Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun in the sun...Mexican music is brilliant...
Cafe Mexico, NOT2CD491
This new 50 track compilation by Tony Watts for Not Now Music has a wealth of Mexican and Mexican influenced music from the period 1957 to 1962.

The 3 main styles of music are Mariachi Music an example being The Mexican Hat Dance performed by Mariachi Mexico de Pepe Villa; Jarocho Music eg La Bamba performed by Trio Guadalajara &...
Published on 12 April 2013 by C. FULLER

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mexican Music
I was expecting good old mariachi, with trumpet fiddle and guitar. But I got what could be described as Mexican dance music. Not really for me but acceptable if that't what you want.
Published 12 months ago by Pete D


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun in the sun...Mexican music is brilliant..., 12 April 2013
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cafe Mexico (Audio CD)
Cafe Mexico, NOT2CD491
This new 50 track compilation by Tony Watts for Not Now Music has a wealth of Mexican and Mexican influenced music from the period 1957 to 1962.

The 3 main styles of music are Mariachi Music an example being The Mexican Hat Dance performed by Mariachi Mexico de Pepe Villa; Jarocho Music eg La Bamba performed by Trio Guadalajara & Huapango and example being Mexico here performed by Los Panchos. There is also Mexican influenced music such as Herb Alperts The Lonely Bull which was written by him through his fascination with Mariachi music.

The CDs feature dozens of different groups of musicians who were recording during the 1950s and 1960s as well as artistes whose careers began in the 1940s.

Los Panchos who are included on the set (also known as the Trío Los Panchos) was an internationally famous Latintrío romántico known for its romantic ballads and boleros. A characteristic instrument of Los Panchos and many more bolero trios after them is the Requinto guitar, which is smaller and tuned higher than a standard guitar, and was invented by Alfredo Gil, founding member of Los Panchos.

Listen out for veteran performer Federico Arturo Guízar Tolentino (1908 – 1999) who was a Mexican singer and actor. In a career that spanned over seven decades, Guízar trained firstly as an opera singer. He also performed both operatic and Mexican popular songs at Carnegie Hall.

The sound transfers are excellent and the informative liner notes set the scene for this lively compilation that covers from the late 1950s to early 1960s making the best of available public domain recordings. This set should be listened to in conjunction with Cafe Brazil another recent Not Now Music release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 22 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cafe Mexico (Audio CD)
Purchased for a Mexican themed party evening and was the music was perfect for setting the right mood for everyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mexican Music, 24 April 2014
By 
Pete D (Cambridgeshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cafe Mexico (Audio CD)
I was expecting good old mariachi, with trumpet fiddle and guitar. But I got what could be described as Mexican dance music. Not really for me but acceptable if that't what you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mariachi and more, 10 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cafe Mexico (Audio CD)
This selection of music provides Mexican traditional rhythms at their best. Some delicious brass tracks and some haunting vocal group music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Party fun, 29 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cafe Mexico (Audio CD)
We were holding a Mexican themed party for friends, had this playing in the background to create that fiesta atmosphere
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mexican Party (laid back), 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cafe Mexico (Audio CD)
Love this album.
The delivery was fast.
The album has a variety of mariachi tunes and suggests to me that we should have a mexican themed party.
I really love it. No duff tracks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wide range of music, 29 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cafe Mexico (Audio CD)
You get a lot for your money with this cd. The range of the music is very wide and the standard of performance excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 16 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cafe Mexico (Audio CD)
got this for a Mexican themed night and it was great, fun, set the mood, give good atmosphere
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A varied and excellent choice for a Spanish tapas party., 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cafe Mexico (Audio CD)
Great music for a Spanish tapas party with value for money enjoyment.
Many tracks you will recognize 50 in total
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great cd, 29 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cafe Mexico (Audio CD)
I have bought this for a day of the dead party. I wanted something that had a vintage mexican sound as trying to create a feeling of old time mexico in the fourties and fifties,rather than some mad tacky type thing and this fits the idea perfectly.the first side is more lively and would get the party going i liked the second side too which has some beautiful haunting tracks,i also like that there is plenty on here to listen too,a great authentic sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cafe Mexico
Cafe Mexico by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews