Customer Reviews


116 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gere excels
Anyone who has read any of my earlier reviews of Richard Gere movies would see that I'm not his greatest fan. But my goodness, he is excellent in this tale of greed, dishonesty and deceit.

He plays Robert Miller, a financier with a previous highly successful hedge fund history who makes a bad investment decision that is in desperate need of a business merger to...
Published 14 months ago by Jones the Film

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Arbitrage DVD
It is probably the best role for a long time that Richard Gere has undertaken, he is very, very good in it, as is Susan Sarandon. However, the ending is poor and ruins the 75% excellence of the rest of the movie. It could have been a top notch film, anyway its great for a rainy Saturday afternoon, and the Pretty Woman star is certainly watchable.
Published 14 months ago by Helena


‹ Previous | 14 5 612 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Miller's house of cards-theatrical release review, 21 Sep 2013
By 
L. Power "nlp trainer" (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Arbitrage [DVD] (DVD)
Legendary billionaire hedge fund magnate Robert Miller appears to have it all, great wealth, great family, supportive wife, a pending sale of his business empire, and a charming if somewhat cloying French mistress. But disaster can lurk behind the most distinguished facade waiting for its golden opportunity.

Borrowing $450 million off the books to cover up fraudulent accounting, testing an impatient hard nosed friend come debtor for his sake, negotiating the sale of his business to a businessman blowing hot and cold, a frustrated and dangerous mistress, inquiring auditors, a loyal curious daughter played by Brit Marling, a doltish son, an entitled wife played by Susan Sarandon who may be working her own Arbitrage. This creates much stress in a billionaire's life.

Anything can go wrong. The inciting event occurs early when his mistress dies in a Chappaquiddick style accident while he drives becoming the tragic glass through which the movie is imbibed.

Miller faces a succession of moral dilemmas. The choices being black and white he somehow selects the moral grey. You may wonder what you would do in his situation. If you're like me you suspect he might do the right thing under different circumstances.

The person who rescues him from this situation becomes the lever the police detective played by Tim Roth use to get at Miller. Interestingly, the detective does not pursue people of wealth directly, but puts the poor weak link to the most difficult test even illegally manipulating the legal system against him.

Susan Sarandon looked spectacular in this movie I thought and performed excellently and effortleslly in her scenes. I have preferred Brit Marling's performances in her Indie movies such as Another Earth and Sound of my Voice.

I found this to be quite an entertaining and engrossing movie which kept me guessing throughout. Undoubtedly, there are shades of Madoff and other financial scandals which inspired Arbitrage. What gets me is that Miller is fully aware what is right and wrong. It's not like he is a bad guy, and certainly his behavior is understandable, and yet I feel a sense of conflict about him.

On the one hand you want him to get get caught or take responsibility. On the other hand you find yourself rooting for him to find the light at the end of the tunnel and get out of the mess. Kudos to the writer director Nicholas Jarecki for doing such a good job with this.

The golden rule: he who has the gold makes the rules.

Does Miller learn from his experiences? If a movie does not give you the type of closure you expect, it may be a good thing because that is what happens in life, and life can be full of surprises,can it not?

I think this is one of the best performances of Gere's career. It achieved a modest $2 million on its opening weekend on a very limited release in 197 theaters yet managed an impressive $10,000 per theater. Why it was opened in such a limited way is somewhat of a puzzle as it's quite a good movie.

I think most people who like the premise will love the movie and I hope this was helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars well written well acted, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arbitrage [DVD] (DVD)
good quality product, this is a very enjoyable film with many twists and surprises. A great cast.
A must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A clever character piece, 18 Sep 2013
This review is from: Arbitrage [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Arbitrage transcends its dull title to grip with a tale of a morally compromised workaholic who accidentally causes a terrible accident and then runs from the scene to try to cover his back and save his firm.
Gere earns his paycheque as the centre of the movie, powering through scenes as a distracted father and husband who is so focussed on getting his company through a major deal to cover up his shady dealings that he fails to see his world falling apart around him.
The crime thriller strand as the accident is investigated is excellently handled, and gives the film a sense of pace as the net begins to tighten around him inch by inch, and he deftly spends his time dodging threats and trying to negotiate his way out of trouble.
However, more interesting than that is the way the plot brings out the layers of his character, as he gradually transforms from a slippery charlatan into someone who starts to show a few grains of humanity. Like a typical house of cards thriller, the joy is in seeing his carefully constructed lies start to crumble and watching the character try to fix it all before it caves in on him.
Yes it's about finance (a little) but its more about moral ambiguity and how far the characters will let it stretch before 'a bit' becomes 'too much'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping entertainment, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arbitrage [DVD] (DVD)
Thought-provoking film full of stellar performances! No easy answers and complex characterisation - a very real-life feel to the whole drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars arbritage review, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arbitrage [DVD] (DVD)
I was very happy with this dvd.the sound and picture quality was great and I always like Richard gere.very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great twist at the end ..., 9 Sep 2013
By 
L. K. Rowley (Warwickshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arbitrage [DVD] (DVD)
good plot. Gere is still so handsome..and in this.. so ingeniously duplicitous ! Susan Sarandon is great in this too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars arbitrage, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arbitrage [DVD] (DVD)
an excellent film by a young director. the acting and settings are all quite interesting and the story is poignant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very exciting, 6 Sep 2013
By 
Mrs. M. D. Berlin (Lanzarote Canary isles) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arbitrage [DVD] (DVD)
very enjoyable , but often difficult to make out the words even though my English is excellent...too much mumbling ...thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as expected, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arbitrage [DVD] (DVD)
Very disappointed in the story line. Could predict from the beginning where the story was leading. Richard Gere as usual very good in the role but very similar type casting to his usual films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arbitrage [DVD] (DVD)
This is a really good film. The ending takes you a bit by surprise but Richard Gere's acting is extremely good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 612 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Arbitrage [DVD]
Arbitrage [DVD] by Nicholas Jarecki (DVD - 2013)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews