Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gere excels
Anyone who has read any of my earlier reviews of Richard Gere movies would see that I'm not his greatest fan. But my goodness, he is excellent in this tale of greed, dishonesty and deceit.

He plays Robert Miller, a financier with a previous highly successful hedge fund history who makes a bad investment decision that is in desperate need of a business merger to...
Published 12 months ago by Jones the Film

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Arbitrage DVD
It is probably the best role for a long time that Richard Gere has undertaken, he is very, very good in it, as is Susan Sarandon. However, the ending is poor and ruins the 75% excellence of the rest of the movie. It could have been a top notch film, anyway its great for a rainy Saturday afternoon, and the Pretty Woman star is certainly watchable.
Published 12 months ago by Helena


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 412 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Simple storyline, 9 Feb 2014
By 
Dave (Cambridgeshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arbitrage [DVD] (DVD)
Good film but with no great surprises. Richard Gere plays a good part (Robert Miller) and the storyline is believable albeit quite simple. Just a easy watch that won't shock or surprise you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Power is the best alibi, 8 Feb 2014
This review is from: Arbitrage [DVD] (DVD)
I rented this film as it starred Brit Marling (Another Earth), a great set of actors like Susan Sarandon, Tim Roth. Richard Gere (Mothman Prophecies) is great as the billionaire businessman trying to keep his world apart. Good soundtrack. Letitia Casta stars also. If you like thriller/drama then this is for you. You might also like The Ides Of March.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of Richard Gere's best efforts, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arbitrage [DVD] (DVD)
Truly excellent,gripping,thriller,which demonstrates just how quickly things can go wrong,even "at the top",because of a,stupid infatuation which leads to a tragic accident,and the subsequent attempt to cover it up. The resulting "train smash' in Gere's personal life,and the realisation that his doting,complaisant wife -Susan Sarandon-and daughter, are really tigers in their own right,is so traumatic,that I found myself shifting around in my chair,and looking sideways at my wife,to see her reaction to it! This movie is a salutary lesson for all "successful and irresistible",businessmen,who want to have it all.or think they've got it all,and the way in which developing circumstanes drive him into a corner,where survival is the only thing that's left,is terrifying!
I won't reveal the ending and spoil it for anybody. Personally,I thought it was perfect,and realistic too,but I reckon there will be dialogue and controversy over it in many lounges or living rooms,on a wet sunday afternoon,once the family has seen it,and the nightmare is over!
Highly Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb story, 3 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. B. R. Good (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arbitrage [DVD] (DVD)
A film about a bastard who isn't really that bad. In the end you start to question what he actually did wrong.

Fast and exciting story, should have been bigger than it was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable., 31 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arbitrage [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed this film, not uplifting, but good acting and situations - interesting plot so very believable of today's human mixed up lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great !, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arbitrage [DVD] (DVD)
Another gift for my sister who is an avid Richard Gere fan so,she was absolutely thrilled with it,and so am i
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Richard Gere, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arbitrage [DVD] (DVD)
This man is like a fine wine, gets better as it matures lol
Get this if you're a fan, he always comes good in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars so so, 4 Dec 2013
This review is from: Arbitrage [DVD] (DVD)
one of those films that tries to squeeze 5 plots into one and sets itself up for a great finish, then only to fall flat on its face. starts out quite good but then the story seems to drag along. if the ending had been better it would have been a much better film but the finish was a complete damp squib.

overall, if you want to kill 2 hours then its watchable but nothing special here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Slow, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arbitrage [DVD] (DVD)
Just a little slow for me,prefer faster moving movies. This is just my opinion you might love it might be your favorite
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Arbitrage dvd, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arbitrage [DVD] (DVD)
Only gave four stars. Richard Gere carried this film. Wasn't a bad story, but not one that I would want to watch again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 412 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Arbitrage [DVD]
Arbitrage [DVD] by Nicholas Jarecki (DVD - 2013)
4.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews