Customer Reviews


128 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (50)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gere excels
Anyone who has read any of my earlier reviews of Richard Gere movies would see that I'm not his greatest fan. But my goodness, he is excellent in this tale of greed, dishonesty and deceit.

He plays Robert Miller, a financier with a previous highly successful hedge fund history who makes a bad investment decision that is in desperate need of a business merger to...
Published 16 months ago by Jones the Film

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OH WHAT A TANGLED WEB WE WEAVE
It is always nice to get out while you are on top, before you are caught with your finger in the pie. This is what a dishonest, cheating Robert Miller (Richard Gere) is attempting to do. This is a semi-crime drama that comes at you rather fast with no time for character build up. Robert Miller is unlikeable, but the film doesn't build character for anyone else. I found...
Published 19 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gere excels, 9 Aug 2013
This review is from: Arbitrage [DVD] (DVD)
Anyone who has read any of my earlier reviews of Richard Gere movies would see that I'm not his greatest fan. But my goodness, he is excellent in this tale of greed, dishonesty and deceit.

He plays Robert Miller, a financier with a previous highly successful hedge fund history who makes a bad investment decision that is in desperate need of a business merger to hide. Along the way he gets involved in a manslaughter case that seriously complicates the entire mess he's in.

Gere is just excellent as the Gordon Gecko character who comes across as both a vulnerable victim and an utterly ruthless and calculating cad at the same time. Hats off to him.

It's a terrific film with a good story line, fine acting (especially from Susan Sarandon), a great score from the ever reliable Cliff Martinez, and the whole thing works a treat.

And let's not forget a sterling performance from Tim Roth with his entirely credible subtle Bronx accent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OH WHAT A TANGLED WEB WE WEAVE, 10 May 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Arbitrage [DVD] (DVD)
It is always nice to get out while you are on top, before you are caught with your finger in the pie. This is what a dishonest, cheating Robert Miller (Richard Gere) is attempting to do. This is a semi-crime drama that comes at you rather fast with no time for character build up. Robert Miller is unlikeable, but the film doesn't build character for anyone else. I found myself rooting for minor characters who are more honest than Miller, but not puritanical.

Brit Marling as the overly smart daughter played a convincing role, but Susan Sarandon as the wife did not have the lines she needed to excel. The individual scene dialouge was predictable. The film is more of a crime drama with the financial empire and deals being part of the background dealings setting up Gere's character.

Might be worth watching once. A film you will forget an hour after you have seen it. Not a keeper.

Parental Guide: F-bombs, brief sex, no nudity
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Power is the best alibi., 9 Aug 2014
This review is from: Arbitrage [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Robert Miller is a successful financial businessman with a loving wife and a smart daughter ready to take over the family business. Professional secrets involving illegal fraudulent activities start coming out at the same time that Robert's personal secrets take a turn for the worse and threaten to derail everything he has achieved.

Well directed throughout, moves at a good pace and good strong perfomance by Richard Gere with a good supporting cast, with a simple but gripping tale of greed, dishonesty and deceit, that keeps you watching til the very end.

Overall a good solid thriller and would recommend this to anyone who is a fan of Richard Gere. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars not as noir as it should be??, 1 Nov 2014
By 
Stanley Crowe (Greenville, SC) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Arbitrage [DVD] (DVD)
I wasn't bored by "Arbitrage," and it is strongly cast and well-paced. Richard Gere is very credible as Robert Miller, a high-flying trader who is in a tight spot since his investment in a Russian copper mine failed to live up to expectations. He has had to borrow some tens of millions of dollars under the table, so to speak, and has had to do some fancy accounting to make his operation seem healthy enough to be sold at a price that will enable him to pay the lender AND make a healthy killing. Now, at the beginning, the lender wants his money and the buyer whom Miller thought would rescue him is stalling. So . . . it's a matter of holding one off and encouraging the other, while running an audit that covers up the weak spots in his accounting. Complicating matters further -- he wants to keep all this not only from the SEC but from his daughter, who is the Chief Investment Officer of his company, AND he's carrying on an affair with a young artist whose work he has encouraged, initially, it seems, as an investment.

We come to realize that all his decisions pose risks, but not only for him. His wife and daughter will suffer if his personal and financial dealings become known, and when he flees the scene of a car crash in which a person is killed, he drags in to help him the son of an old friend who then is put at risk too. When detectives start snooping around because of the crash's suspicious circumstances -- and all this before any financial deal is consummated -- then the heat is on, and the plot becomes a question of whether Miller can keep one step ahead of all the things that threaten to bring him down. Tim Roth is a dogged detective, Britt Marling is Miller's daughter, and Susan Sarandon his wife. All do a good job.

Nothing that I've said above constitutes a spoiler. What follows relates to tone and theme more than plot. There's a difference between saying, "Everyone is corrupt" and saying, "Hey, nobody's perfect." If you say the first, you make moody, noir films that are as long on atmosphere as on plot. If you say the second, you make a movie like "Arbitrage" -- fast paced, suspenseful, and leaving us little option but to cheer for some folks who are, after all, doing bad things (and NOT often for good reasons!). The movie doesn't help them earn our sympathy or support, although the situations keep us engaged. Is that a criticism? I'm not sure -- I just thought the movie needed to be a bit darker. For all that -- there's much to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Richard Gere delivers!, 8 May 2013
This review is from: Arbitrage [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is an intriguing and intense thriller from start to finish! The story is really good, although not totally original (but what is nowadays) and keeps you engaged throughout. Richard Gere is the one that really does well here and I still feel he is an underrated actor. He holds the movie so well. The other actors are good but nothing too special. The direction of the movie was also well done and moves along at a good pace. A very solid thriller all round and is recommended! I watched this in HD and looked amazing so I'm sure the blu-ray will look just as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Will this house of cards fall apart ?, 22 July 2013
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Arbitrage [DVD] (DVD)
This film comes off the back of The Double where Richard Gere played another not overly likable, yet powerful & driven character. Here in Arbitrage he plays Robert Miller, a successful hedge fund manager(i.e give him your money & he will try to get you more in return for a percentage himself) who is at the top of his game & idolized among his peers. However a recent investment backfired & now he must sell his company before anyone finds out that he lost investors money & borrowed money to plug the gap. However things go bad to worse for Robert, as he is implicated in manslaughter after his mistress is killed, and without a deal done it could finish his reputation & company off. Can he juggle all his problems around to keep out of jail & come out unscathed ?

Overall Arbitrage is nice little thriller that relies on the engaging story & character development, rather then action. Watching Richard Gere (Pretty Woman) playing out this cool exterior while trying his best to cover up his dirty secrets was nothing short of brilliant. Going from cool & collected, to smug, calculating & intelligent. As the film went on & when all the cards were on the table of what Robert Miller was up against, it kept you on tender hooks to see whether this house of cards was going to crumble at any moment, as the people around him began to suspect, could the police prove what happened or could he rely on people to back him up ? You were never sure what the outcome was going to be & at times you couldn't help but love & hate Richard Gere's character, as we are awash with feelings of anger at some things he does & then joy when he figures out a loophole due to the nature of it.

The film is really owned by Richard Gere's performance, but the support cast of Susan Sarandon (Thelma and Louise) as the long suffering wife, Tim Roth (Planet of the Apes) as the police detective determined to nail his guy, Brit Marling (Another Earth) as the nieve daughter brought down to earth with shocking realizations, Nate Parker (Great Debaters) caught between a rock & a hard place, were all great. As well as experienced support in Stuart Margolin (Kelly's Heroes ) & Reg E. Cathey (The Wire) adding gravitas to the wise heads who offer knowledge on the law side of things.

In conclusion, if you like a film which can keep you on tender hooks with it's story, and not need mile a minute action. Then this smart, enjoyable slow paced thriller will suit. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old Wrinkly Eyes Is Back, 5 Jan 2014
By 
Charles Vasey (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Arbitrage [DVD] (DVD)
This one did not start well as the main character is laid out as someone who scores evil in every category, including the trade mark wrinkly eyes within five foot of a woman. Then bit by bit the tale changed as other characters came in from the side; the young black kid, the detective, the daughter, the wife, and the purchaser of the business. With his chair kicked from under him the main character had to actually function, and presents us with an interesting process to watch as he tries to dodge the bullet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie!, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arbitrage [DVD] (DVD)
Watched this last night. We were tired but.... kept us fully and totally awake throughout as it was such a good film. Here and there it was a little difficult to follow and dialogue was sometimes unclear but, the basic movie and plot etc were excellent and, Richard Gere and Susan Sarandon were excellent..! Great movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Arbitrage DVD, 14 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arbitrage [DVD] (DVD)
It is probably the best role for a long time that Richard Gere has undertaken, he is very, very good in it, as is Susan Sarandon. However, the ending is poor and ruins the 75% excellence of the rest of the movie. It could have been a top notch film, anyway its great for a rainy Saturday afternoon, and the Pretty Woman star is certainly watchable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TOP GERE, 21 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arbitrage [DVD] (DVD)
What a great film this is. I normally don't go by reviews, but I saw nothing but good about this movie and went ahead and got it. I love watching Richard Gere when he is in serious roles and he can do likeable a**hole types very well. He has done some bloody good roles and his performances are brilliant. Take Brooklyns Finest, Primal Fear and Inernal Affairs. And The Jackal, despite the film not being that well received. I also love Pretty Woman, when normally I would have hatred running through my veins with stuff like that. But thankfully that is not a rom com which are the worst kind of films. I hate them. All that bollocks between a stupid w**kers and a rejected bimbo. I am sick of it. You know the drill. I hate you, no I hate you, we can't get on, then we do, then the dim wit bloke catches the girl when she slips on some snow and they become in a blood vomiting snog. Give it a bleeding rest. It's boring. Pretty Woman is a drama, with romance. I'll settle for that. Gere is one of those actors who can and does make you root for him and he is totally believable. I really must have a look on Amazon and get more of his films.

In Arbitrage, Gere plays a Gordon Geko type gezzer who is obsessed with money and power. But it all changes when a multi million dollar business deal is going sour and his family life questionable, he becomes involved in a fatal car accident while driving his bit on the side to a retreat for a bit of purple veined ram attack. Without giving too much up, Gear is in real s**t with his company heading the same as Woolworths and looking like he will be nicked for manslaugher. He looks stressed and harassed throughout the film rather that a smarmy knob end he could have been. The film is very tense and all the performances are very good. Even the cop, Tim Roth who, who in my opionion is mostly rubbish in everything he is in.

The lies, the skulking around trying to hide the truth from every man and his dog. It all really works well and I thoroughly recommend this film to all. It was nice to watch a film that was not hyped up and actually delivers. Better that some stupid blockbusters and a great thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Arbitrage [Blu-ray]
Arbitrage [Blu-ray] by Nicholas Jarecki (Blu-ray - 2013)
£4.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews