Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Polished Industrial-Rock Class On Filter Album #6.
For over a decade now, Filter have carved something of a niche for themselves with their sleek, radio-friendly take on industrial-metal, with each album sticking to the Filter blueprint of huge-sounding industrial-rock anthems with memorable hooks coupled with a keen sense of dynamics on the slower numbers that are thrown in to create that perfect balance between...
Published 13 months ago by M.G.A

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh
Buy if you like Filter. It won't change your life but there are some catchy ones on there. It's no comparison to Amalgamut or Title of Record and not as good as Soldiers of Misfortune either. However, needs must and if you like Filter you might as well.
Published 11 months ago by Cynthia Stollen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Polished Industrial-Rock Class On Filter Album #6., 9 Jun 2013
By 
M.G.A (Nottingham, UK.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For over a decade now, Filter have carved something of a niche for themselves with their sleek, radio-friendly take on industrial-metal, with each album sticking to the Filter blueprint of huge-sounding industrial-rock anthems with memorable hooks coupled with a keen sense of dynamics on the slower numbers that are thrown in to create that perfect balance between gut-level intensity and commerciality, in effect, creating 'stadium' industrial-rock for the masses.
New album 'The Sun Comes Out Tonight' offers no radical deviation from this formula, as Richard Patrick and cohorts serve up another helping of diamond-edged, precision-tooled, industrial-rock goodness.
The production is sharp, yet subtle, Patrick's stadium-sized riffs layered carefully atop Filter's trademark electronic sheen, while the huge-sounding drums provide the necessary 'oomph'.
The songs are cut from very rock that Patrick has been chiselling away at since 1995 debut 'Short Bus', all powerful riffs and shouty vocal harmonies as Patrick vents his spleen on newbies 'What Do You Say' & 'Watch The Sun Come Out Tonight', while light relief arrives in the shape of piano ballad 'It's My Time', the more standard slower tracks such as 'It's Just You' almost harking back to their 1999 hit 'Take A Picture'.
It's hard to be innovative when reviewing Filter as they got into a groove right from the off in 1995 and have largely remained there ever since - much of what was written about them then still applies now.
Suffice to say, if you are already partial to their charms you won't be disappointed as this album maintains the standard of previous offerings, making it highly recommended, and if you haven't checked them out already, get 1999s 'Title Of Record', then try this for size. 8/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome album. Just makes you want to sing along and jump around, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sun Comes Out Tonight (Audio CD)
Really love this album. Very catchy and some great riffs. Perfect driving music. I would recommend this to anyone who likes awesome guitar riffs and heavy but tuneful songs. Production is pretty good too. Very polished but still has a huge energy to it.
Buy it now :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good album - but not their best, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are a lot of great songs on this album - Take That Knife Out of My Back and the title tracks are catchy and reminiscent of late 90s filter when they were on form. No Title Of Record but still a great album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From a Filter fan,,,, 10 Jun 2013
By 
L. Floate "Nitr0gene" (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've always been a massive fan of Filter, although their later albums have left me feeling like I need more and that the whole album is fairly soulless.

This is definitely not one of them.

I've only listened to it a few times since I bought it, and already I know this is going to be in my car stereo and on my playlist at home for the next few months non stop. It's a sharp and carefully crafted album, with all the wonders and crunchiness that Filter have to offer.

Well done boys, welcome back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not their best!, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sun Comes Out Tonight (Audio CD)
This latest album from Filter seems to try to encapsulate an etire back catalogue on the 1 disc, M only gripe was that some of the riffs and songs sounded a little too familar, it's time for som fresh air fro there guys on their next effort! Also this was a little to polished in the production!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sun Comes Out Tonight (Audio CD)
Buy if you like Filter. It won't change your life but there are some catchy ones on there. It's no comparison to Amalgamut or Title of Record and not as good as Soldiers of Misfortune either. However, needs must and if you like Filter you might as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sun Comes Out Tonight
Sun Comes Out Tonight by Filter (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews