Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very bunny. Well I thought it was......., 7 April 2013
By 
Penelope Booth "Portia" (Durham City, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bustacious Bunny (The Blues Detective) (Kindle Edition)
I bought this to read at Easter, but sorry to say that events meant that I delayed reading it until today - but very happy to say that I merely postponed my fun - 'cos that's what it was. Yes, it WAS, as I expected from this unassuming author, jolly funny!
There was an edge to the story this time with more than a hint of the recognition that the underlying topic is serious. I liked that. Meeting an old friend in Otis is comfortable reading - one simply wants to know what s*** he's in now and how a combination of luck and basic good sense (or is it his goodness?) helps to extricate him from said mess. Not to give the game away, officionados may be a teeny bit surprised at the ending, but can hope that this is not the last we have heard from Otis, or from this author who seems to be able to provide stories that entertain, yet are thoughtful and don't demand you give over days to get to the point of it all. I liked it, I think you should give it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crackin', 28 April 2013
By 
Daisytrike (Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bustacious Bunny (The Blues Detective) (Kindle Edition)
This book was recommended by a friend of mine - she wasn't wrong about it being good.

We find ourselves in Memphis with Otis King, the Blues Detective as he is talking to a beautiful young lady in his office. She has sought him out to help find her older sister who seems to have dropped from the face of the earth.

The story continues on apace with a text redolent of Marlow with a strong Welsh accent.

Thoroughly enjoyable, this story held my attention and I shall certainly be reading more of Mr Peters' work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun-style spoof, 23 May 2013
By 
A. Smith "Angelanorfolk" (Norfolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bustacious Bunny (The Blues Detective) (Kindle Edition)
Whilst I really enjoyed the funny style of writing this was a quick read that I wouldn't normally have chosen to read if it hadn't been on offer for kindle! The author writes with his tongue permanently in his cheek!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dryer Than The Sahara, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bustacious Bunny (The Blues Detective) (Kindle Edition)
This is the second work of fiction I have read from the pen of Andrew Peters. I'm not disappointed. The Bustacious Bunny is a riotous romp from start to finish. When Otis King has a visit from a pink, and indeed, bustacious bunny looking for her sister he declines the case. It should end there but of course it doesn't.

Peters does a great job of taking a hilarious side swipe at genre clichés and tells a great story in the process. His interactions with the reader "off camera" make this story for me. He is dryer than the Sahara and very sarcastic. At just 77p this a great value light hearted read. Enough to cheer you up on a rainy and miserable day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...this author's work is addictive... be warned ...great yarn-spinning, with Peters' unique edge..., 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bustacious Bunny (The Blues Detective) (Kindle Edition)
.. apart from his daily shopping lists, I realise I've now probably read everything that Andrew Peters has written... the man's take on the second-rate (third-? fourth-? fifth-?) private investigator skills of Welsh Blues Detective, Otis King are nothing short of brilliant... treat yourself to the most readable, entertaining, semi-noir crime writing to hit the literary scene for years ... the recurring characters are becoming like old acquaintances, even part-family ... bring on the next masterpiece...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bustacious Bunny (The Blues Detective) (Kindle Edition)
Another great story in this series. Fans of The Blues Detective will love this. There are many laugh out loud moments, and we even see a side to the detective in this story that even he didn't know he had. A caring side. He is asked to look for a missing girl, and soon becomes embroiled in an underworld where he is definitely in over his head. Not the usual case for The Blues Detective -- for one thing, it has no link to the blues.
A well constructed story that entertains and doesn't take itself too seriously.
Andrew Peters has created a fabulous character in Otis King, and I look forward to reading more of the stories in this excellent series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Otis King Excites Again, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bustacious Bunny (The Blues Detective) (Kindle Edition)
How clever of Andrew Peters to write a story which is the perfect length for my commute to work! As usual, this book had me smiling all the way. Who would have thought that there could be so many conflicting gangster mobs in one city and Otis manages to become entangled with them all. Otis is alive and well and continues to entertain in his usual grumpy go lucky style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Live at The Regal, Swansea, 6 April 2013
This review is from: The Bustacious Bunny (The Blues Detective) (Kindle Edition)
Laugh out loud, dark, tongue in cheek humour which blends welshcakes and do-nuts. Would give it 5 stars but then how do you score BB King Live at The Regal?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good and funny indeed..!, 3 April 2013
This review is from: The Bustacious Bunny (The Blues Detective) (Kindle Edition)
The Welsh Blues Detective, the one and only Otis King at work again in the streets of Memphis. Another great read from Andrew Peters, the grand-master of short stories telling. I hope that there will be much more to come from Otis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Andrew Peters Does It Again!, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bustacious Bunny (The Blues Detective) (Kindle Edition)
Yet again Andrew Peters has come up with another great Otis King story. It's actually a very dark subject matter but Otis' asides to the reader keep the story light and amusing and it's good to see Andrew Peters keeping the Blues Detective brand fresh with a belter of a story that although fun to read at the end of it leaves you thinking about the people who are actually in the situation that the Bustacious Bunny finds herself in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews