Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cost effective joypad, fantastic for emulators and such
There's a lot of negative reviews here saying the joypad doesn't work or that it's flimsy and cheap. Don't put too much stock in those highly negative reviews - this isn't a perfect product but it certainly does the job as intended and isn't as flimsy as I thought it would be from the reviews already posted. Don't buy this thinking you're getting Xbox 360 or PS3...
Published 9 months ago by D. Lochery

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for the price
The D-pad is a little stiff and not very accurate, I'd also have liked if the analogue sticks were a little less stiff too. It works well though, took about a minute to connect to my Nexus 7 and Nexus One devices.
Published 7 months ago by Suzanne Prior


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cost effective joypad, fantastic for emulators and such, 21 Oct 2013
By 
D. Lochery "dl_wraith" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iPega Universal Wireless Bluetooth 3.0 Game Controller Gamepad Joypad for Apple iOS iphone 5 4 4S ipad 4 3 2 new mini ipod Android Phone HTC one x Samsung Galaxy S3 2 Note 2 N7100 N8000 Tablet Google nexus 7" 10" PC - Digi4u (Electronics)
There's a lot of negative reviews here saying the joypad doesn't work or that it's flimsy and cheap. Don't put too much stock in those highly negative reviews - this isn't a perfect product but it certainly does the job as intended and isn't as flimsy as I thought it would be from the reviews already posted. Don't buy this thinking you're getting Xbox 360 or PS3 controller quality and you may be pleasantly suprised.

The iPega is essentially a small bluetooth joypad that you'll pair with you phone or tablet to play games with. Before you buy this the first thing you need to realise is the NOT ALL ANDROID/iOS GAMES SUPPORT JOYPADS. Check the support ofor external input devices for your favourite games before you buy and you'll avoid the disappointment that others may already have suffered.

The iPega has 4 modes of operation, allowing it a reasonable chance of working for a game that won't directly support it. It can act as a keyboard (allowing you to map keyboard bottons to your game/emulator and use the joypad that way), it can act as a joystick/pad (for those games directly supporting joypads), it can act as a mouse/trackball (for games using the touchscreen like a mouse), and it can act as a native iCade controller (for those of you that spent money on the iOS iCade application). You have to set which mode it will operate in when you're pairing it. If you have no joy once paired, unpair it and try a different mode to see if that works for you.

Pairing it is simple. Turn it on, hold the joypad button matching the mode you want then press the HOME button in the middle of the pad. An orange light flashes on the pad. Once the light is flashing, scan for bluetooth devices from your phone or tablet and select the joypad to pair with. As I said, simple.

The joypad itself is designed along the same lines as a third party SNES controller with a couple of analog sticks thrown in. It's lightweight (good for portability) and about the same size as an old Sega Master system controller (although it is thicker). The face bottons feel solid as does the body of the controller but the shoulder triggers are a little 'clicky'; and feel less solid than the other control buttons. If any buttons will break first, it'll be these shoulder triggers.

The iPega has an intenal battery, charged via a standard micro USB port. That's handy as it means no carrying batteries for it. On the flip-side it does mean if you're out of charge on the go then you're out of luck.

Another feature of the controller is that it includes an extendable arm that clamps around your phone handset to attach your phone to the controller which folds neatly away when not in use. This is a good idea but by far the worst feature of the iPega. The spring load on the clamp arm is weak, the plastic feels a little flimsy and the balance of the phone when it's in the cradle feels odd, as the joypad is very light compared to a modern smartphone giving the whole unit when connected together an unbalanced feel. This is the result of the lightweight controller design and is where the budget nature of the controller clearly shows.

So far the iPega has coped with every app I've thrown at it, sometimes on the 2nd or 3rd connection option I've tried. It's best application is on emulators so if you have an old SNES, Megadrive, GBA, NeoGeo pocket or similar knockling around that you never carry this controller can help turn your phone into an all-purpose portable gaming device. I've used this on a Sumsung Note 2 (Android 4.1) and a Galaxy S3 (Android 4.2) with no difficulties.

One last note of criticism: The manual is TERRIBLE. It's clearly a bad translation but it does point out that the joypad can also be used on PC. Could be one for the laptop bag then :)

CONCLUSION: The iPega is a cheap and cheerful joypad best suited to emulators but capable of much more. As a pad it feels light yet sturdier than the price tag (and some reviews) suggests but it's phone clamp is clearly a weak point. Overall this is well worth 16 and was just what I needed to prevent me carrying my mobile gaming platforms as well as my phone. Check compatibility with your games before you buy and you shouldn't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for the price, 13 Dec 2013
By 
Suzanne Prior - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iPega Universal Wireless Bluetooth 3.0 Game Controller Gamepad Joypad for Apple iOS iphone 5 4 4S ipad 4 3 2 new mini ipod Android Phone HTC one x Samsung Galaxy S3 2 Note 2 N7100 N8000 Tablet Google nexus 7" 10" PC - Digi4u (Electronics)
The D-pad is a little stiff and not very accurate, I'd also have liked if the analogue sticks were a little less stiff too. It works well though, took about a minute to connect to my Nexus 7 and Nexus One devices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 7 April 2014
This review is from: iPega Universal Wireless Bluetooth 3.0 Game Controller Gamepad Joypad for Apple iOS iphone 5 4 4S ipad 4 3 2 new mini ipod Android Phone HTC one x Samsung Galaxy S3 2 Note 2 N7100 N8000 Tablet Google nexus 7" 10" PC - Digi4u (Electronics)
Why has this got negative comments? It's friggin brilliant!! For using on the bus, or sat in living room while the Mrs is watchin vampire diaries or the voice or sommat equally as s***e... It does the job! I love it! For 15 it's a bloody bargain! Stop your whining and get on your Xbox then if you wanna moan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iPega Universal Wireless Bluetooth 3.0 Game Controller Gamepad Joypad for Apple iOS iphone 5 4 4S ipad 4 3 2 new mini ipod Android Phone HTC one x Samsung Galaxy S3 2 Note 2 N7100 N8000 Tablet Google nexus 7" 10" PC - Digi4u (Electronics)
I was disappointed as can only play certain games with it mainly racing games and fighting games which I don't play :( so I now not using it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy and convenient, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iPega Universal Wireless Bluetooth 3.0 Game Controller Gamepad Joypad for Apple iOS iphone 5 4 4S ipad 4 3 2 new mini ipod Android Phone HTC one x Samsung Galaxy S3 2 Note 2 N7100 N8000 Tablet Google nexus 7" 10" PC - Digi4u (Electronics)
Works well with iphone5.
Stops unintentional screen touches and is very comfortable to use - great product.
Would recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good controller, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iPega Universal Wireless Bluetooth 3.0 Game Controller Gamepad Joypad for Apple iOS iphone 5 4 4S ipad 4 3 2 new mini ipod Android Phone HTC one x Samsung Galaxy S3 2 Note 2 N7100 N8000 Tablet Google nexus 7" 10" PC - Digi4u (Electronics)
This controller is easy to use and confortable, wide compatibility with a lot of games and acceptable batery life. Good seller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works great, buttons are firm, 15 Sep 2013
By 
Richard Potts - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iPega Universal Wireless Bluetooth 3.0 Game Controller Gamepad Joypad for Apple iOS iphone 5 4 4S ipad 4 3 2 new mini ipod Android Phone HTC one x Samsung Galaxy S3 2 Note 2 N7100 N8000 Tablet Google nexus 7" 10" PC - Digi4u (Electronics)
Analogue sticks are a little firm but overall a great device. Works with most apps out of the box in gamepad mode on nexus 4 stock and aosp (4.3)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great for emulators, 28 July 2013
This review is from: iPega Universal Wireless Bluetooth 3.0 Game Controller Gamepad Joypad for Apple iOS iphone 5 4 4S ipad 4 3 2 new mini ipod Android Phone HTC one x Samsung Galaxy S3 2 Note 2 N7100 N8000 Tablet Google nexus 7" 10" PC - Digi4u (Electronics)
Great little controller for sticking in your pocket and using with emulators... Could do with 4 shoulder buttons for full PlayStation controller mapping tho. Hence 4 star
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars would have love it., 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iPega Universal Wireless Bluetooth 3.0 Game Controller Gamepad Joypad for Apple iOS iphone 5 4 4S ipad 4 3 2 new mini ipod Android Phone HTC one x Samsung Galaxy S3 2 Note 2 N7100 N8000 Tablet Google nexus 7" 10" PC - Digi4u (Electronics)
Item didn't work, maybe i would have love it if it had worked..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab!, 24 Jun 2014
This review is from: iPega Universal Wireless Bluetooth 3.0 Game Controller Gamepad Joypad for Apple iOS iphone 5 4 4S ipad 4 3 2 new mini ipod Android Phone HTC one x Samsung Galaxy S3 2 Note 2 N7100 N8000 Tablet Google nexus 7" 10" PC - Digi4u (Electronics)
A great little gift for my tech savvy brother. He loved the idea and it worked realy well too, I would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews