Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (87)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Lizzy sound but Black Star Riders put their own mark on it.
This is not Thin Lizzy.It is however an album hugely influenced by Lizzy.Scott Gorham was 1/4 of the classic Lizzy line up so has every right to be part of their legacy. He has a distinctive guitar sound which of course is evident throughout. I have always liked Ricky Warwick and his vocals sound the same as he has always sounded. Maybe the odd phrasing is similar to Phil...
Published 17 months ago by P M Hughes

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars No particular problems but a little underwhelmed
Aside from the title track, which is a bit pedestrian old school rock and not really reflective of the rest of the CD, it's very much in the style of Thin Lizzy, if a little diluted. Recommended for Thin Lizzy fans I guess! I play the CD, but it's not a favourite.
Published 6 months ago by Cadnoess


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Lizzy sound but Black Star Riders put their own mark on it., 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Hell Breaks Loose [Special Edition] (Audio CD)
This is not Thin Lizzy.It is however an album hugely influenced by Lizzy.Scott Gorham was 1/4 of the classic Lizzy line up so has every right to be part of their legacy. He has a distinctive guitar sound which of course is evident throughout. I have always liked Ricky Warwick and his vocals sound the same as he has always sounded. Maybe the odd phrasing is similar to Phil Lynott as is the way some lines are delivered.There is some of the twin and harmony guitar play that Lizzy made their own evident throughout. Damon Johnson supplys plenty of blistering guitar play.Mendozo and Degrasso are both solid giving a platform for the rest of the band to perform.The music far exceeded my expectations and I cannot find a track I do not like. Bound For Glory has perhaps become over familiar as the safe track to introduce the band (in advance of the album) with its obvious comparison to the classic Lizzy sound.All Hell Breaks Loose the opener while a little restrained has a great guitar solo. Kingdom Of The Lost has an obvious Celtic sound. Bloodshot has an Irish feeling with its guitar hook.Kissin The Ground and Hey Judas have Warwick's delivery of his vocals close to Phil Lynott but sounding 100% Warwick.The guitar solos in both songs a strong nod to Lizzy.Hoodoo Voodoo has a very catchy hook which is infectious and I defy anyone not to tap their feet or nod their head.Another great guitar harmony and solo. Valley Of The Stones picks up the tempo a little with guitars full on. Someday Salvation brings the music back down a little but is another catchy little number.Before The War full of emotion with a killer guitar solo that sadly ends too soon. For me the standout track is Blues Ain't So Bad.Haunting riff a real blues song as the title suggests.The guitar work makes the hairs on the back of your neck stand up and Warwick's vocals have never been better.Bonus track Right To Be Wrong a straight ahead rock song. In short a great album which I can highly recommend and guarantee it will not leave my playlist for some considerable time.Black Star Riders have arrived can't wait for the tour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Johnny The Fox Is Back In Town, 31 May 2013
This review is from: All Hell Breaks Loose [Special Edition] (Audio CD)
The classic Thin Lizzy sound lives on in the Black Star Riders.

People might get hung up on who is/is not in the band, but, when it comes down to it, all that really matters is how the album sounds....and this one rocks.

Hearing echoes of the Johnny The Fox/Bad Reputation albums (with a splash of Emerald)- loving it! Scott Gorham has put together a great band, most of whom have toured as Thin Lizzy (great gig, lads).

If you like Thin Lizzy, then you should give this album a listen.

Raising a glass to Phil. Slainte!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Announcing the arrival of Black Star Riders!, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Hell Breaks Loose [Special Edition] (Audio CD)
When work began on this album it was going to appear under the Thin Lizzy name. Trying to please all the Lizzy fans and do justice to the memory of Philip Lynott must have been an unusual and specific pressure directing the writing of the new songs. With a change of name, and in the line up, 'All Hell Breaks Loose' can be viewed as a transitional album that allows the new band to discover who they are and establish the identity of Black Star Riders in its own right. What will be really interesting will be to see the direction they choose to take things in on future albums. Thin Lizzy have always been known as a live band and that will no doubt continue with Black Star Riders who are already committed to a heavy touring schedule for the rest of 2013. Many of the tracks here come with built in opportunities for the audience to sing right back at them.

Opening with the legendary dual guitars, the title track is something of a surprise as it is not as aggressive as its name might suggest. The anthemic single 'Bound for Glory' that fans are already familiar with is up next. This gives us the first of Damon Johnson's killer guitar solos. Ricky Warwick has a voice that is both powerful and melodic, shown off to its very best advantage here, singing his own lyrics. 'Kingdom of the Lost' has wonderful Celtic feel with Ricky looking back to his Northern Irish roots.

With 'Bloodshot' and 'Blues Ain't So Bad' Scott Gorham silences those who have in the past questioned his contribution to the writing for Thin Lizzy. After the pulsating high energy of 'Kissin' the Ground' things get slowed down just a little with the brooding lyrics of 'Hey Judas.' The driving 'Before the War' continues the war theme established early on. Drummer Jimmy DeGrasso has wasted no time getting to work on the rhythm section with Marco Mendoza. This new partnership comes into its own on 'Bloodshot' and 'Blues Ain't So Bad.'

Picking favourites is difficult, but from first hearing 'Valley of the Stones' has been right up there. Every track has its own merits, but after just a few hearings I would add to that 'Bloodshot' and 'Blues Ain't So Bad.' On first hearing 'Hoodoo Voodoo' and 'Someday Salvation' didn't work quite as successfully for me, but several listens in, the little devils are worming their way into my brain.

The Special Edition comes with the bonus track 'Right to be Wrong' - well worth paying a bit extra to get this one. The `Making Of' DVD is also well worth having. It gives some really interesting insights into the songs, and how everything came together. It also works well to introduce Jimmy to the fans.

With this album Black Star Riders announce their arrival - a force to be reckoned with, with the Thin Lizzy spirit running through it. Warwick/Johnson will be a partnership to be looking for in the writing credits for years to come. I defy anyone not to be dancing round the room while listening to All Hell Breaks Loose (Air guitarists - I leave that to your discretion.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Damn good attempt!, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Hell Breaks Loose (Audio CD)
Having blasted the classic 'Bound for Glory' over the last few weeks on Planet Rock, I was looking forward to an entire LP of classic 70's Lizzy. Saving the CD for my commute home - long enough to listen to the whole album a couple of times without the Mrs having a moan...I set off with the volume cranked suitably.
Two cracking tracks to start with (the second is 'BFG'), I then felt a tinge of disappointment as the remaing tracks appeared to fall some way short of the 'Jailbreak II' I was hoping for. However, as the CD started to spin for the second time, the whole album started to grow on me and I began hearing hooks and melodies that had been missed on the first spin.
I can't remember the last time a Lizzy LP took a couple of listens to confirm it was classic status, but we'll forgive Scott and Co for this one - a fine effort without the main man at the helm - good job - the boys are certainly in the suburbs at least...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Break Loose, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Hell Breaks Loose [Special Edition] (Audio CD)
being a big Lizzy fan I ordered this immediately and it has the hints of Thin Lizzy in there. Great guitar playing and some great songs - should be great in concert where new songs tend to come to life. I have subtracted one star because I think they could have filled up the extra space with a few other songs or demo versions. Recommended to Lizzy fans and any fan of rock music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great debut, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Hell Breaks Loose [Special Edition] (Audio CD)
Took a couple of listens good mix of styles , bit of lizzy bit irish style and some good old rock , buy and enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great to Hear the Twin Guitars!!, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Hell Breaks Loose [Special Edition] (Audio CD)
Thin Lizzy rides. Saw them as Thin Lizzy, shame they could not keep the name but does not matter when the music is this good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic rock... simple, old school, but well executed, 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
With Scott Gorham on guitar this was always going to have a Thin Lizzyesque sound and Ricky Warwick channels as much of the old irish charm as he can into an album that is very accessible.

I listened to it about half a dozen times on the bounce while travelling over the last day or two and while it peters out a bit towards the end there are no clunkers on the album,
All Hell Breaks loose and Bound for Glory are both classic rock songs that jump start the album -but Bloodshot and Hoodoo Voodoo have both grown on me with repeated listens.
Lyrically the songs are pretty simple fare and this is where Lynott is definitely missed but Ricky Warwick does a good job bringing the words to life with his slightly weatherbeaten voice and there's a strong melodic core to the songs that should appeal to fans of Thin Lizzy none the less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The reincarnation or the evolution of Thin Lizzy, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Hell Breaks Loose [Special Edition] (Audio CD)
The current members of Thin Lizzy continuing the legacy of the band after the legend Phil Lynott through many line-ups and tour, decided to do an album but with different name. Hence, Black Star Riders with this stunning classic rock album All Hell Breaks Loose.

Thin Lizzy is no Thin Lizzy without Phil Lynott. Here, Scott Gorham on guitar is the only remaining and long term band member who has worked with Phil. Ricky Warwick on vocal, Damon Johnson on guitar and Marco Mendoza on bass (not to be confused with Marc 'The Animal' Mendoza of Twisted Sister), they all joined long after Phil. Brian Downey, the only original member along with Phil until the last stand, didn't stay with Black Star Riders and Jimmy DeGrasso replaced him on drums. So, that's Black Star Riders, a new band or Thin Lizzy reincarnated or evolved and Kevin Shirley, who has worked on great albums with Aerosmith, Journey, Iron Maiden, Joe Bonamassa, etc., producing the debut album.

When I discovered Thin Lizzy in the late 80's, Phil Lynott had already left us. That was 'Live Life' the double cassette, my first Lizzy album. I still listen to their music wishing Phil was still alive. Bound For Glory, typical Lizzy style track chosen by band members for airplay, is resemblance to Boys Are Back In Town and/or Waiting For An Alibi. When I close my eyes, I can hear Phil in Ricky Warwick's voice. Ricky is a marvellous singer. Even Gary Moore can be felt as in the celtic style number 'Kingdom Of The Lost' which reminds me of Wild Frontier. From top to bottom the album just rocks, rocks and rocks. Other of my favourites are self-titled opener, Bloodshot, Kissin' The Ground, Hoodoo Voodoo and Valley Of The Stones. It's playing more growing rapidly. Hey Judas is my personal favourite. The name may sound like anti-christ but it's not. It's about Jesus still loving Judas even after what he did.

The special edition disc comes in a beautiful silver booklet consisting of pages full of lyrics, production info and stunning photographs of the band. On the left pouch goes audio CD with one bonus track making it 12 in total and on the right pouch goes DVD containing one hour long making of the album mostly interviews. On the package it says, 'Songs that could slip onto a Thin Lizzy album and stand shoulder to shoulder with almost anything there' by Classic Rock. I could not agree more.

All Hell Breaks Loose is one of the best rock albums I am listening to these recent days. Others being Now What?! by Deep Purple, The Way Life Goes by Tom Keifer (Cinderella), Unstoppable Momentum by Joe Satriani to name a few.

Thin Lizzy rocks! So does Black Star Riders!
Rock 'N' Roll \,,/,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Guitar Rock, 12 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Hell Breaks Loose [Special Edition] (Audio CD)
A must for all Thin Lizzy fans and fans of good old fashioned guitar rock, the band will probably hate being compared to Lizzy when they should be judged on their own merit but accept it as praise that at least 2 of the tracks would have graced any Lizzy album.

Also if you get the chance to see them live do so, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All Hell Breaks Loose [Special Edition]
All Hell Breaks Loose [Special Edition] by Black Star Riders (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews