Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shakespeare and Whedon? Pure gold
I saw this movie in the cinema, and it was more than worth the price of admission. The combination of Shakespeare, in one of his finest comedies, Joss Whedon at his best and his cast of superb actors made it sublime. The ability of Whedon to take you from hilarity (laugh out loud from everyone) to solemn drama in a moment is beautiful, aided by The Bard's words...
Published 23 months ago by Timothy Yarham

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars THE SHARK IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROOM
This is the kind of film that I wish I could rate as minus one star, that is, the "utter trash" category.

The director puts the film in a blender and shake it for no good reason. If you don't like films with shaky camera, then don't order this dvd.

I guess the film will please mainly young people who are always looking for novelty just for...
Published 15 months ago by lucas


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Much Ado About Nothing film, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Much Ado About Nothing [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Ordered as my daughter is studying this for her GSE English Lit exam had previously seen it in the local cinema, had really enjoyed the film with it modern portrayal of this Shakespeare play wish I had studied this rather than Macbeth when I was at school. A very amusing film well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars easy Shakespeare- entertaining and funny, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great acting by all characters. nothing lost in the adaptation. recommend. Romantic comedy true to the original. glamourous modern setting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Much ado, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think making the movie in B&W was a bit pretentious. That said, it worked on two levels for me. We liked that the cast was relaxed and familiar with each other and that made the "script" work in the modern setting. We also had a lot of fun "spotting" which TV series they had previously starred in, if we recognised them.

Being familiar with the earlier costume version with Kenneth Brannagh and Emma Thompson it was interesting to compare and contrast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Much ado about nothing is great, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Much Ado About Nothing [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Brilliant re-imagining of Shakespeare's play, wonderfully understated and very good use of actors and location. Superior to the same year's Romeo and Juliet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You go Joss!, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Much Ado About Nothing [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Joss is amazing!! Loved this version of Shakespeare famous play much ado about nothing. Although I prefer more tragic plays from Shakespeare, I do enjoy this fable. I loved the actors which are all from previous JW shows... Buffy, Angel, Dr.Horrible... Perfect! Loved the black and white as well and you find Joss Whedon's humour all over again!
It was also filmed in the Master's house!! Fun trivia :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good DVD, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Much Ado About Nothing [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I bought this as a birthday gift for my granddaughter. She said it was a good production and just what she wanted. It arrived on time and was well packaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous., 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Much Ado About Nothing [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I have always rejected modern day interpretations of Shakespeare but this film could change my mind. I thoroughly enjoyed it. The direction was nothing short of magnificent and the acting first class. I would highly recommend this movie to any fans of the bard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars High Quality, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Much Ado About Nothing [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
At first the black and white is hard to get used to, as is the unusual camera use. But then it seems natural and the way this film should be produced. Its a brilliant production which totally eclipses the bigger budget version. Fantastic and clever acting, its hard to imagine how some people did not enjoy the experience.
If you only watch one thing from Shakespeare make sure its this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing film and people who aren't massive Shakespeare fans will still enjoy, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whedon does an amazing job (like he almost always does), in making Shakespeare come alive with this modern retelling. The adaption is done very well and can easily be understood by people who are not fans of Shakespeare or haven't read much of his works.

Much Ado also looks incredible on BluRay even though it's in black and white. Glad I spent the extra couple of £'s buying it on BluRay.

Do yourself a favor and buy it, I highly doubt you will not enjoy it. There are also some really amazing performances and also some amazing performances and range that you wouldn't expect (case in point, Nathan Fillion who does an amazing job).

10/10, 5/5, Whedonites, ASSEMBLE!

Wait.. wrong film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A FANTASTIC CONTEMPORARY VERSION, 13 Mar. 2014
By 
A. J. Golding - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Much Ado About Nothing [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
This is a fantastic updating of Shakespeare while staying true to the language, full of great performances by actors I didn't really recognise. I showed it to my 14-year old students, reluctant and cynical debutantes to Shakespeare, and they loved it. Every generation someone reinvents the Bard with absolute clarity and verve, and this it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Much Ado About Nothing [DVD] [2012]
Much Ado About Nothing [DVD] [2012] by Joss Whedon (DVD - 2013)
£6.04
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews