Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Hints and Tips
I stumbled upon this in my local Waterstones (apologies Amazon) and started to read it while killing some time. I was immediately struck by the clarity of the advice given. It is not a vast tome and is by no means intended to be exhaustive in its breadth of coverage. What it does is go through the various sources and explain how to make the best use of them, what to look...
Published 22 months ago by metalaris

versus
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok for beginners
I think the author strained to make this into a whole book. The last few summary pages inside pretty much could've been presented as THE book, as they say all he wanted to say.

However, it was clear to understand and it was written by someone who obviously understands his field.

I think someone starting out could learn a lot. Unfortunately, those of...
Published on 6 May 2012 by AgentMulderUK


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok for beginners, 6 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think the author strained to make this into a whole book. The last few summary pages inside pretty much could've been presented as THE book, as they say all he wanted to say.

However, it was clear to understand and it was written by someone who obviously understands his field.

I think someone starting out could learn a lot. Unfortunately, those of has that have got far enough to find brick walls are less likely to be beginners.

Not bad. Just nothing new for anyone who's been doing genealogy for a year or more.

Edit: typos
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Hints and Tips, 14 Oct 2012
I stumbled upon this in my local Waterstones (apologies Amazon) and started to read it while killing some time. I was immediately struck by the clarity of the advice given. It is not a vast tome and is by no means intended to be exhaustive in its breadth of coverage. What it does is go through the various sources and explain how to make the best use of them, what to look out for, what the various pitfalls are and what problems can arise. For an experienced researcher some of these might appear obvious but I for one found many nuggets of information which, despite my having looked at countless BMD and census records over the years, simply hadn't occurred to me before. Just how many "brick walls" I will be able to break through armed with these hints and tips only time will tell, but it has certainly given me renewed impetus in my family history research. I would recommend it to anyone who is struggling to make headway with their genealogical research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an informative and easy read, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solving Genealogy Problems (Kindle Edition)
The structure of the book made for an interesting and enjoyable read . Well done, just what I needed at this stage of my research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you can't find it here - it doesn't exist, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An enormous book packed with useful ideas for searching your family tree. If its not in here - you don't need it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for trying to solve dead ends, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some excellent ideas for getting past that wall and achieving your goals. Now I just need to time to put things in motion!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great for genealogists everywhere, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fabulous insight into problems when tracing family trees, very useful and unexpected lines of enquiry to follow. A great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lacks Substance, 25 Jan 2013
The ever increasing popularity of family history research has led to a plethora of genealogy books hitting the market and it seems that every publisher wants to get in on the act. Unfortunately, quantity does not always equal quality and this book gives the impression of being hastily written to target a lucrative audience.

The title is slightly misleading as this is in fact an overview of the sources available to those conducting family history research. Beginners will no doubt learn a thing or two, but intermediate researchers will find little that is new to them and those seeking strategies to overcome a 'brick wall' will be disappointed. The advice is vague and general with few examples of how a particular source or technique can be used to overcome a particular problem.

Pauline M. Litton's 'Pitfalls and Possibilities in Family History Research' covers a similar topic much better and is packed with useful information in comparison to this flimsy volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This does what it says on the tin, 24 April 2014
By 
M. Hall (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solving Genealogy Problems (Kindle Edition)
Excellent. Very clearly written; comprehensive; just what I needed as a relative newcomer (forgive the pun). Don't hesitate; buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solving geneology problems, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good book if you have come to a standstill in researching your family history. Excellent tips on how to overcome obstacles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Genealogy, 26 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quite helpful although a lot of it explains things I already knew; whether it will suggest a way of breaking down the wall I am very anxious to destroy is something I am not at all sure about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Solving Genealogy Problems
5.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews