Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chicago's West Side...Cobra Records...
Eli Toscano founded the Cobra label in 1956. The label was important for launching the recording careers of Chicago blues artists Otis Rush, Magic Sam and Buddy Guy and signalled the arrival of a new generation of blues artists and a new sound to be called and known as the West Side Sound. First to record for Cobra was Otis Rush. His single "I Can't Quit You Baby"...
Published 16 months ago by C. FULLER

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK
If I'd have been able to listen to the tracks before purchase I probably wouldn't have bought it but it's OK.
Published 12 months ago by F. J. Greaves


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chicago's West Side...Cobra Records..., 13 April 2013
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Double Trouble-Cobra Records Story 1956-1959 (Audio CD)
Eli Toscano founded the Cobra label in 1956. The label was important for launching the recording careers of Chicago blues artists Otis Rush, Magic Sam and Buddy Guy and signalled the arrival of a new generation of blues artists and a new sound to be called and known as the West Side Sound. First to record for Cobra was Otis Rush. His single "I Can't Quit You Baby" CD1/16 became a hit, spending six weeks in the Billboard R&B chart, where it reached number 6 in 1956.Rush recorded another seven singles for Cobra often described as defining moments of Chicago blues. In 1957 Magic Sam recorded his signature song "All Your Love" CD2/14 and released four singles on Cobra. Buddy Guy released two singles in 1958 on Cobra's Artistic Records subsidiary. From 1956–1958 Cobra issued singles by a variety of acts, including Ike Turner CD1/6; CD2/9 and several blues veterans. However by 1959 financial troubles overtook the company and it went out of business. Eli Toscano died in 1967.
Excellent sound transfers and liner notes by One Day Music regular Michael Heatley. Check out this label for more 1950s label retrospective collections. Excellent value.

Listing of Cobra Records:

1956...
5000 Otis Rush "I Can't Quit You Baby" / "Sit Down Baby" CD1/16
5001 The Clouds "Rock and Roll Boogie" / "I Do"...CD1/15 &CD2/11
5002 Shakey Horton "Have a Good Time" / "Need My Baby" CD1/2 & CD2/18
5003 The Calvaes "Fine Girl" / "Mambo Fiesta" CD1/8 & CD2/17
5004 Harold Burrage & His Combo "One More Dance" / "You Eat Too Much"
5005 Otis Rush & His Band "Violent Love" / "My Love Will Never Die"
1957...
5006 Sunnyland Slim "It's You Baby" / "Highway 61" CD1/19 & CD2/19
5007 Lee Jackson "Fishin' in My Pond" / "I'll Just Keep Walkin'" CD1/13 & CD2/10
5008 Gloria Irving "I Need a Man" / "For You and Only You" CD2/20
5009 Duke Jenkins Orchestra "Something Else" / "The Duke Walks" CD1/17 & CD2/4
5010 Otis Rush "Groaning the Blues" / "If You Were Mine"
5011 Willie Foster "Crying the Blues" / "Little Girl" CD2/12 & CD1/10
5012 Harold Burrage "Messed Up" / "I Don't Care Who Knows" CD1/4
5013 Magic Sam "All Your Love" / "Love Me with a Feeling" CD2/14
5014 The Calvaes "Born with Rhythm" / "Lonely Lonely Village" CD2/8
5015 Otis Rush "Love That Woman" / "Jump Sister Bessie"
5016 Clarence Jolly "Changing Love" / "Don't Leave Me" CD1/11 & CD2/3
5017 Guitar Shorty "You Don't Treat Me Right" / "Irma Lee" CD1/14 & CD2/6
5018 Harold Burrage "Stop for the Red Light" / "Satisfied" CD2/13
5019 Betty Everett "My Life Depends on You" / "My Love" CD1/5
5020 Duke Jenkins Orchestra "Where Can My Loved One Be" / "Shake It" CD1/9
1958...
5021 Magic Sam "Everything Gonna Be Alright" / "Look Whatcha Done" CD1/3
5022 Harold Burrage, Willie Dixon Band "She Knocks Me Out" / "A Heart (Filled with Pain)"
5023 Otis Rush with Willie Dixon Orchestra "Three Times a Fool" / "She's a Good 'Un"
5024 Betty Everett "Ain't Gonna Cry" / "Killer Diller" CD2/5
5025 Magic Sam "All Night Long" / "All My Whole Life" CD2/14 & CD2/7
5026 Harold Burrage & His Band "I Cry for You" / "Betty Jean" CD1/12
5027 Otis Rush "It Takes Time" / "Checking on My Baby" CD2/2
5028 Jimmy & Kelly The Rock-a-Beats "Little Chickie" / "Bonnie" CD1/7
5029 Magic Sam "Easy Baby" / "21 Days in Jail" CD1/18
5030 Otis Rush & His Band "Double Trouble" / "Keep on Loving Me, Baby" CD1/1
5031 Betty Everett & Willie Dixon Band "I'll Weep No More" / "Tell Me, Darling" CD1/20
5032 Otis Rush & His Band "All Your Love (I Miss Loving)" / "My Baby's a Good 'Un"
1959...
5033 Ike Turner's Kings of Rhythm "Walking Down the Aisle" / "Box Top" CD1/6 & CD2/9
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Track Listing- Ain't Gonna Cry., 19 April 2013
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Double Trouble-Cobra Records Story 1956-1959 (Audio CD)
`DOUBLE TROUBLE'
The Cobra Records Story 1956-1959 contains 40 Original Recordings by the original artsist.
As the title tells you the tracks are over 50 years old and are public domain.
But the Amazon Track listing is a bit cluttered and hard to read so this list may make it easier?

CD1

01 Double Trouble - Otis Rush
02 Have A Good Time - Shakey Horton
03 Look Whatcha Done - Magic Sam
04 Messed Up - Harold Burrage
05 My Love - Betty Everett
06 Walking Down The Aisle - Ike Turner's Kings Of
07 Little Chickie - Jimmy Kelly & The Rock-A-Beats
08 Fine Girl - The Calvaes
09 Shake It - Duke Jenkins Orchestra
10 Little Girl - Little Willie Foster
11 Changing Love - Clarence Jolly
12 Betty Jean - Harold Burrage
13 Fishin' In My Pond - Lee Jackson
14 You Don't Treat Me Right - Guitar Shorty
15 Rock And Roll Boogie - The Clouds
16 I Can't Quit Baby - Otis Rush
17 Something Else - Duke Jenkins Orchestra
18 Easy Baby - Magic Sam
19 It's You Baby - Sunnyland Slim
20 I'll Weep No More - Betty Everett And The Willi

CD2

01 She Knocks Me Out - Harold Burrage With The Will
02 It Takes Time - Otis Rush
03 Don't Leave Me - Clarence Jolly
04 The Duke Walks - Duke Jenkins Orchestra
05 Ain't Gonna Cry - Betty Everett
06 Irma Lee - Guitar Shorty
07 All My Whole Life - Magic Sam
08 Lonely Lonely Village - The Calvaes
09 Box Top - Ike Turner's Kings Of Rhythm
10 I'll Just Keep Walkin' - Lee Jackson
11 I Do - The Clouds
12 Crying The Blues - Little Willie Foster
13 Stop For The Red Light - Harold Burrage
14 All Your Love - Magic Sam
15 Three Times A Fool - Otis Rush With Willie Dixo
16 Tell Me Darling - Betty Everett And The Willie
17 Mambo Fiesta - The Calvaes
18 Need My Baby - Shakey Horton
19 Highway - Sunnyland Slim
20 I Need A Man - Gloria Irving
21. I Don't May and the Glentones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another fine collection, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Double Trouble-Cobra Records Story 1956-1959 (Audio CD)
Great compilation of known & lesser known.Some sound a little dull but at this money
you cant beat it.I think im going to work through all in the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Double Trouble-Cobra Records Story 1956-1959 (Audio CD)
great.bit of oldies music, Love this old stuff this sort of sound will always be around. it is always nice to here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Aug 2014
By 
PAUL NEEDHAM (DERBY, DERBYSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Double Trouble-Cobra Records Story 1956-1959 (Audio CD)
GREAT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK, 4 Aug 2013
By 
F. J. Greaves (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Double Trouble-Cobra Records Story 1956-1959 (Audio CD)
If I'd have been able to listen to the tracks before purchase I probably wouldn't have bought it but it's OK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Double Trouble-Cobra Records Story 1956-1959
Double Trouble-Cobra Records Story 1956-1959 by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews