Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It works
It works and appears to be reasonably well made. The HDMI slot is stiff meaning you have to force the cable in, which doesn't feel quite right.

Using it on a Dell XPS13 to Samsung 40 inch 1080p screen.
Published 8 months ago by Joe

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does not work with Dell XPS 13
As per a couple of other recent commenters, do not buy this adaptor for use with a Dell XPS 13. The XPS 13 requires an "active" adapter that does the digitial-to-analogue conversion in hardware, but this unit is a passive adapter that requires software support. I don't know if the issue is that Windows doesn't support passive mode, the Intel display drivers don't...
Published 8 months ago by Mark Hatton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does not work with Dell XPS 13, 27 Jun. 2014
By 
Mark Hatton (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics Mini DisplayPort to VGA Adapter (Personal Computers)
As per a couple of other recent commenters, do not buy this adaptor for use with a Dell XPS 13. The XPS 13 requires an "active" adapter that does the digitial-to-analogue conversion in hardware, but this unit is a passive adapter that requires software support. I don't know if the issue is that Windows doesn't support passive mode, the Intel display drivers don't support passive mode, or if it's something specific to the XPS 13 hardware.

From other reviews, this will work great with a Mac, but don't buy this if you have a Dell XPS 13. Take a look at the StarTech equivalent - it's more expensive, but it is "active" and should work fine with the Dell XPS 13.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Active or Passive?, 16 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Mini DisplayPort to VGA Adapter (Personal Computers)
Didn't work. Looks like it's a passive adaptor and my dell xps 13 needs an active. Will return and buy the startech one which seems to do the job. Frustrating that the technical details don't tell you if it is active or passive, a possible issue hadn't even crossed my mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It works, 25 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It works and appears to be reasonably well made. The HDMI slot is stiff meaning you have to force the cable in, which doesn't feel quite right.

Using it on a Dell XPS13 to Samsung 40 inch 1080p screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 12 July 2014
By 
Mr. N. Abrahams (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Does exactly what it says it does. Bought this amazon one after previously owning and losing an official apple one, was unsure this could match it but it has exactly the same functions as the one I used to have from Apple, Recommend,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish!, 6 Nov. 2014
By 
T. K. Horne "devoncoach" (Devon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Mini DisplayPort to VGA Adapter (Personal Computers)
Rubbish! Bought for my Surface Pro tablet. Connection intermittent and keep losing the display on the monitor. Perseverence reconnects but you only have to breath on the cable to lose the connection again. Unreliable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just works, no fuzz, 27 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just works, no fuzz.

I regularly (probably around once per week) use it to connect my Macbook Air 13" to a 47" TV via 10m HDMI cable which just works. I connect and disconnect the adaptor in the computer as needed and there haven't been any problems with that.

The adaptor is a bit big (as can be seen in the stock photo), but at least for my use it hasn't been a problem.

I had mine for 4 months, and liked it enough to by a second one for my electronics travel kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Careful what you buy, 16 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Mini DisplayPort to VGA Adapter (Personal Computers)
Well It does not work, at least not on a dell XPS , left it too late to return it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just the job, 6 July 2014
By 
N. Rutherford - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Surprised to find Apple don't produce one, I went with Amazon as a known brand with good customer support. The item works flawlessly, letting me get a proper picture onto a TV screen instead of working and unsuitable resolutions over VGA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very pleased, 9 May 2014
By 
Mr. Jd Brough - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Mini DisplayPort to VGA Adapter (Personal Computers)
i bought this as i didnt want to pay £20 for an adaptor and this was a bargin, iv always trusted amazon products and have never had any problems with them, seems to be good quality for the price. i only gave it 4*'s as since buying it my mac mini has frozen twice after sleep mode but i doubt this product has anything to do with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The cable arrived on time and is in good quality. Has never experienced any bad from this ..., 25 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AmazonBasics Mini DisplayPort to VGA Adapter (Personal Computers)
The cable arrived on time and is in good quality. Has never experienced any bad from this product. Worth buying (compared to the ridiculously expensive adapter from Apple)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

AmazonBasics Mini DisplayPort to VGA Adapter
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews