Customer Reviews


125 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Lizzy sound but Black Star Riders put their own mark on it.
This is not Thin Lizzy.It is however an album hugely influenced by Lizzy.Scott Gorham was 1/4 of the classic Lizzy line up so has every right to be part of their legacy. He has a distinctive guitar sound which of course is evident throughout. I have always liked Ricky Warwick and his vocals sound the same as he has always sounded. Maybe the odd phrasing is similar to Phil...
Published 19 months ago by P M Hughes

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars No particular problems but a little underwhelmed
Aside from the title track, which is a bit pedestrian old school rock and not really reflective of the rest of the CD, it's very much in the style of Thin Lizzy, if a little diluted. Recommended for Thin Lizzy fans I guess! I play the CD, but it's not a favourite.
Published 8 months ago by Cadnoess


‹ Previous | 17 8 913 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Thin Lizzy DNA but simple great in own right, 27 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Hell Breaks Loose [Special Edition] (Audio CD)
Yes there is Thin Lizzy DNA there but it is only a hint ,you have to listen for it . but don't worry about it just enjoy a very very good bunch of songs ,the more I play it the better it sounds.If you get a chance to see them live I bet it will be kick ass of a gig . Hats of lads and please record some more ,Black star riders rock
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If you like thin lizzy, you'll love this, 27 Jun 2013
By 
Ml Banbury - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Hell Breaks Loose (Audio CD)
Bought this album after seeing them at download and thought they were really good. Some songs sound like they are straight of a thin lizzy abum, which i guess isn't all that surprising as it is essentially the thin lizzy line up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Hell Breaks Loose [Special Edition] (Audio CD)
As most will know, Black Star Riders was born from the remains of the Thin Lizzy. The change of name being out of respect to Phil Lynott, because he had been on all of their albums. However, this album has that classic Lizzy sound and in my opinion would not have been out of place as the next album. Great songs, great writing. Originally heard Bound for Glory and Kingdom of the Lost before the album was released and was hooked from then on.

Would def recommend this to any Lizzy fan and anyone who loves to hear good old fashioned rock and roll.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Hell Breaks Loose [Special Edition] (Audio CD)
Everything I thought it would be and more. Great Album by BSR New but with a hint of Thin Lizzy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FAB, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Hell Breaks Loose [Special Edition] (Audio CD)
Best album I have brought in a long time, I would still love it even if the lead singer did not sound like Phil Lynott.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Black Star Rider, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Hell Breaks Loose [Special Edition] (Audio CD)
I had not heard of the band but heard the single on the Ken Bruce show on Radio 2 and I liked it so I ordered the CD. Since listening to the album though I have thought the band are absolutely fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Typical Lizzy., 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Hell Breaks Loose (Audio CD)
Love the album, not a bad song on it.was dubious about Lizzy without Lynnot but was not disappointed at all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars As close to 21st centuy Thin Lizzy as you're going to get., 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Hell Breaks Loose [Special Edition] (Audio CD)
A strong classic rock album with more a few nods towards the great band that spawned it. Phil would be proud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Hell Breaks Loose [Special Edition] (Audio CD)
8 really good tracks on here ..4 ok but there growing on me.. overall great album if you like Lizzy or Ricky Warwick..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good album, 17 Jun 2013
This review is from: All Hell Breaks Loose (Audio CD)
Really nice album, I enjoyed all of the tracks, some more than others. Bound for Glory is an excellent track, really sounding like original Thin Lizzy but with a BSR twist to it. I also really enjoyed Hey Judas, another really good track. I have heard better albums but I can't really knock it for anything specific.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 913 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All Hell Breaks Loose [Special Edition]
All Hell Breaks Loose [Special Edition] by Black Star Riders (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews