Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A funny, scary and brilliant few hours' read
This is a worrying prognostication from Mark Steyn, wrought with excellent humour and a readable style.

Exercising the demographic bee in his bonnet (as he has since September 11th 2001), Mark Steyn says that America (and, slightly less so, Australia) is an exception to the modern social-democratic society of the West, whose self-indulgent and secularist...
Published on 20 Sep 2009 by G. Imroth

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very flawed analysis, but one that should be considered nonetheless.
In this provocative and darkly humorous book Mark Steyn argues that Europe is undergoing a steep demographic decline. Native Europeans aren't having enough children to replace themselves; the result is that the population is shrinking with each generation. In order to fix the birth deficit, Europe has relied on immigration so as to keep the economy ticking. These new...
Published 23 months ago by Simon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A funny, scary and brilliant few hours' read, 20 Sep 2009
By 
G. Imroth (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a worrying prognostication from Mark Steyn, wrought with excellent humour and a readable style.

Exercising the demographic bee in his bonnet (as he has since September 11th 2001), Mark Steyn says that America (and, slightly less so, Australia) is an exception to the modern social-democratic society of the West, whose self-indulgent and secularist welfare-junkies are happy to leave the job of producing the next generation to Muslim immigrants. The stupidity inherent in this structural fault in our society is exacerbated beyond measure by the fact that young Muslims are becoming more strongly ideological enemies of liberal society even as they benefit from its welfare subsidies and 'one-way toleration'. For a growing population, in which there are ever more radical young than 'moderate' elders, things can only get worse.

Islam is therefore ripe for a natural take-over of Europe, though the global jihad may be considered to be a violent pre-emption of that event. Steyn's proof is the nightly riots by 'youths' (of unknown description) in Paris that go unreported by the progressive news media; the murder and intimidation of critics of Islam in Holland and Denmark; the gang-rape of women by Muslims in Norway; antisemitic attacks up a thousand-fold around Europe; and women all over Europe intimidated into wearing long dresses and head-scarves because they live on estates with large immigrant populations.

America is an exception in having a religious rather than a welfare-state birth-rate; yet even America is also vulnerable to demographic defeat.

The objection that fear of Muslim violence and political extremism is 'racist' is easily answered: we should be equally concerned if the European Union had subsidized the immigration of 20 million communists or fascists.

A welcome feature is that Mr Steyn never himself uses the word 'liberal' (in the debased American sense) to mean a socialist or a leftist, though there are a couple of quotations that do so misuse the word.

Overall, this is a funny, scary and brilliant few hours' read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent analysis of the war we face, 5 Nov 2006
In this book, Mark Steyn distills the essence of the danger that modern pluralistic societies face in confronting the Islamists and their de facto sympathisers in Western communities and cultural elites. This is a superb and persuasive summation of the of nature of the conflict which will face all of us increasingly in the future whoever we are, whether conservative or feminist, gay or straight, or anyone who is not an Islamist. Its rocketing up the bestseller charts is a sign of its relevance in these times. If you read one book this year, make this book that book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wake up call to Western societies, 9 Jun 2009
Well written and holding back no punches, this book serves as a warning to those societies which combine strong centralised state control (e.g. heavily subsidised welfare state and pensions) with a historty of high levels of immigration and multiculturalism.

The point is well made; it doesn't matter what side of the fence you sit, once society's demographics have changed, with more people arriving from, or born into other cultures not attuned to the specific Western (read British, American, Canadian, French, Dutch, etc) culture, conflict is bound to increase, as each grouping within society vies for power. And as the elites give more ground to minority cultural groups, so society will shift away from the liberal (free speech) democratic (freedom of voting choice) path it has followed for the last 60-70 years. Steyn doesn't predict a collapse of society any time soon, more an erosion of social values and expectations such that our grandchildren will be born into a world very different (i.e. a lot less free and tolerant, with far more social strife) from the one in which we live today.

A great book, soon to be banned in Britain/France/Netherlands too?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most exciting thing to come out of Canada since, er..., 9 Nov 2006
By 
Edward West "Ed West" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It's a shame you don't see much of Steyn in the UK anymore; I suppose his message is too frightening and we'd rather not hear it. His theory confirms what is obvious to anyone on the ground, among the 25-40 age group, and the facts backs up his argument. Also, he's a funny guy - "in 100 years German will only be spoken at Hitler's monday night poker game in Hell" - you can't fault him.

I suspect future generations will rate Steyn more highly than we do in the UK, assuming there are future generations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will the last European please turn out the lights?, 29 Oct 2006
By 
A. Moore "loves books" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Is Europe already doomed? Mark Steyn has collected facts he thinks proves it is.

And they are not very comfortable to read.

Europe is in a demographic death spiral. "In the fourteenth century, the Black Death wiped out a third of the Continent's population. In the twenty-first, a larger proportion will disappear--in effect, by choice. We are living through a rare moment: the self-extinction of the civilization" (p 3).

Spain's population will be cut in half every thirty-five years. "By 2050, Italy's population will have fallen by 22 percent, Bulgaria's by 36 percent, Estonia's by 52 percent" (p 11). The statistics on Russia are terrifying and grim. Not to mention that it has all those nukes rattling around, like deadly snakes slithering across a graveyard.

What will happen when the bill comes due? Can the welfare states of Europe continue to pay huge benefits to every unwed mother and aging pensioner when there is no one left to pay into the coffer? With no children to take over the jobs and pay for our hols what will happen?

Steyn points out that "There's no precedent for managed decline in societies as advanced as Europe's" (p 114). Will there be a catastrophic depression? Who knows?

This is an important book. Please read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Truth is Out There, 18 July 2008
By 
When I purchase and read the latest copy of The Western Standard, which is a Canadian conservative (yes, there is such a thing!) news magazine, the first article I always turn to is the column by Mark Steyn. For this reason, I purchased a copy of America Alone. As usual, Mr. Steyn brings to the readers attention the details that the politically correct mainstream media refuses to report. This book should be a compulsory read for all citizens of voting age in the Western democracies. Whether or not the book would open the eyes of a populace that has been fed a steady of diet of moral relativism/root cause/moral equivalance/multiculturalism by our self hating Leftist establishment would be interesting to find out.
Alas, Europe is now very likely a lost cause. Steyn's anology of the neutron bomb is right on the money; Europe within a generation or two will still have it's historic buildings and landmarks, but there just won't be any people with enlightened Western Christian based values living there. They will have been replaced by Muslims living under Sharia Law. Once that has happened, it remains to be seen whether or not the United States can survive in a Muslim dominated world bent on the destruction of The Great Satan.
The final irony is that Liberals who are so tolerant of everything will in the end find themselves living under the most intolerant religious political system ever devised.
UPDATE: Since I last posted this review on the Canadian Amazon.ca site, author Mark Steyn is being harrassed by the Canadian Human Rights Commission, a "pseudo" court operating outside the Canadian legal system which goes out of it's way to muzzle free speech. Canada, wake up. Our freedoms are under attack because we are so obsessed with political correctness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh and cry, 22 Dec 2006
By 
J. P. Maciag (Peterborough UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Those familiar with Steyn's written style and sense of purpose will enjoy the book even though many of the arguments are already well known. It is good to see them as a whole. He presents a future scenario where the world familiar to us from the later half of the 20th century has been transformed by ideological forces riding on massive demographic transformations.

Europe has an elderly native population living under the influence of a more fecund, self contained and more youthful Islamic community. The Islamic community sees no advantage in honouring the social costs or pensions that the indigenous thought were theirs by right. They also continue the process of common interest with the greater Islamic community instead of the rational, secular and `westernised' world we are accustomed to seeing as the model of all future development.

At the same time, China has suffered a population collapse, Africa is increasingly unable to lift itself from the stranglehold of corruption, tribal conflict and Islamist incursion. Russia too is just a hollow shell due to high mortality, abortion and a very low birthrate. A hollow shell that is being filled by Islamic expansion from the south. With South America continuing as a collection of uncooperative states with no global influence or reach it leaves only North America alone. More specifically, with Canada heading down the European model of self-destruction, it leaves only the United States (and probably Australia) as the last fragile enclave of the liberal, rational and tolerant world built by Christianity and the Enlightenment. Needless to say, the USA is no longer a global super-power.

The most disturbing part of this book is that Steyn does not just paint a scenario from thin air. That could be dismissed as `gloom-mongering'. He describes how that scenario is being constructed right now before our eyes...brick by well-meaning brick. His scenario is not what could happen so much as what will happen if the enlightened world does not change its mental habits and develop confidence and a sense of self-preservation.

I hope that this book is an alarm bell instead of a prediction.

I read this book on a transatlantic flight from cover to cover. I did not sleep or watch any films and it was the quickest flight I have ever been on. Some parts of the book made me laugh but when I finally arrived back in England I just wanted to cry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mark Steyn does not mince words, 23 Oct 2007
Mark Steyn can be described as the Paul Revere of the modern age. While the West sleeps, Islamic nations have been slowly infiltrating the U.S, Europe, Australia and Canada. Steyn regards Europe as a lost cause which did not notice that Muslims were multiplying much faster than Europeans so that the most popular name for newborn babes in Europe is Mohammad. He regards this change in demography, the aging population of Europe and its low birth rate as being extremely dangerous to the future of our Western culture.
He encourages us all to change that demography by having more children.
He also warns us that Muslim fundamentalists mean business when they declare they hate the West and want to destroy it. "America Alone" is similar in theme to Melanie Phillips' "Londonistan" but is much more pertinent and interesting to read.
Steyn has a brilliantly effective and humorous style that belies the seriousness of his topic. In one sentence his message is "Don't say I didn't warn you."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it. Read it. Understand it. Circulate it., 15 Nov 2006
By 
The entire British media, from what barely passes as the Right - The Spectator, The Telegraph and Mail - to the treasonous and nihilist Left - Channel 4, the BBC, Guardian and Independent, has utterly failed to understand or articulate the civilisational challenge which faces the West. Instead of rising to the challenge, the majority of Britons and vast majority of Europeans, have chosen the path of denial, appeasement and cowardice. Their insane pathological hatred for Tony Blair, George Bush, not to mention the entire nation Israel, is no more than self-abasement at the feet of their cultural invaders. Steyn sees it, understands it, articulates it and offers the tough solutions required to face down the challenge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Analysis beyond the headlines, 18 Oct 2006
By 
Andrew Lale (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Forty years ago Mark Steyns world view and gut responses to international events would have been completely mainstream in Britain. It is striking how his views will be considered right-wing verging on fascistic by most Britons now. Reading this book about demographic change, European myopia and cowardice, and the virtual inevitability of the islamification of western Europe was highly topical in a week where the headlines of the British papers were concerned with Muslim veil-wearing and government efforts to combat Muslim extremism. Although Mr Steyn peppers his narrative with lots of humour, it is hard to read such a convincing and fact-based prophecy without becoming extremely morose. There are few positives to take from this book. The future for democracies based on enlightenment ideals of justice, equality for all citizens, religious freedom and liberal economics looks bleak. As the title makes clear, America Alone can look forward to a relatively benign near-future. Religious and neo-fascist internicine warfare are what loom for Britain and western Europe. Mark Steyn may be painting a relatively simple picture of a complex future, but as far as the big facts are concerned, I don't think he's wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews