Customer Reviews


1,071 Reviews
5 star:
 (599)
4 star:
 (294)
3 star:
 (108)
2 star:
 (37)
1 star:
 (33)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


89 of 93 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good read
I really enjoyed reading this book, following Katie Maguire as she runs a race against time to catch whoever is responsible for a series of brutal slayings of local priests in Cork. First though, she has to figure out why they are being singled out, all she knows is that they were involved in events going back to 1983 involving the abuse of children in their care. I have...
Published 15 months ago by ElaineG

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars this contains too much badly written soft core porn
I don't usually bother doing reviews of books or films as they are largely a matter of personal taste, but I think this book should come with a warning that large tracts of it consist of badly written soft-core porn worthy of a nomination to the Literary Review's Bad Sex Award, for example its special emphasis on descriptions such as "plum like glans nestled between her...
Published 11 months ago by Ms. Billygoatgruff


‹ Previous | 1 2108 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

89 of 93 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good read, 31 Aug 2013
By 
ElaineG (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Angels (Katie Maguire Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed reading this book, following Katie Maguire as she runs a race against time to catch whoever is responsible for a series of brutal slayings of local priests in Cork. First though, she has to figure out why they are being singled out, all she knows is that they were involved in events going back to 1983 involving the abuse of children in their care. I have to say, that this is not a book for the faint hearted. The slayings are brutal and sadistic, full of torture and described in great detail. I found myself wincing quite a lot!

I really like the character of Katie. She has forged a successful career for herself in the Garda, is bright, intelligent, caring and feminine. I love the way she picked out what clothes to wear in order to make the right impression on certain occasions. She is also at something of a crossroads in her personal life, which made good reading and a break from the gory bloodfest going on all around her. The book is full of very good, realistic characters who are interesting to read about. The story flows well, for the most part, as the tale unfolds on the page. It is at times brutal but can also be passionate and every so often there are those little one liners that you often come across in Irish books that just put a great smile on your face.

However, I have to say that the read was spoiled for me by a lot of editing errors, mainly words missing which interrupted my reading quite a bit. There were also a couple of silly things that bugged me - at one point Katie had to speak on the telephone to a Garda officer in another division to order him to lend one of her officers a squad car, yet the next day she didn't know anything about it, as well as a fireman who wore sunglasses in the middle of the night!

All in all though, this is a really gripping page-turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just could not put it down totally gripped, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Angels (Katie Maguire Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I chose this book because it was in the top ten best sellers on Amazon. I first read the sample and just had to download the whole book. Yes the book is shocking in places and I'm not easily shocked but this was gripping. I guess the contents are very topical. I can quite understand why some readers may find the contents scary but I think it was probably one of the best books I have ever read. It makes a change not being able to predict the ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horrific storyline unfolds......may upset some, 3 Oct 2013
By 
Ms. J. A. Evans (Swansea UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Angels (Katie Maguire Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This was my first 'Katie Maguire' book and I was not dissappointed. The story is graphically told but in a sensitive manner. This may upset people who have been the victims of abuse and could upset catholics. It has a believable main character who's life is not straight forward and adds to the complexities of the story.Highly recommended - I couldn't put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous., 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Angels (Katie Maguire Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I absolutely love the Katie Maguire books-the stories are very clever and deal with unusual subjects.
Although police procedurals,the back stories of the cases being investigated are fascinating-more please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars this contains too much badly written soft core porn, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Angels (Katie Maguire Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I don't usually bother doing reviews of books or films as they are largely a matter of personal taste, but I think this book should come with a warning that large tracts of it consist of badly written soft-core porn worthy of a nomination to the Literary Review's Bad Sex Award, for example its special emphasis on descriptions such as "plum like glans nestled between her lips" and other rather unrepeatable but hilariously bad descriptions of the act and descriptions of the participants' intimate organs.

These are all totally surplus to the plot.

I see from Wikipedia that the author used to be an editor of Mayfair and Penthouse, and certainly there is an air of "letters about readers' wives" about these passages.

I downloaded this book because I wanted to read a detective/murder novel, not smutty soft porn passages that resemble something written by a spotty adolescent. I'm so bored by its soft porn meanderings that I am abandoning it 30% of the way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as first one., 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Angels (Katie Maguire Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I read the first Katie Maguire and really enjoyed it but this seemed to go off half way I thought, and found I was getting a bit bored at times, which is a shame, I am a fan of Graham Masterton and usually love all his books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Broken Angels, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Angels (Katie Maguire Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I couldn't put this story down. I wondered how it got through the catholic censorship.
I would be careful who I recomended it to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the first in the series, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Angels (Katie Maguire Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the first book in the series and was looking forward to reading this one, but I have to say I didn't enjoy it as much.Maybe you can have too much of a good thing, the "Irishness" if thats a proper word of the first book I found charming, but I started to get annoyed by it in this book, and felt it was overplayed,and I also didn't like Katie as much , and the other characters didn't stand out either.I might have found the descriptions of the murders in the first book hard to read but I found some things such as the rat in this book quite disgusting and I'm not easily shocked but I didn't like it.Its a shame because I thought I had found a new series I would enjoy but I don't think I will be reading any more in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, cant wait til the next one., 3 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Angels (Katie Maguire Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Eagerly awaited second katie maguire book in series. Totally hooked from the beginning and every bit as good as white bones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Really?, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Angels (Katie Maguire Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I don't think that Graham Masterton has ever met a woman. (Why do I need 9 more words? Job done).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2108 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Broken Angels (Katie Maguire Book 2)
£2.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews