every count. Nice to have an older heroine who was sharp and witty. A thoroughly gripping book and would recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book that lives upto the blurb, 1 Jan 2014
By 
P. S. Davis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rage Against the Dying (Hardcover)
I read this book in a day - I could not put it down.

It is the unusual heroine that hooked me - a retired middle aged FBI agent . Brigid does not fit the stereotype of a female detective she is flawed but has strength and determination. A far cry from Miss Marples.

Masterman writes with intense and compelling style - the Prologue works well and sets the scene for the complex plot.

We need more heroines like Brigid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews