Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good up to date guide book
We used this guide book during our stay this June. I am a long time user of LP guides but the new lay-out took me some time to get used to but then it worked fine.
Published 15 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Once again, a lazy, outdated "new" edition
There is simply no excuse for Lonely Planet reissuing a guide to Bali and Lombok and conning you into thinking this is anything other than a tarted up rehash of old material. Whole sections have been reprinted in full from earlier editions, whilst the restaurant guide is woefully inaccurate (try going for a drink at Coffee and Silver in Ubud now, as the owner very sadly...
Published 15 months ago by Cheshire Gent


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good up to date guide book, 19 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We used this guide book during our stay this June. I am a long time user of LP guides but the new lay-out took me some time to get used to but then it worked fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Once again, a lazy, outdated "new" edition, 25 May 2013
By 
There is simply no excuse for Lonely Planet reissuing a guide to Bali and Lombok and conning you into thinking this is anything other than a tarted up rehash of old material. Whole sections have been reprinted in full from earlier editions, whilst the restaurant guide is woefully inaccurate (try going for a drink at Coffee and Silver in Ubud now, as the owner very sadly died over a year ago, it then stood empty for 12 months, and is now a building site). The jokes in the guide, whilst always thin, are nothing more than irritating when you read them the 3rd successive "update". Ubud market, pulled down last year, is in a limbo with Lonely Planet, despite having been fully rebuilt and reopened prior to the guide's release (and it would have been nice to know that the Ubud planning authorities ruined it by sanitising it).

If you have an old edition, don't bother getting the latest incarnation, and frankly, as the information is so inaccurate, I'd recommend the DK Guide over Lonely P.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really good guides, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This particulare edition may not be the best as we found multiple errors in it and some pretty bad maps (including one that had us horribly lost in the middle of nowhere. We're avid hikers and could not seem follow their directions. Casual walkers will have NO chance.)

All in all, they're a great time-saver. Their restaurant and hotel reviews are quite useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good all round book, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Delivery of my book Bali & Lombok was excellent it arrived within 4 days of me ordering it. The book itself was of the usual high standard from Lonely Planet. It had plenty of ideas on what to do, where to go and more importantly how to get there. It can be used by the full range of people from families to backpackers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Too detailed. Too confusing., 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was going to Bali for a week and hoped to find a detailed weekly tour recommendation in this book. I didnt find it in this book. It's really messy and there are no middle range hotel recommendations. They are either extremelly expensive or extremelly cheap. This book definitely didnt meet my expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good way to know a little bit of Bali and Lombock before travelling, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As usually the guide is divided by region - what to see, where to stay, what to do, where to eat in teh different areas in Bali.
It is also a good way to know a little bit of Bali to prepare a visit - it gives us info on where to stay: if you prefer beach to surf or to relax, or if you want to stay in a more quite place (or not).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A lot of words, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book has too much text and no pictures. It's not worthy to buy to be honest even for text, because it's more advertising about places (restaurants, hotels and etc).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 17 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The lonely plant book for Bali is excellent - I have used these before for other places (always worth it)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bali guidebook, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good allround guide covers most queries, would recomend for singles, couples or familys, not too heavy to carry around whilst sightseeing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed reading this book in preparation of our trip next month. Also a very handy size to bring with us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews