Customer Reviews


340 Reviews
5 star:
 (173)
4 star:
 (80)
3 star:
 (47)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 66 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but...
The dock looks smart, holds the phone well, and has a quality feel about it. However, it's way too expensive for what it is essentially a bit of black plastic - especially as there's no charger or cable included. When you connect the dock to power and drop your phone in, the home screen rotates to landscape... as long as there's power to it. Disconnect the power and the...
Published 14 months ago by  

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars First crap Sony product that i've bought.
After a month, the dock holder became loose and the phone would not charge unless held upright with a support (in this case the phone cover). Then later the contacts did not connect properly to charge the phone even with the support and required a lot of readjusting to charge it. Then today the contact on my actual phone came off because of how problematic the dock has...
Published 1 month ago by Martin C


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

64 of 66 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but..., 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Desktop Charging Dock for Xperia Z - Black (Wireless Phone Accessory)
The dock looks smart, holds the phone well, and has a quality feel about it. However, it's way too expensive for what it is essentially a bit of black plastic - especially as there's no charger or cable included. When you connect the dock to power and drop your phone in, the home screen rotates to landscape... as long as there's power to it. Disconnect the power and the home screen flips back to portrait. More frustratingly it won't charge from my laptop USB socket - it must be a mains charger. I bought this to sit my phone neatly next to my laptop without having to connect it to the mains power - so it fails on that score.

UPDATE: One month on... I now keep this by the bed to charge the phone during the night and for that it is perfect. When docked, I have the XperiaZ 'Smart Connect' set up to automatically turn off wifi, data and sound etc. and initiate the alarm clock (which over-rides the silent mode!). A slightly different use to what I initially wanted it for, but I've adapted my expectations! It's actually ideal by the bed and saves me constantly opening/closing the USB flap for charging. All in all, I'm now happy with this purchase, so I'm upgrading my rating of 3 stars to 4 stars. Still reckon it's over-priced, though!

UPDATE August 2014: Still using this by the bed, and still find it really useful. However, after a software update my XperiaZ1 wouldn't 'stay awake' in the dock - after a couple of minutes the screen turned off, and I was left with no clock to look at during the night. I got round this with a simple app called 'caffeine' which is free in the Play Store. Works a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth Consideration, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At first glance a lot of money for a matchbox (remember them) sized piece of plastic but it works so well - especially when used in conjunction with the Smart Connect app to alter the phone settings whilst docked. A good solid clunk when the dock is engaged, holding the unit at the perfect viewing angle and an anti-slip treatment on the base that stop it skating around the desk complete the setup. Free postage and packing, and the fact that this is about £8 cheaper from Total Digital, made this accessory an obvious choice. Please be aware this ships with no cable so you will need your own micro-USB to plug into the rear of the unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars First crap Sony product that i've bought., 16 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After a month, the dock holder became loose and the phone would not charge unless held upright with a support (in this case the phone cover). Then later the contacts did not connect properly to charge the phone even with the support and required a lot of readjusting to charge it. Then today the contact on my actual phone came off because of how problematic the dock has been and due to the constant readjusting I had to do. The phone still works fine and the charging contact piece fitted back into the phone but I doubt that the phone is waterproof anymore.

Overall I'd say don't bother buying the charging dock. It does look nice and fancy but it's pretty crap to be honest. You're better off charging it straight from the mini usb port. In my experience Sony products and accessories tend to be excellent but this is product is grade A rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 3 Oct 2013
This review is from: Sony Desktop Charging Dock for Xperia Z - Black (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I ordered this yesterday as my charging port broke and would not charge i could not be without a phone. It fits perfectly and that price is certainly alot cheaper than what I would have to pay to get my phone fixed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I love the design of the z2 and this dock is ..., 1 Oct 2014
Quick Review:
Stylishly docks your phone with no fuss magnetic guided connector saving you having to open any flaps for charging.

Longer review:
My first impressions on this dock taking it out of the box were, "damn that's small" followed quickly by "its very light".
I love the design of the z2 and this dock is styled well to match the phone and really looks the part from a distance.

Pricing is what i have knocked one of my two stars off for. There is no special technology here, its a dock that converts a mini USB connector to Sony's own proprietary magnetic connector,covered in a plastic box with rubber grip on the bottom. There are no lights on the device to signal standby or charging (a feature some like) , there are no audio or video outputs on the back, just a lone mini USB input for the included short cable with no included mains plug.

The second star removed is how light and small the device is. The rubber grip on the base does prevent some slipping but with the lack of any weight a kink in the cable can make the whole dock tilt up easily. Secondly because the connection is magnetic, when you take out your phone you have to hold the dock with one hand to stop the dock coming with it too. (i have fixed this issue with some blue tack under the base but for the asking price this shouldn't need aftermarket fixing)

Also a word of warning, this dock will not charge in almost any USB port ive tried, it MUST be mains powered only which makes the lack of an included power adapter even more strange.

I would value this dock at about 7-10 pounds for what it does and how it feels. Considering many have bought this for up as far as 45 pounds is staggering to me.

Conclusion:
There is nothing wrong with this dock, as long as that is all you want. I would recommend grabbing this on a deal or if you want the same functionality just but the magnetic charge cable alone or a third party charger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Official Product., 7 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When it arrived, before i even got it out of the packaging i was questioning its legitimacy. as it didn't come in the box and was just jammed into a bag. when i started using it i immediately encountered problems with it. When the phone was plugged in, it would constantly flash on and off saying it was charging. Then five minutes later it would not work at all. After some time i tried again and still nothing. The build quality didn't seem to be the best i have seen considering it is meant to be a Sony product. My guess this is a knock-off product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's expensive, but it works... sort of., 31 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So, what should we expect from a Sony magnetic charging dock?

1. It's Sony, so it should be well built - it is (hooray).
2. It's Sony, so it should be well designed - it is... well almost (well, almost hooray then).
3. It's Sony, so it should be twice the price of the competition - it is (damn it).

To be honest, I expected the first and the last points to be true. Sony always make sturdy tech that does what you'd expect for twice the price you'd actually like to pay. Unfortunately, it's let down by point number 2 and it's here that it loses a star.

First the good stuff: it's a magnetic charger, so you drop your phone into the surprisingly neat little cradle, then slide it along until it clicks into place and starts charging. It's so easy, you can do it in the dark with one hand (no mean feat with a phone this big). Okay, it doesn't come with a USB lead or a plug, but the phone did and presumably you used these to charge it before, so there's no real problem there. All good so far.

Now, here's the rub: it's advertised as having a clever removable insert that you can swap for a bigger one that accommodates your phone when it's in a case. The only problem is that very few cases are actually thin enough to work with it. In fact, as far as I know only 3 on the market work (Sony's own "Style" Case, CaseMate's "Barely There" and some German case that costs almost as much as the phone did). If you're going to sell a dock that works with cases on (and please do continue to do so), why not offer a little more flexibility? Don't ask me how. You're Sony, figure it out for yourselves - that's why we pay you twice as much as the competition.

All in all, it works. It might just be worth checking out a cheaper alternative next time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, avoid., 6 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just not fit for purpose. The phone fits in fine, but the magnets rarely align, and even when they do it doesn't charge the device 90% of the time. You then have to wiggle it about, at which point the cheap piece of plastic junk has moved from the spot you set it down at, meaning you need to move it back again, likely breaking the connection you tried so hard to attain.

Awful product, avoid at all costs.

They could have made it so much better if they'd simply added some actual weight to the dock, making it stable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
* needs to plugged in - does not work when connected to pc - not plug provided
* does not work when phone has a case
* so light the the cable controls where it is positioned on a surface
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent magnetic charging dock., 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Simple to use. Highly recommend it as it saves the hassle of opening your port of your phone each time you want to charge. Its also great as a stand for your phone on your desk. The only thing I would say is that it is pretty expensive for what it is, £15 would be a more idea price. But if you want to protect your phone, then it gives you a peace of mind that dust isn't going to pour in while you have that lid open during the charge or the worry of liquid spilling from any accidents. Pretty good product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews