Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book Available on Conspiracy Theories
Have long had Thomas's 'Truth Agenda' book (recently updated) and was interested to see what new angles he could put on the conspiracy stuff in this new book - the answer is; a lot. I'm impressed with the depth on knowledge on display here about conspiracies that many people may have heard about, but probably don't know the detail of. This tome will definitely help fill...
Published 13 months ago by C

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Clever nonsense
This is an unusually clever book from the world of conspiracy nerds. By adopting a "reasonable" attitude and proposing to reject the more hare-brained conspiratists, Thomas draws the reader slowly along as he makes the argument that LBJ was responsible for the assassination of JFK, that the Duke of Edinburgh was behind the death of Princess Diana and ultimately...
Published 7 months ago by Forlornehope


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book Available on Conspiracy Theories, 21 Aug 2013
Have long had Thomas's 'Truth Agenda' book (recently updated) and was interested to see what new angles he could put on the conspiracy stuff in this new book - the answer is; a lot. I'm impressed with the depth on knowledge on display here about conspiracies that many people may have heard about, but probably don't know the detail of. This tome will definitely help fill people in on some pretty important areas. Don't believe the official inquests on Princess Di, David Kelly and 9/11 without being aware of this information first.

Something about Thomas manages to capture the essence of an argument in a very clear, readable way, without ever over-simplifiying things. He never exaggerates for effect either, leaving the reader's intelligence respected; with the arguments laid out so plainly, people will make up their own minds without any forcing.

The opening discussion of the pros and cons of the conspiracy mindset is also valuable; defending it whilst also being realistic about why it gets attacked. Thomas's arguments as to why theorists should be taken far more seriously, whilst not having to subscribe to every single one of their beliefs, hits the spot perfectly. Anyone who doubts the existence of the 'New World Order', for instance, will realize just from the background detail shared here that it is in fact a verifiable and genuine entity of some kind at least, even if some of the very worst fears may be born from paranoia, which we can only hope they are. Admirably, Thomas never dismisses anyone's point of view and always allows proper consideration.

This is probably the best book currently available on hardcore conspiracy theories, covering virtually every major area in one way or another in a balanced and well-reasoned way, and giving it all historical context too, which I found very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Impartial, factual and interesting., 9 Feb 2014
By 
Bookie (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Conspiracies: The Facts. The Theories. The Evidence (Kindle Edition)
Clear, concice and impartial, I enjoyed this overview of some of the more popular conspiracy stories. Mr Thomas lays down the scenario, throws in a few options and concludes with summary for/agin, without judgement.

For anyone new to 'conspiracy', there's a very helpful overview at the start. Main points explained and summarised. The book then goes on to examine a significant number of popular subjects; Kennedy, 9/11, Diana, UFO's, Kelly, 7/7 and many more. Rather than an hysterical and judgemental exposition, the accounts here are limited to the most significant facts. Any reader should be challenged to consider whether their view is informed by what actually occurred or by the way in which facts were presented by numerous media. No definitive answers, ofcourse; where would the conspiracy lie then? But a lot of food for thought if a reader has any inclination to challenge or doubt 'official' facts. This book is balanced, informed and very easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Conspiracies...inferred scrutability., 24 Oct 2013
By 
Richard Smith (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
We are all entitled to an honest analysis of so called 'conspiracy' theory. Thomas gives us a principled and deeply researched view on the truth, or lack of it. Those conspiracy theorists who insist ' don't take my word for it,go and check it for yourself' miss the point. Why should we? We are effectively paying them for their point of view, by either buying their books or attending their lectures. Thomas does not patronise us in this way, rather he offers us a balanced and well researched analysis, in a convincing and honest manner. He deserves the worthiest consideration, and rises far above the mediocre offerings we are often asked to take seriously. In a swamped market of uninformed 'opinion', Thomas deserves credit for a thought through offering. Without a too 'reductionist' analysis, this is a contemporary and honest effort, worth reading, worth keeping and worth recommendation. Conspiracies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A breath of fresh air..., 30 Jun 2013
I got introduced to the possibility that the moon landings might have been faked so I browsed a few books on the subject because I wanted to explore this wacky idea and plumbed for this one. I got far more than I bargained for and I really had my eyes opened! I felt like I'd had my whole world-view changed overnight and from now on I will not take things at face value. It was a pleasure to read and Andy Thomas' style comes across as very balanced - he doesn't load the dice (I always find it a turn off when authors are dogmatic) but the evidence he has researched is very, very persuasive! This book not only covers the moon landings but also others that I have never come across before and, indeed, looking back through history it is now obvious to me that this is not just a modern phenomenon. I have already recommended it to my family and friends to try and get them to wake up too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accessible and Informative, 3 Jun 2013
By 
Conspiracies... is the latest book by Andy Thomas (author of The Truth Agenda and Vital Signs). It covers many famous mysteries and conspiracy theories.
Written well and in an easy style, it's a good book that helps to give a general overview (with good detail) of many mysteries, some well known and others less so.

Have to say I would recommend it to people who are interested in the world of mysteries and those who already have knowledge as it will be useful to both
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Clever nonsense, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Conspiracies: The Facts. The Theories. The Evidence (Kindle Edition)
This is an unusually clever book from the world of conspiracy nerds. By adopting a "reasonable" attitude and proposing to reject the more hare-brained conspiratists, Thomas draws the reader slowly along as he makes the argument that LBJ was responsible for the assassination of JFK, that the Duke of Edinburgh was behind the death of Princess Diana and ultimately that we are all at the mercy of the occult New World Order who intend to cull 90% of the human population. For anyone wanting to get a glimpse of the world of the obsessive and obsessed, this is a good introduction. It is worth pointing out that some of the scandals that he highlights probably do bear investigation. The death of the scientist David Kelly has always seemed a bit fishy but that is on a different level of reality from fake moon landings or believing that the US government staged 9/11. A genuinely enjoyable read.

BTW - you're right, I am obviously a paid agent for the Lizard rulers of the universe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 30 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Conspiracies: The Facts. The Theories. The Evidence (Kindle Edition)
A top notch conspiracy theory book,all the major ones are included,Princess Di,JFK & 9/11 etc,this is a really superb book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to the world of conspiracies, 21 July 2013
It's difficult to know where to start on a review when a book like this covers so many topics throughout history as well as bringing the reader right up-to-date; royalty, religion, politics, war, music, to name just a few.

Easy to read and well written, an excellent book for both the beginner and those who wish to delve deeper. I've been reading about conspiracies for years but Andy still managed to produce a few more I wasn't aware of and keep me engaged throughout!

Thoroughly recommend, as are the rest of his books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Thought Provoking Read, 25 Jun 2013
This book makes you think differently about our world and how things that happen in it are reported and perceived. It's well written, balanced and factual. A good read for those new to Conspiracy Theories and for those who already have an interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Andy Thomas Conspiracies Book, 24 Jun 2013
WOW! What an articulately written and obviously true account of historical events. This must have take a long time to compile. I would thoroughly recommend this book to anyone interested in uncovering what is going on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews