Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars18
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
16
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 February 2014
If you have ever read any books by Pema, you will know how very practical she is. Her years of being a Nun have given her such a wealth of experience and this combined with her great sensitivity and compassion makes every book so immensely enjoyable and most importantly extremely helpful.
In this book, she begins at the beginning....with the simple tools you need. Yourself. No fancy tools, incense or candles. She manages to speak directly to you. This simple approach is so appealing that it is suitable for a complete beginner or an experienced practitioner.
I heartily recommend this book.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
An immense my thought provoking book which is nevertheless accessible to even the most novice of seekers for spiritual guidance.It is just so full of insight into the human condition.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2013
Pema Chödrön is a buddhist american meditation teacher. In this book she does not limit her teaching to the usual awareness of the incoming and outgoing breath, but goes further to the deepgoing transformation of negative painful feelings. She does this by encouraging the meditator to stay in the raw feeling without thinking or drifting away and returning to this awareness again and again until it transforms (hopefully) to the spiritually open, clear, love filled awareness that leads the way towards enlightenment.
She is primarily inspired by the late highly unorthodox and controversial tibetan buddist teacher Chögyam Trungpa.
Klaus Gormsen, Denmark
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2015
When reading a book I have this habit of folding over the top corner of a page and make an indent with my thumb nail on pages and paragraphs that I think are important and worth remembering. As a result my copy of 'How to meditate' grew about twice as thick. I have done some meditation courses and guided meditation and read about the subject, but for the first time here is this gentle unassuming lady who took me by the hand and explained everything, including the 'why's' of things I learned before.
Pema Chödrön does this without any of the woolly lecturing one finds in other books on the subject. She includes some of her own experiences without becoming dramatic, and includes some gentle irony occasionally. Wonderful!
I can't imagine a better book to teach you clearly how to meditate in a most pleasant, inspiring way.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2014
A very lucid, clearly written guide that resonated totally. The first few chapters are a straight forward guide to sitting correctly. The later ones cover what happens in meditation. Before I was meditating regularly these later chapters book would probably have seemed a bit flat as I did not have the experiences to compare. With the experience of meditating daily, the words here have full meaning. If you are thinking of starting meditation but unsure how..read this book and start a daily practise immediately! If you have some experience read this for affirmation that you are on the right path.

This sceptic has found that the claims that daily mindfulness meditation will change you (described elsewhere as a 'software upgrade') are true. So read this but more importantly...practice daily.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2014
Having read a fair few books on meditation this one jumps out as useful, comforting and encouraging. It demystifies what can be a confusing and frustrating practice, and is responsible for me finally having a daily practice which I look forward to and have no anxiety about. I'd recommend to anyone - fantastic book!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2014
Pema Chodron is one of the very best at sharing the method on how to meditate. I have had my own copy of this and many of her books, this copy I bought to pass on to my son. There is always an ease in her writings which makes the instruction not only a joy to read but easy to understand and implement.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2014
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I bought it because I wanted to start meditating & it was the best introduction to my practice. Would recommend for anyone thinking of meditating, or interested in the mind. I will be reading again.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2014
Excellent practical guide in explaining fundamentals of beginning meditation practice.This book is a must for those wishing to use meditation as means to dealing with everyday stresses and anxieties.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2015
Excellent practical guide to the two types of meditation that form the core of Buddhist spritual practice, also to practice on ones own or while involved in the daily complexities of modern life. Pema Chodron has a skill in language that feels like she is talking to you the reader and guiding one through the many aproaches to meditation and the many pitfalls that may occur.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)