Customer Reviews


140 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (52)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gere excels
Anyone who has read any of my earlier reviews of Richard Gere movies would see that I'm not his greatest fan. But my goodness, he is excellent in this tale of greed, dishonesty and deceit.

He plays Robert Miller, a financier with a previous highly successful hedge fund history who makes a bad investment decision that is in desperate need of a business merger to...
Published 19 months ago by Jones the Film

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OH WHAT A TANGLED WEB WE WEAVE
It is always nice to get out while you are on top, before you are caught with your finger in the pie. This is what a dishonest, cheating Robert Miller (Richard Gere) is attempting to do. This is a semi-crime drama that comes at you rather fast with no time for character build up. Robert Miller is unlikeable, but the film doesn't build character for anyone else. I found...
Published 22 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TOP GERE, 21 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arbitrage [DVD] (DVD)
What a great film this is. I normally don't go by reviews, but I saw nothing but good about this movie and went ahead and got it. I love watching Richard Gere when he is in serious roles and he can do likeable a**hole types very well. He has done some bloody good roles and his performances are brilliant. Take Brooklyns Finest, Primal Fear and Inernal Affairs. And The Jackal, despite the film not being that well received. I also love Pretty Woman, when normally I would have hatred running through my veins with stuff like that. But thankfully that is not a rom com which are the worst kind of films. I hate them. All that bollocks between a stupid w**kers and a rejected bimbo. I am sick of it. You know the drill. I hate you, no I hate you, we can't get on, then we do, then the dim wit bloke catches the girl when she slips on some snow and they become in a blood vomiting snog. Give it a bleeding rest. It's boring. Pretty Woman is a drama, with romance. I'll settle for that. Gere is one of those actors who can and does make you root for him and he is totally believable. I really must have a look on Amazon and get more of his films.

In Arbitrage, Gere plays a Gordon Geko type gezzer who is obsessed with money and power. But it all changes when a multi million dollar business deal is going sour and his family life questionable, he becomes involved in a fatal car accident while driving his bit on the side to a retreat for a bit of purple veined ram attack. Without giving too much up, Gear is in real s**t with his company heading the same as Woolworths and looking like he will be nicked for manslaugher. He looks stressed and harassed throughout the film rather that a smarmy knob end he could have been. The film is very tense and all the performances are very good. Even the cop, Tim Roth who, who in my opionion is mostly rubbish in everything he is in.

The lies, the skulking around trying to hide the truth from every man and his dog. It all really works well and I thoroughly recommend this film to all. It was nice to watch a film that was not hyped up and actually delivers. Better that some stupid blockbusters and a great thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Arbitrage, 22 July 2013
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Arbitrage [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A stylish thriller with a top class performance from Richard Gere, Arbitrage ticks many boxes but is missing a spark to elevate beyond average.

Robert Millar is a hugely successful businessman. On the surface he has everything he could ever want, a family, big house and lots of money. In the shadows though he is indulging in an affair and committing fraud with his investors' money. So far so standard and this is the main problem with Arbitrage, it doesn't offer anything new. However it is efficiently and professionally filmed which makes it more than watchable.

The story is engaging and at first it seems that all Robert is doing is covering up a tragic accident so that his affair doesn't become public knowledge. As we follow this story his daughter is busy having a peek at the latest accounts and realises something altogether different is happening. So from a nice easy life to a complete car crash (quite literally) in the space of a few hours, we witness Robert's life unravel before our very eyes.

Gere's performance is one his best. He perfectly encapsulates the businessman and the family man switching from a cold professional point of view to an even frostier personal point of view when with his family. He simmers before exploding. Susan Surandon is a little wasted in a role that only requires her to be the typical doting wife who knows her husband plays away but wants to keep the family together and along with her lifestyle intact.

All in all an interesting, entertaining drama which doesn't show off anything new, but polishes a well worn genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So So, 13 July 2013
This review is from: Arbitrage [DVD] (DVD)
So-so. The film follows the imploding life of hedge-fund tycoon Robert Miller (Richard Gere) as he tries to stay afloat and out of jail. The problem is that at no point did I feel any empathy towards him. Mediocre plot. Good acting. Glossy production values.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arbitrage [DVD] (DVD)
Richard Gere is good in this but plot relatively weak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Arbitage, 21 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arbitrage [DVD] (DVD)
Again I really enjoyed this film. It had a good story line which held your attention throughout the entire film. My advice would be buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Arbitrage - DVD, 17 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arbitrage [DVD] (DVD)
an ingenious presentation as to how power and money can corrupt. The expression and presentation of the situation was portayed to the full by the excellent casting, and acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed ....., 13 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arbitrage [DVD] (DVD)
In the ending, but then, that's life I guess. The characters were All believable and the story did flow along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gere is brilliant in this role, 6 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arbitrage [DVD] (DVD)
This film did not get the distribution it deserved. Very clever plot with many twists. Supporting actors are well cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dvd, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Arbitrage [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent film worth watching. Would recommend this film as a good viewing. Richard agree is always worth watching. Good delivery service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cheats never prosper?, 28 April 2014
By 
still searching (MK UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Arbitrage [DVD] (DVD)
Robert Miller (Richard Gere) is, on the face of it, a very lucky man: a man who has everything; successful business empire, reputation as a philanthropist, loving family and beautiful young mistress. As the movie opens we see him returning to the bosom of his family as they gather in the patriarchal mansion to celebrate his 60th birthday.

But, naturally, all is not how it seems. In the smoke and mirrors world of hedge fund management shady doings are quite often the order of the day and Miller's world is in imminent danger of implosion. In the aftermath of the global financial meltdown his company is in trouble: desperate for a lifeline he enters into a potentially life-saving investment, which, for political reasons, fails to deliver. He's out of pocket to the tune of 400 million dollars and resorts to `cooking the books' at his shareholders' expense and behind the back of his chief investment officer, who happens to be his daughter. Before he's found out he takes out a short term loan for said amount from a friend.

The answer, he thinks, is to off-load his company before his shenanigans come to light and he finds a buyer for the right price. However, for some reason, the buyer is stalling and his loan is due for repayment. He decides to take refuge in (probably literally) his beautiful young mistress (Laetitia Casta) and the pair drive her car to one of his houses. On the way tragedy strikes and misery is piled upon misery. The car hits a road-side barrier and overturns.

Failing to report the accident he limps away and is driven off by an acquaintance he calls from a phone booth in a nearby petrol station. The police arrive, primarily in the person of NYPD detective, Michael Bryer (Tim Roth) and begin to think that something is not quite right! Bryer soon starts making two and two equal five and doggedly pursues the clues until they, surprizingly quickly, lead to Miller's door.

This is a very sharply observed film with a brilliantly nuanced, mature performance from Gere who, thankfully, seems to have jettisoned the early mannered ticks from his acting toolbox and handles transitions from smug insouciance to crippling paralysis with consummate ease. He's very well supported, as might be expected, by Susan Sarandon, in what amounts to little more than a cameo, who plays his knowing wife; prepared to look the other way so long as her charitable concerns are funded, and Tim Roth, heavily influenced; it appears, by the Detective Columbo school of acting.

What basically, then, barely amounts to any evolution from Edward Lewis (Pretty Woman) to Robert Miller in character context, amounts to revolution in terms of Gere's acting quality, especially when compared with the relatively recent paltry offerings such as, for example, the truly awful Nights in Iolanthe!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Arbitrage [DVD]
Arbitrage [DVD] by Nicholas Jarecki (DVD - 2013)
£5.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews