Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty comprehensive history.
This history is written by someone intimately connected with the Middle East, and this is evident in the attention to detail and accuracy of the narrative. I found it a bit stodgy in parts, but persevered, and despite having spent more than thirty years myself in the Middle East, it gave me an insight into areas of their history I had previously been unaware of.
Published 18 months ago by coldwaterjohn

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction to Arab history
I really enjoyed this concise history dealing with the salient points of Arab history without becoming to bogged down in details and facts
Published 1 month ago by BOLGEY


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty comprehensive history., 13 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This history is written by someone intimately connected with the Middle East, and this is evident in the attention to detail and accuracy of the narrative. I found it a bit stodgy in parts, but persevered, and despite having spent more than thirty years myself in the Middle East, it gave me an insight into areas of their history I had previously been unaware of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arab History, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
`A Concise history of the Arabs' is just that - an excellent short history of how what exists in the Middle East today has developed. It does so simply and accurately in 350 pages and looks at the history and divisions within Islam and the role of western colonialism in the creation of the Arab states. It finishes with the so-called Arab Spring which itself is the start of more change and conflict and explains the basis for the conflict between Shia's and Sunni's, and between `literal' Islamists (rather than the sloppy Islamic Fundamentalists that western news agencies prefer to use) and those who want secular democracies.
It makes it clear that the Zionists elements in Israel have always wanted the whole of what was known as Palestine as a Jewish Homeland and that the frustration of the two state solution will increase tension and give birth to a Palestinian struggle to create a non-sectarian state for both Palestinians and Israeli's between the Jordan and the Mediterranean.
This book is a timely contribution to anyone who wants to understand what is happening throughout the Middle East today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent history if the Arabs, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Concise History of the Arabs (Kindle Edition)
Essential reading for everyone today as the Sunni and Shia divide affects all of us - an excellent study thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Factual account of the Arabs in the Middle East, 20 April 2014
By 
Mrs. M. E. Clarke (Guildford UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There is an almost bewiIdering number of books on the Arabs, but I bought this one because it was the most recent. In fact there is little on the present situation, though more on what led to it. Nonetheless, this is a scholarly and indeed concise history of a vast period of time. The author is mainly concerned with 'the areas east of the Mediterranean, south of the Taurus mountains and north and west of the deserts and steppes of the Arabian Peninsula ', and with the lack of understanding on the part of the West, in particular the U.S.
If possible, I would recommend prospective purchasers to read the Preface. McHugo makes it clear that the book is not a cultural or sociological history. I would have liked those aspects to be covered, and think I will have to read another book which covers them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A modern history, 24 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Concise History of the Arabs (Kindle Edition)
Was enormously disappointed when after the opening chapters on the first days of Islam the narrative quickened to the point that Napoleon was soon landing in Egypt, but from here on is the book's real strength. 'Concise' it is not - key figures and shifts in Arab anti-colonial, nationalist and Islamist movements are examined alongside discussion of the tensions under autocracy that exploded into the Arab Spring. I thought I knew these areas well but I learned a lot.

What baffles me is why the author / publisher didn't call it The Arabs In The Modern World or similar and pitch it as a book for people who want a deeper understanding of the region today. Not the book if you are looking for the glories of medieval Baghdad or Cordoba.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A book that everyone should read, 13 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Concise History of the Arabs (Kindle Edition)
This is just the book if you're trying to fill in the holes in a patchy understanding of events in the Middle East: concise while thorough, and importantly, impartial: when a state or leader or whoever/whatever is being a jerk, whether Arab or Western, McHugo makes no bones about it. And while I knew the Arabs had been given a really raw deal, I can see now that it's even worse than I'd dreamt. If only everyone would read this book, it would go along way towards encouraging positive change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars but I'm a lot more learned and have a better understanding of the Arab nation thanks to this good ..., 5 Feb. 2015
By 
L. T. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Concise History of the Arabs (Kindle Edition)
What a concise history it is I'm a Jew and thought it was about time I found out more about the Arabs and Mohamed. I would not be able to sit a degree with what I've read, but I'm a lot more learned and have a better understanding of the Arab nation thanks to this good read. Len
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, knowledgeable and as the title suggests - concise ..., 16 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Concise History of the Arabs (Kindle Edition)
Interesting, knowledgeable and as the title suggests - concise. An invaluable read for anyone who wants to try and understand the Middle East - how it was in the past and is at the present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction to Arab history, 24 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Concise History of the Arabs (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this concise history dealing with the salient points of Arab history without becoming to bogged down in details and facts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 22 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Concise History of the Arabs (Kindle Edition)
Good and very informative read. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Concise History of the Arabs
£5.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews