Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Basta!
This is a documentary by Annalisa Piras about Italy and its political, economic and moral decline. It was inspired by Bill Emmott's book Good Italy, Bad Italy and he presents and commentates during much of the film. It includes an impressive array of interviewees, though not Silvio Berlusconi, who declined an interview, perhaps partly because he sued the Economist,...
Published 14 months ago by Mac McAleer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a lot we didn't already know
I bought this DVD hoping for new insights into Italy's condition. After watching the DVD I'm a little frustrated in that much of the content is already very familiar to readers of the Economist or to those who've read Gomorra by Roberto Saviano. Perhaps I should have known better - Bill Emmott is a former editor of the Economist and Roberto Saviano seems to have cornered...
Published 14 months ago by Old European


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Basta!, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Girlfriend in a Coma - The hit documentary on DVD (DVD)
This is a documentary by Annalisa Piras about Italy and its political, economic and moral decline. It was inspired by Bill Emmott's book Good Italy, Bad Italy and he presents and commentates during much of the film. It includes an impressive array of interviewees, though not Silvio Berlusconi, who declined an interview, perhaps partly because he sued the Economist, unsuccessfully, when Bill Emmott was its editor.

Bill Emmott has been in love with Italy for a long time, and thus Italy is the girlfriend of this film's title. Coma is the state he sees Italy currently in. He also sees Italy as a forward example, all be it on the surface a comic and entertaining example, of a general European decline, but throughout this film the focus is on Italy, its problems and its redemptive properties.

THE ACTS
The film is divided into three acts. La Mala Italia, La Buona Italia and Ignavia (Sloth). The themes of La Mala Italia are depressingly numerous: corruption, nepotism, rampant organised crime, huge public debt, an ineffective legal system and many more. The themes of La Buona Italia are more low key: social businesses, resistance to organised crime, women organising themselves for a better Italy, successful family businesses with high ethical and social values, good, honest food and strong culture. Act III is Ignavia or sloth. Surprisingly, one academic commentator sees the role of the Vatican as a cause of Italian moral weakness. Others discuss the pernicious effect of Catholic culture. Members of the Italian diaspora show how Italians have great talent but all of them say they had to leave Italy to be able to do anything.

INTERVIEWEES
The interviewees are all Italian, some speaking in Italian and some in English. Their comments are cut up and spread across the film rather than being presented as single long interviews. They include Roberto Saviano the author of Gomorrah, Beppe Grillo the comedian and anti-politician, Mario Monti the recent Italian prime minister, Sergio Marchionne the Fiat CEO, Umberto Eco the author, activists, journalists and many more.

THE FILM
The film flows easily and makes creative use of cartoons presented separately and also imposed on the live action. Throughout the film are quotations taken from Dante. Two versions are available on the DVD, the English version and the Italian version. I suspect that the quotations from Dante sound better on the Italian version.

THE END?
Towards the end Bill Emmott sums up: "Italy is not a story of the euro, of debt or even of crime. It's a story of extraordinary potential being wasted and a national failure to do anything about it. Italy must wake up or else become just an impoverished tourist park. All of us westerners face decline too. We have also been letting the immorality of a few damage the many amid our own Dantean Ignavia. We too need the courage to say Basta!".

Finally, "THE END" appears on the screen, but seconds later this is changed to: "This is NOT THE END. You can change it. Find out how at w w w . girlfriendinacoma . eu."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tells it how it is, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Girlfriend in a Coma - The hit documentary on DVD (DVD)
Bill Emmott's study is kindly but unflinching about where Italy's public life is going. An excellent study which deserves an audience in Italy..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth to watch, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Girlfriend in a Coma - The hit documentary on DVD (DVD)
it helps me to understand more on the recent condition of Italy, a country which I always consider as a beautiful country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic introduction to the problems facing Italy for non-Italians, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Girlfriend in a Coma - The hit documentary on DVD (DVD)
It's difficult for non-Italians to understand how a country or a society like that of Italy can become so dysfunctional andyet not collapse: this is a near perfect overview, and brings us right up to date on the political paralysis that truly governs Italians
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant media blending to reach parts of us that journalism, books and documentary films by themselves cannot, 7 Jan 2014
This review is from: Girlfriend in a Coma - The hit documentary on DVD (DVD)
The startling title, borrowed from the Smiths, is a jest too chilling for some friends of this reviewer (especially tender-hearted Italians). Reasons for pushing past any instinctive cringe to watch the Piras-Emmott collaboration - assisted by Francesco Caradonna's cinematography and Phoebe Boswell's animations -- are set out here:

'Kudos to Annalisa Piras and Bill Emmott for a post-print work of genius focused on Italy'
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Girlfriend in a Coma, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Girlfriend in a Coma - The hit documentary on DVD (DVD)
As an Italian born abroad, I found this very well crafted documentary film fascinating. It made me laugh, it made me cry, it filled me with great despair, but in the end it still gave me hope! Italy is an amazing country on all levels and it could be one of the great countries of the world - Were it not for the Italians!!! Highly Recommended (5 Stars)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a lot we didn't already know, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Girlfriend in a Coma - The hit documentary on DVD (DVD)
I bought this DVD hoping for new insights into Italy's condition. After watching the DVD I'm a little frustrated in that much of the content is already very familiar to readers of the Economist or to those who've read Gomorra by Roberto Saviano. Perhaps I should have known better - Bill Emmott is a former editor of the Economist and Roberto Saviano seems to have cornered the market in explaining Italy to anxious liberals. So, what you get is the usual very depressing analysis of Italy's condition, the omnipresence of the Mafia and the disaster that is Italy's political class. Apart from that there are some fairly predictable contributions from high flying members of the Italian dispora. It would have perhaps been interesting to hear more about the condition of those Italian graduates who choose not to leave the sinking ship.
One message that came across very powerfully was the moral decline of Italy. Berlusconi, a lavacious political class and a catholic church that has nothing particular to say about the Mafia seem to be among the ingredients for the loss of Italy's moral compass.
In conclusion its interesting viewing but to my mind confirmed the superiority of books over films. Read Saviano if you want the real lowdown on Italy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Girlfriend in a coma: storia del nuovo medioevo italiano, 9 May 2013
This review is from: Girlfriend in a Coma - The hit documentary on DVD (DVD)
"Girlfriend in a Coma" è un pugno alla testa e al cuore degli italiani.
Diretto da Piras e basato sul libro di Emmott "Good Italy, Bad Italy", il documentario analizza in modo lucidissimo le cause della crisi italiana, che secondo gli autori prima ancora che politica ed economica è innanzitutto culturale. Il messaggio è chiaro e le immagini gli conferiscono l'evidenza di un sillogismo: ciò che tiene insieme una nazione è la sua cultura; e la sua storia. La storia insegna al popolo da dove viene e di cosa è fatto, quali errori sono stati commessi nel passato e come evitare di ripeterli. Quando si perde la capacità di ricordare, si perde anche quella di migliorare. La cultura dà forma alle istituzioni, all'economia, alla politica. Quando la cultura s'impoverisce, la nazione si sgretola e la società piomba nella barbarie. Se è vero che nel mondo contemporaneo non esistono strumenti più veloci ed efficaci dei media nel creare e diffondere cultura, chi li controlla ha il potere più grande di tutti, quello di condizionare e manipolare le menti a proprio uso e consumo. Se poi chi controlla i mezzi di comunicazione detiene anche il potere politico, può succedere di tutto. E così arriviamo a Berlusconi, che questo immenso potere l'ha sfruttato per vent'anni, perseguendo scientificamente un solo scopo: plasmare un popolo di ignoranti, una massa di ebeti che gli spianasse la strada verso il successo. I tagli alla scuola pubblica e i programmi televisivi infarciti di tette e culi sono due facce della stessa medaglia. Non a caso la maggiore colpa che il documovie attribuisce agli italiani è l'ignavia.

"Girlfriend in a Coma" rientra quindi nel solco tracciato da altre due opere simili, che però supera per ampiezza di sguardo e profondità di indagine. Come in "Citizen Berlusconi" l'obiettivo è centrato sulla figura del Cavaliere; come in "Videocracy" si pone l'accento sul ruolo giocato dalla televisione all'interno della strategia politica del Caimano. Emmott e Piras fanno un passo in avanti, perché cercano di andare oltre Berlusconi fino a risalire alle debolezze strutturali della società italiana, individuando nel ciclico alternarsi di periodi bui e momenti di rigoglio una costante della nostra storia. L'Italia di oggi attraversa uno di quei periodi bui, ma stavolta è diverso, stavolta se non si inverte subito rotta il coma potrebbe diventare irreversibile. Questo è il grido d'allarme lanciato dal documentario, che spiega anche come l'attuale situazione italiana sia soltanto l'emblema di una crisi morale che coinvolge tutto l'Occidente, e in particolare l'Europa.

Il documentario sfrutta appieno il vantaggio che deriva dal poter contare su due punti di vista differenti: quello di Emmott, l'osservatore esterno situato alla giusta distanza per non farsi prendere da troppi coinvolgimenti emotivi; quello di Piras, il testimone oculare che sa di cosa parla. Lo stile è quello della migliore tradizione giornalistica anglosassone, pacato, privo di sensazionalismi, politicamente corretto, senza per questo rinunciare all'incisività dell'analisi o sottovalutare le esigenze drammaturgiche che ogni prodotto filmico deve necessariamente soddisfare per incontrare i favori del pubblico.

Con "politicamente corretto" intendo che Emmott era il primo a sapere che rischiava di passare per il maestrino inglese con la puzza sotto al naso, venuto a dare lezioni di democrazia all'incorreggibile popolo italiano. Gli autori erano coscienti di rischiare la facile accusa di disfattismo. Così hanno pensato bene di bilanciare una prima parte spietata con una pars construens dello stesso peso narrativo, in cui mostrare che l'Italia è ancora viva e ha dentro di sé tutte le risorse per uscire dal tunnel. Il capitolo sulla buona Italia assolve in modo evidente questa funzione ma è la strategia narrativa nel suo insieme a basarsi sulla dicotomia buono/cattivo.

Il continuo e mai banale ricorso alle immagini del patrimonio artistico e paesaggistico italiano, la stessa metafora dell'Italia come donna seviziata, suggeriscono in modo implicito ciò che viene affermato chiaramente nel finale: il paese si salverà soltanto riscoprendo il valore della cultura e della donna. I versi della Divina Commedia sono utilizzati a mo' di commento poetico alle varie scene del documentario per far capire che i mali di cui oggi soffre il Bel Paese ce li portiamo dietro da secoli, tanto che gli endecasillabi di Dante risultano ancora profondamente attuali. Il bordello di cui scriveva il Sommo Poeta è lo stesso bordello di oggi.

Da un punto di vista prettamente narrativo, l'ottima regia di Annalisa Piras ha escogitato soluzioni originali, che trovano la sintesi più efficace nel disegno animato della fidanzata Italia trascinata da un inquietante Pulcinella verso il fondo del pozzo di San Patrizio di Orvieto. Le statistiche sui primati in negativo del Bel Paese a corredo di questa immagine ricorrente completano un quadro che assomiglia molto ad una specie di infografica in movimento, molto suggestiva e al tempo stesso ligia ai canoni del giornalismo professionale.

Ho un solo appunto da muovere al documentario, che riguarda la scelta di inserire la Fiat fra gli esempi di capitalismo virtuoso della penisola. L'azienda di Torino è stata per anni il motore dello sviluppo economico italiano e nel tempo ha dato lavoro a migliaia di persone, riuscendo a conquistare la ribalta internazionale grazie al prestigio dei marchi della casa. Ma pensando a tutto il denaro pubblico di cui ha beneficiato nei periodi di crisi, senza il quale forse oggi sarebbe fuori dal mercato, la Fiat prende i contorni molto più sfumati di un certo tipo di capitalismo assistito che rappresenta l'esempio meno nobile del modo di fare impresa in Italia.

Se poi con l'espressione "buon capitalismo" Emmott vuole intendere un capitalismo dal volto umano, che non punta solo al profitto ma si fa carico anche di una responsabilità sociale in primo luogo nei confronti dei dipendenti, non vedo come si possa far rientrare nella categoria un'azienda che prende una decisione come quella del reintegro senza lavoro dei 19 operai di Pomigliano iscritti alla Fiom.

Ahi serva Italia, di dolore ostello, nave sanza nocchiere in
gran tempesta, non donna di province ma bordello!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars It's in the wrong format for American DVD players. I can't use it here., 26 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Girlfriend in a Coma - The hit documentary on DVD (DVD)
The vendor should advise the purchaser that it is in a format usable in the U.K., but not in the U.S. I'd love to see it so I could give it a proper review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A eulogy for Italy, 21 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Girlfriend in a Coma - The hit documentary on DVD (DVD)
I thought I knew very little about modern Italy until I saw this, and then I realised that I knew quite a bit from the newspapers. I agree with the spirit of the film, although I'm only familiar with Italy from some lovely holidays and its undoubted cultural influence, thoughtfully highlighted throughout. My only three reservations were: not a good idea to use a title that has no obvious connection to the content (much as I like the Smiths); the film clearly points towards most of Europe joining Italy in that coma, or being there already, so an expansion of focus might have provided a good counterpoint, i.e. Italy has few problems that are unique in nature, unless you count Berlusconi; the statistics are compelling but unclear. To say that Italy is 'just above Liberia', in an economic table, for example, seems vivid, but where do these stats come from? Recommended if you love Italy, but if your liking is mild, this may just persuade you to visit Spain or southern France instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Girlfriend in a Coma - The hit documentary on DVD
9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews