Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop All Amazon Fashion Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars90
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£6.65
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 April 2013
This is an amazing first hand account of one of the greatest natural disasters in our time. Tracey Lee writes with an immediacy that evokes the enormity of the Tsunami in extraordinary detail. The sights, sounds and smell of the experience are present throughout this page turning account. This story of survival is juxtaposed with an equally extroadinary home life that is filled with laughter, love and adventures in London. The author's day job at London Zoo was in itself material for a biography and not without its share of trauma and tragedy. As Tracey and her family struggle to make sense of the events that took place in Sri Lanka on Boxing Day 2004, she interweaves stories of animals and people that touched her life and made her the strong survivor she has become.

The book is written with great humour and laugh outloud moments. Luke, her boyfriend, and his family are real three dimensional characters and the family bonds are complete with drunken evenings and run of the mill holiday banter - although the amount of shoes to take on holidays may be an argument that Luke never wins again, as diamante flip flops were an unexpected necessity! The family history was what took the family to Sri Lanka and the relationships are what held them together in the crisis. The reader has a real sense of the beauty of the island and the courage of the people who live there.

The author's experience of personal tragedy includes losing her own child, witnessing the death of a colleague and facing the dangers of wild animals first hand. She is clearly loved and brings spirit and humour to her wide circle of friends and family who are present throughout the book. It is hard to believe that a young woman could have gone through so much and be able to recount it with such dignity and humour. This is a truly remarkable story of survival.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
Tracey Lee's vivid writing has brought to life the horrendous events that unfolded in Sri Lanka on the fateful day the tsunami hit. She has clearly written from the heart and you share her terror, shock, fear and love all the way through the book. The devestating effects of the wave are hard to comprehend and news reports did not portray what happened a fraction as well as Tracey's story. Clearly this was a life-changing event for everyone involved and we must remember those that were lost and those that are still suffering the consequences.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2013
This book is a moving account of being caught up in a natural disaster with all the trauma, emotions, sadness and acts of heroism by ordinary people that is entangled in such a tragic event. The account is honest and, at many times heart wrenching, I sobbed from the outset but could not put it down. An amazing read.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2013
I could not put this book down, from the minute the author starts her journey in London to her return to Sri Lanka in 2012 this book had me gripped - the real story of the Tsunami is brought to life, the experiences of the locals and tourists and the trauma and heartache that the author and her family went through take you on a rollercoaster of emotions. I laughed and cried and cried some more and have not stopped recommending this book since I finished it.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2013
This boook details some very sad events but gives a brilliantly vivid picture of the 2004 Tsunami. Warmly written and evocative, the book tells the story both of the author and the many Sri Lankans caught up in the horrific disaster.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2013
An extremely open and honest account of surviving one of the worst ever disasters that our world has ever suffered.

Tracey has opened our eyes to the venerability of people but also above all the inner strengths that we never know we have untill we find ourselves facing a life or death situation.

Her book is very powerful and shows every human emotion.
As Tracey takes you with her and her loved ones, and relives the horror and the hell of Christmas in Sir Lanka 2004 and it's aftermath.

I can't recommend this book highly enough.
It's a must read and imposable to put down and you will never be the same after reading it.

It will make you appreciate every single day of your life.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2013
This is an un-airbrushed, emotive, first-hand account which enthralled me from the first few pages. It isn't wrapped up in literary prose, there is no need to 'unlock' the meaning and search for subtext, it is just like sitting in a quiet corner of a pub with a new friend who is sharing her experiences. It is brutal in places, heart warming in others, and lingers long after you have finished.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
This book is heart wrenching and heart warming at the same time. The story hooks you from the very start and you cannot help but care about every individual. The author makes you feel like you are with her, sharing every moment - an emotional rollercoster. What a book! What a story! Life is so precious, be thankful for every minute.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2013
An extraordinary account of the Tsunami in Sri Lanka and its impact on the writer, her family and friends and on the people encountered during the days leading up to, during and after the fateful event. A must to read for its honest and detailed recollections and the complex emotions triggered by the experience. We never know how we would cope with such a world shattering event but this book gives us a sense. Once you start reading you can't put it down. Compassion, humour, and deep sadness are interwoven in this courageous and absorbing account. Extraordinary.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2013
If ever there was a book to sharply bring the so-called 'worries' of our lives into perspective then this is it. A heart breaking personal account of a fun-loving British woman enjoying a Christmas family holiday in Sri Lanka with her partner and his family only to find themselves caught up in and trying to survive one of the worst natural disasters this world has ever seen - the Asian tsunami of 2004. The writing here is so vivid, visceral and real that you feel like you are there with Tracey and experiencing the horrors yourself. Even at the start as Tracey arrives in Sri Lanka and marvels at the beauty of the country, meets the friendly locals and enjoys Christmas in the sun you already feel the sense of foreboding of the immense tragedy to come. Once the tsunami unexpectedly hits, Tracey's transition from confusion to shock to terror to the fight to survive and help rescue those around her is beyond haunting. The full horrors of what her and her partner Luke are suddenly experiencing, especially the witnessing of people losing their loved ones all around them is written so skilfully and honestly that you often have to remind yourself that this is not fiction, this is all real. A gripping, haunting book, this is a must-read and will stay with you long after you have finished the last page.
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)