Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Down to earth investigation into Roman daily life
This hour-long TV documentary is a couple of years old, and has probably been released in 2013 because there's a major exhibition of items from Pompeii and Herculaneum on display in London this year.

This is one of the first TV documentaries which Mary Beard presented, and is based around her book. She comes over as massively knowledgeable on the subject;...
Published on 18 April 2013 by Rowena Hoseason

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars no subtitles
really god information but no good as no subtitles. Excellent information and well presented information about a fascinating piece of world history
Published 17 months ago by MR M A KRAWIECKI


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Down to earth investigation into Roman daily life, 18 April 2013
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Pompeii Life and Death in a Roman Town - Presented by Mary Beard - As Seen on BBC2 [DVD] (DVD)
This hour-long TV documentary is a couple of years old, and has probably been released in 2013 because there's a major exhibition of items from Pompeii and Herculaneum on display in London this year.

This is one of the first TV documentaries which Mary Beard presented, and is based around her book. She comes over as massively knowledgeable on the subject; enthusiastic and approachable; extremely keen to convey the nitty gritty and daily realities of life for normal Roman folk. So there's a lot of chat about graffiti and grubby streets, and the dubious hygiene of the sweaty public baths...
The show includes a few staples of modern archaeology, like using forensic techniques to investigate a group of skeletons which weren't destroyed by the ash. So the experts use bone and teeth samples to sketch out the wealth, health, height and diet of the population (and even comment on their sex lives). Also the less appealing process of examining sewage waste to determine what food was regularly eaten - sea urchins, no less!
This is pretty much a no-frills documentary, based around evidence and experience rather than actors in togas and cutting-edge CGI. Mary Beard doesn't dress up herself and she concentrates on uncovering daily realities for 'normal' people, folks who lived in block of flats, and who were remarkable only for the way in which they died. It comes close to demonstrating what life might have been like 2000 years ago for the people of Pompeii.

I didn't learn a huge amount more than I already knew about the subject, but I appreciated Mary Beard's insightful comments and her down-to-earth presentation.
8/10

Sits well alongside Mary Beard's more comprehensive series: Meet The Romans Presented by Mary Beard As Seen On BBC2 [DVD] which is thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great program and extremely interesting., 11 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pompeii Life and Death in a Roman Town - Presented by Mary Beard - As Seen on BBC2 [DVD] (DVD)
I recommend this DVD as it gives a wonderful window on the life of Pompeii. I always enjoy Mary Beard's commentary on history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bringing Pompeii and its people to life, 1 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pompeii Life and Death in a Roman Town - Presented by Mary Beard - As Seen on BBC2 [DVD] (DVD)
Mary Beard explores the life of ordinary people (well, as much as can be deduced from artefacts) of Pompeii in an entertaining and thought-provoking way. Digging(!) below the popular, somewhat stereotyped view of how the Romans lived, she provides new insights and theories that stimulate and challenge the traditional view. Well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and comprehensive, 27 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pompeii Life and Death in a Roman Town - Presented by Mary Beard - As Seen on BBC2 [DVD] (DVD)
I have been to Pompeii and to the recent exhibition. This video is absolutley first rate and I thoroughly recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars pompeii by mary beard, 5 Aug. 2013
By 
Dave John "medicman dave" (worthing west sussex england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pompeii Life and Death in a Roman Town - Presented by Mary Beard - As Seen on BBC2 [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed the down-to-earth view of Pompeii and the obvious enthusiasm that Mary has for her subject. Having been to Pompeii some years ago, it was equally interesting to see some things that weren't discovered then and I especially liked the contrast between old Pompeii and modern-day Naples when she showed us that there is nothing new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I must see before or after a Pompeii visit, 20 Oct. 2014
By 
D. Sivyer (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pompeii Life and Death in a Roman Town - Presented by Mary Beard - As Seen on BBC2 [DVD] (DVD)
Really enjoyed Mary Beard presentation on Pompeii. I visited the site in September and watched this when I got back, it really added to the experience and my understanding. Mary tell's it in her own enjoyable, down to earth way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars no subtitles, 9 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pompeii Life and Death in a Roman Town - Presented by Mary Beard - As Seen on BBC2 [DVD] (DVD)
really god information but no good as no subtitles. Excellent information and well presented information about a fascinating piece of world history
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars interesting and informative, 3 Dec. 2013
By 
J. Edwards (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pompeii Life and Death in a Roman Town - Presented by Mary Beard - As Seen on BBC2 [DVD] (DVD)
Having visited Pompeii this was a very entertaining and useful follow up to the experience. I thoroughly recommend it to anyone wanting to know more about life in a roman city.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great for Grown Ups., 1 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pompeii Life and Death in a Roman Town - Presented by Mary Beard - As Seen on BBC2 [DVD] (DVD)
Great background for teachers to get ideas about what direction to pursue (year four). However I did have to watch it carefully first because Mary is very likely to swear in unexpected places (eg she doesn't say "faeces" or "urine" - not swearing if used as an adjective the ways she does, but still not suitable for primary), in addition to some erotic bits like the numerous phalli decorating buildings and long examples of activities in brothels. If you can edit this out, the rest is wonderful. My children loved the piles of bomes coloured green which lead to lots of scientific questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Dec. 2014
By 
Mrs. R. O. Fantham "ritaf" (Hertfordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pompeii Life and Death in a Roman Town - Presented by Mary Beard - As Seen on BBC2 [DVD] (DVD)
A great DVD, capturing memories of a visit to Pompeii last year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews