Customer Reviews


964 Reviews
5 star:
 (532)
4 star:
 (266)
3 star:
 (98)
2 star:
 (35)
1 star:
 (33)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just could not put it down totally gripped
I chose this book because it was in the top ten best sellers on Amazon. I first read the sample and just had to download the whole book. Yes the book is shocking in places and I'm not easily shocked but this was gripping. I guess the contents are very topical. I can quite understand why some readers may find the contents scary but I think it was probably one of the best...
Published 8 months ago by Kimmy

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars this contains too much badly written soft core porn
I don't usually bother doing reviews of books or films as they are largely a matter of personal taste, but I think this book should come with a warning that large tracts of it consist of badly written soft-core porn worthy of a nomination to the Literary Review's Bad Sex Award, for example its special emphasis on descriptions such as "plum like glans nestled between her...
Published 7 months ago by Ms. Billygoatgruff


‹ Previous | 190 91 9297 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Must read!, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Angels (Katie Maguire 2) (Kindle Edition)
This is a good story which I found compelling reading - I have now passed it to my husband who can't put it down. The story is quite up to date in as much as it concerns the catholic church and the way they treated the children put in their care.
I found this a really good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars graham masterton brilliant, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Angels (Katie Maguire 2) (Kindle Edition)
gripping from start to finish story kept you guessing till the end very clever writing and great characters excellent read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Broken Angels, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Angels (Katie Maguire 2) (Kindle Edition)
What a journey that was. Found myself holding my breath fir long periods whilst reading. One of the best books I have ever read and I've read a fair few.
Hope there's another on the way .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant but Gruesome, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Angels (Katie Maguire 2) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent read. Even the irish accent comes accross. Well written but not for the faint hearted. 'White Bones' was excellent and I would like to read some more of his books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, gripping story, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Angels (Katie Maguire 2) (Kindle Edition)
I decided to buy this book after reading the reviews. As this was the 2nd book, I got the first one too and read them straight after each other. They were both great reads, gripping story lines and I enjoyed the Irishness of the books. This book finds DI Katie Maguire investigating a series of gruesome murders of priests. Overall, the book was most enjoyable, but there were a few things that annoyed me. The worst was the fact that in book 1, Katie was one of 7 children with 6 brothers yet in the second she was one of 7 children with 6 sisters. How did that happen? Also,no self respecting woman that I know would even consider going to work after a night of passion without taking a shower!! I did enjoy the books though and would recommend them, I'm waiting for the 3rd in the series to appear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good but graphic, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Angels (Katie Maguire 2) (Kindle Edition)
This is the second Katie Maguire book, and it is as good as the first. There are some graphic scenes of torture and the descriptions of Katie's sex life are superfluous and bordering on the worst sex scenes I have read.
However the crime element of the novel is well written, and the story of a woman trying to deal with work and home rings true. Not a very good advert for the Catholic Church in Ireland, but then again it deserves everything it gets, IMO. Read this if you enjoy a good crime novel, with strong characters and an interesting plot. Hopefully this will not be the last in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars broken angels, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Angels (Katie Maguire 2) (Kindle Edition)
I thought this book was brilliant I just love katie maquire she is the tops I hope there is another follow up sequel of what happens to her next.Some of the reading is a bit near the mark but when all said and done it portrays the characters in the book. I couldn't put it down and I would recommend this and cant wait for another story regarding Katie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 22 Sep 2013
This review is from: Broken Angels (Katie Maguire 2) (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book and look forward to the next one in the series . Gripping from the beginning .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Angels (Katie Maguire 2) (Kindle Edition)
I thought the story itself was good but there were A LOT of similarities between this book and the first in the series x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping!, 21 Sep 2013
This review is from: Broken Angels (Katie Maguire 2) (Kindle Edition)
Masterton serves up another compelling read in the Katie Maguire series. If you like crime stories with a strong female detective who happens to have her own personal issues you'll enjoy Broken Angels. This author is famous for horror so expect the crimes to be pretty gruesome because they are. So if you aren't too squeamish it's a great read. It's also a bonus to have a crime novel set in Cork with an Irish feel instead of the usual London or the U.S. As good as the first in the series. Looking forward to more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 190 91 9297 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Broken Angels (Katie Maguire 2)
1.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews