Customer Reviews


300 Reviews
5 star:
 (180)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Basic but brilliant
This is a cable that belies its very reasonable price. It is a good thickness and well shielded and has gold plated connections to resist corrosion. It is also of a decent length. It's connectors are nicely designed ergonomic wise.

Best of all it works faultlessly and promises a good working life due to its robust construction.

For £3.99 and free...
Published on 26 Oct. 2011 by Bordersboy

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Long cable...
This does exactly what I wanted, it's nice and long so I can connect my Samsung s3 up at night. However, it must have a higher resistance than my Samsung charger, as my phone takes a lot longer to charge. It's ok as I'm charging over night..
Published 20 months ago by Deepak K. Sharma


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Long cable..., 4 Sept. 2013
By 
Deepak K. Sharma "deeps" (Warwick,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This does exactly what I wanted, it's nice and long so I can connect my Samsung s3 up at night. However, it must have a higher resistance than my Samsung charger, as my phone takes a lot longer to charge. It's ok as I'm charging over night..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Basic but brilliant, 26 Oct. 2011
This is a cable that belies its very reasonable price. It is a good thickness and well shielded and has gold plated connections to resist corrosion. It is also of a decent length. It's connectors are nicely designed ergonomic wise.

Best of all it works faultlessly and promises a good working life due to its robust construction.

For £3.99 and free delivery a brilliant buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what I need., 12 Jan. 2013
By 
Kay (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I wanted a long cable as the one with my Samsung Galaxy S3 was far too short (and my proper - as in not a USB put in a plug - S2 charger barely charged it) I like to be able to mess around on my phone while it's charging but more importantly I use both Netflix & SkyGo and given they're both such battery drainers it was a pain having to stop the film/programme I was watching which I charged the battery up some.

I had intended just to buy a cheap USB cable but there were reviews stating that while they were fine for transferring data they wasn't powerful enough to charge a smart phone. Despite never owning any of Amazon's electronics and the quite high price for what is just a USB I decided to give it a go. In Amazon's defence though I am so used to paying, well nothing, for microUSB's as we have hundreds floating around the house that it could just be me.

The cable itself is very thick which I like as it doesn't get knotted and tangled in my bag the same way thinner ones do and it is plenty long. It charges my phone up in around the same time the cable that came with Samsung did which was a plus as I would've accepted and been happy with (slightly) longer charging time for the length of it.

I'm thinking of buying another one; one for charging at home and the other for the charger I carry around in my bag (as typically if I take it out to use at home, I then forget it and I am left charger-less while out and about!)

Some people have commented they don't last but frankly, if I get 3-6 months out of it then I will be quite happy. I am the mobile-phone-attached-to-your-hands-or-ear generation and I charge my S3 twice a day so it gets plenty of use. Possibly I have low expectations but I'm also of the generation where things are no longer built to last!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too resistive, needs redesigning., 8 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this to power my Nexus Wireless charger because the supplied cable was 10cm too short to reach where I wanted to place the charger.

The cable itself is very thick (about 7mm or so) and the connectors likewise. So much so in fact that I had to cut down the stupid chunky ends before they would even fit in the transformer and charging pad. This, annoyingly made the product nonreturnable even before I discovered its further shortcomings.

It will charge my Nexus 5 though I haven't used it for a full charge so I can't say whether it is slower than the standard cable. However, it won't power my wireless charger. Plugging it in just illuminates the fault warning led on the charger and internal circuitry keeps it switched off. The problem is that the cable offers far too much resistance and this renders it useless. I expected much better from Amazon and I'm disappointed by this product. It needs a ground up redesign in order to be fit for purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best cable, 14 Nov. 2013
By 
S. Music (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are some minor issues with amperage loss, but in my case (ordered 2 cables) these are only minor, and aren't really noticeable with my 2AMP phone charger, only with weaker, 0.5AMP PC USB sockets. But even there it will charge up the phone to the top.

What I wanted to stress, is that due to it's length and softness, this will not brake your phone's micro USB socket, and it will not end up spinning your phone around when you plug it in, like most shorter and harder cables do. You can comfortably have it plugged in while using your phone in bed etc.

Really good and not at all "basic" cable at a decent price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dangerous! Please read, 21 Oct. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This cable was left in a charger without anything connected to it, and the micro-USB end MELTED.
I purchased two, the other is fine but will be on its way back to Amazon... I'm still in disbelief, the cable was laying under our babies cot in our bedroom. I'm outraged, the quality control doesnt appear to be adequate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sturdy long micro USB cable, 20 Oct. 2011
A cable is a cable, right? Wrong. This is a great cable. It's long, slightly over 1m80 and has the nice gold plated connectors. The micro USB connector is strong and 'clicks' nicely on your micro USB devices.
I can see this cable living a long life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great cable, 27 Feb. 2015
By 
Mark Reid (Ayrshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the things you may find with modern USB-charged devices is that you need decent cables to get the full charge flowing through the device. For example, my Samsung Tab 2 and Tab 4 won't actually take a charge if it's through a generic cable that came with something like a rechargeable mouse, even though the connection is the same. The cables that come with them also tend to be too short for any practical use so having them plugged in to the wall and sitting on a sofa is generally not possible unless you have a socket directly beside the sofa.

I bought the USB cable along with the USB extension cable and was pleasantly surprised to see that both combined immediately allowed for the full charge to reach the Samsung tablets, so the Tab 2 could actually BE charged (it couldn't get a charge at all before unless I used a dedicated Samsung cable and wall adapter) and the Tab 4 charged in 50% of the time it took with the generic cables. Because it's also a decent enough cable to allow the trickle-charge, I'm also able to get an additional couple of hours from each charging cycle.

So far, I've used both cables combined to charge:
Samsung Tab 2
Samsung Tab 3
Samsung S5
KitSound Manhattan headphones
PlayStation 4 controller
BlackBerry Classic

All of which have charged perfectly, and have provided better battery performance than they did with generic non-branded cables.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect but just one flaw..., 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Why did I buy this item? I needed an extra data cable for my Samsung Galaxy S3. I used to use the charger's USB cable everytime I neeeded(was a hasle for me to unplug it from the wall outlet) but one day I just got fed up on always having to "dismantle" the damn thing so I looked online and as always, Amazon is always my first choice online.
Saw this, nice lengthy cable, "gold" plated, well spooken of, so i thought "what the hell".
So I receive it on time. Packaging is standard for amazon products, not to expect much for a cable but well preserved.
I immediately try it on the S3 and got a suprise. My S3 has a silicone cover case on it and the micro usb port is a bit protected which doesnt give that much of room to work with. This cable is a bit fat on the micro usb side, making me have to remove the cover case everytime I need to use it. Its not a bother now but who knows in the near future.
But putting aside the cover case, this is perfect! The first time you push it in you could feel/hear the click and that almost like porn for a tech geek(me).
Feels reliable and feels as if it will last a century. A great buy if you have the chance!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not for charging smart phone, 6 Aug. 2013
By 
bengoey (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unfortunately I did not read other comments about this Amazon basics USB cable. When I tried to charge my Blackberry Z10 using Blackberry charger and this USB cable, there is a warning on the Blackberry Z10 that this cable is not able to deliver the normal charge. Amazon really should not sell this product as it is not fit for the purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews