Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up-to-date with online tools, easy to read, ideal for beginners
The enormous amount of historical data and records now available online have changed the approach and rapidly reduced the amount of time and cost required to research your family tree.

Some family history research books now seem quite dated and don't reflect the latest techniques available. Other books about online research seem to be simple directories of...
Published on 4 Jan 2010 by David Chambers

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars endless search
Does what it says to a degree but it does tend to go off the online agenda and a bit dissapointed. Leave one wanting more information
Published 19 months ago by Mr. Royston Mead


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up-to-date with online tools, easy to read, ideal for beginners, 4 Jan 2010
The enormous amount of historical data and records now available online have changed the approach and rapidly reduced the amount of time and cost required to research your family tree.

Some family history research books now seem quite dated and don't reflect the latest techniques available. Other books about online research seem to be simple directories of relevant websites. Family tree programs often include manuals on how to use the program, but not how to do the research itself.

I found this book very easy to read and well presented. It walked through the process of how to use the various online databases to build your tree. Not everything can be done online of course, and the book explained where to draw the line. To me this would be a good, straightforward introductory book ideal as a gift (or for yourself) for someone about to start on their research.

Specifically appropriate for UK readers, although references to other countries records is included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The internet was made for genealogy, 26 Feb 2010
By 
Russ. M (Coventry, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you're setting out to research your family then you will need to know your way around the internet and this book is a good place to start. It covers many subjects that you may not have considered and for the price it is worth having on the book shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read!, 3 Sep 2011
By 
P. Varley "Phil" (Cirencester Glos UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very useful book. perfect for Family Historians who primarily use the internet for their research. I would thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where to look for records at the click of a mouse, 12 Aug 2011
By 
This book demonstrates how the internet has transformed family history from the preserve of learned genealogists to one of the world's most popular amateur hobbies. No more draughty churchyards or dusty records offices, it shows you where to look at the click of a mouse from the comfort of your living room.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pretty good, 10 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got this for my mother as she is doing our family tree she says it was helpful, we hit alot of brick walls and have exhusted everyother root, this lays things out clearly and give you new ways to approach trying to find missing relatives.
Mum was happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Family tree, 16 Nov 2009
By 
C. Whitley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think it is one of the best books on the subject for beginners.

Your Family Tree Online - Graeme Davis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Research Aid, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Family Tree Online (Kindle Edition)
Well written and informative ,a great aid in research outside the normal use of the available censuses a excellent book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Family Tree Online (Kindle Edition)
I am tracing my family tree and this book helps me with websites that have info. Living in Scotland it is hard to get information without going to Register House, so any help I can get is great. I haven't read it all but as a reference book its great, thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars useful shelf addition, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very useful when studying genealogy and this is yet another book explaining all the online resources available at least at the time of publication
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ggod, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Met my requirement , good read for those wishing to trace family history, helps dicover things you did not know about your ancestors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Your Family Tree Online
Your Family Tree Online by Graeme Davis
£4.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews