Customer Reviews


548 Reviews
5 star:
 (332)
4 star:
 (77)
3 star:
 (56)
2 star:
 (43)
1 star:
 (40)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


141 of 153 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A touch of class.
When you hear 'Daft Punk', the first thing that comes to mind is that classic vocoder, the heavy-hooking melodies, the pounding rhythmic beat of the drums to the modular synths in the background. Random Access Memories is, without a doubt Daft Punk, but it's a sign of how the group is evolving. The signature sound is still there, but don't expect this to be a hard...
Published on 20 May 2013 by Karl Roe

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What a disappointment
I've really liked a lot of Daft Punk's music in the past, but this album lacks energy and much of it is dull, generic funk. It sounds tired, possibly as a result of the reportedly long recording process. Daft Punk would also do well to steer clear of intelligible lyrics in the future, as the words on this album are, for the most part, lame and embarrassing. For much of...
Published 20 months ago by Marchespie


‹ Previous | 1 255 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

141 of 153 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A touch of class., 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Random Access Memories (Audio CD)
When you hear 'Daft Punk', the first thing that comes to mind is that classic vocoder, the heavy-hooking melodies, the pounding rhythmic beat of the drums to the modular synths in the background. Random Access Memories is, without a doubt Daft Punk, but it's a sign of how the group is evolving. The signature sound is still there, but don't expect this to be a hard electro, hard pumping album.

Random Access Memories knows what it is, and Daft Punk knew what they were making when they were making it. This album brings feeling back into music. It brings back that human, natural emotive sensation you get when you listen to a song that's been constructed with all the finest details considered. 'Get Lucky', a song that we're now all too familiar with, took 18 months alone to create.

A lot of people say that this album is 'Too much collaboration, not enough Daft Punk'. But if you think this, you're missing the point. Daft Punk have hidden their identities. They want to be about the music. They want to create something real and different and they're well capable of creating tracks like 'One More Time' again. But this album has a touch of class, it's so refreshing. I has the modern feel with the subtle tang of those delicious 80's guitar licks, the soulful vocals and smooth basslines and drum beats. It has that incredibly cool Daft Punk vibe about it, but it's something different and it's something I love. Great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daft Punk formidable!, 23 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a huge Daft Punk fan I cannot say that this is an impartial review but for me the album is an instant classic and will be something you listen to for decades to come. Daft Punk seamlessly blend a retro vibe with contemporary song making and a huge list of ensemble artists and live musicians to "Give life back to music". Taking its cues from electronic music but ditching the synths and drum machines of the past, Random Access Memories is a polished gem of music production.

But its not everyones cup of tea, and not every Daft punk fan's either!

If Discovery is your favourite daft punk album, you'll like this a lot! If "Digital Love" is your favourite Daft Punk Song then you will LOVE this album.

However if you are a big fan of Daft Punk's "Homework" album then this might not be the one for you. Listen to the previews and Judge for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music to my ears, 20 May 2013
This review is from: Random Access Memories (Audio CD)
Don't normally write reviews, but feel I should put my thoughts down.

I have followed Daft Punk since the early days, nobody can argue that they have always produced a stimulating experience with their recordings.

With RAM they have produced an album of pure quality. The recordings sound alive and luxurious. To my ears, it seems like the natural progression from the previous three albums, from guys of around my age.

There is a detail and balance in the recordings, which I have not experienced from a new release for some time. At the same time it is audacious, schizophrenic and bonkers but still hangs together.

The art of correct track running order is back with a vengeance.

This album bucks the trend (which I have also found myself joining in with) of music fans getting instant gratification from quick downloads of single tracks. This is a complete album, it needs to be given respect and listened to as a whole. It builds and drops, ebbs and flows, and in the end leaves you feeling satisfied, like you've have a good musical meal.

This album is not only an anthology of dance/funk/disco, it is an anthology of all music and if you like, understand and appreciate music and the concepts behind it, then you should love it.

After streaming it free on iTunes last week and enjoying the "live" sound, I even decided to buy this one on vinyl, which I haven't done for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prog[res] des 3 Freres, 75018 Paris, France (Montmartre), 6 Dec. 2014
By 
This review is from: Random Access Memories (Audio CD)
It's good to let a record sink in, no point rushing into a review, I liked the third album by the Stereo MCs but only after about a decade after its release, and only partially. musicians Guy-Manuel de Homem-Christo and Thomas Bangalter never really pierced my consciousness before Random Access Memories - some 90s stuff on the radio but ye ye in the 90s like so what, so what. Around the world - around the world - around the worldpad ad infinitum.nausueam

"You can send a forget me not" as the Stereo MCs lyric says. The future doesn't matter, nothing lasts but the dark.

Windmills
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So much to take from this album!, 30 April 2015
This is such a grower, and they've dragged in some great artists; Nile Rogers, Pharrell etc. I listen mainly to Indie, Classical, Rock or Alternative. I bought this out of curiosity as I had just snapped up some high def. audio equipment, and heard this would give it a good workout and was also a good listen too. Electronica/Dance is something that will always be up for criticism if it falls short in terms of originality, or perceived effort that's been judged as being put into such work, and hey I totally agree. If it's lazily written/produced garbage then say so , but by crikey, this has left my jaw on the floor. The intricate melodies, lyrical sensitivity on certain tracks 'Within', subtleties and the almost crescendo-like, or melodic and rhythmic variations, and homage to where this music originated at the end of 'Giorgio' & 'Motherboard' tracks are a great workout for the best audiophile system. But then again, putting all that aside, just simply great music! Loads of influences scattered throughout the album, I spoke to a workmate today about this gem I'd found, and he stated he was traumatised by the previous repetition of 'Daft...' tracks such as 'All around the world'. and I saw where he was coming from, but this album is on a different level. I'm still digging more and more out of this the more I listen. This is such a clever album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Sounding Album, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant sound, fun to listen too, not had to skip a track anywhere, Amazon MP3 is a good sounding file. booklet failed to download though, but ill get over it.
worth the money easy, better than most stuff out right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RAM Daft Punk, 25 May 2013
By 
J. A. Purches "The Prof" (Worthing UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Superb. Mature. Soulful. Funky and lots of moog modular synthesizer. And no compression/loudness war ruining it. Old school disco with daft punk twist. Sound quality is audiophile. Excellent recording techniques good bass extension crystal clear. If your over 40 you will get it. If your under 25 perhaps not. Children love it. Its time pop music grew up again and daft punk has reset the bench mark. No duff tracks, a tour de force of intellegent witty and full of humanity. Recommended especially if you have high end stereo or top headphones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very easy listening on the ears, 4 Sept. 2013
By 
Susman "Sussman" (London Mills IL) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Random Access Memories (Audio CD)
I have a real soft spot for Daft punk, I love their music videos they are so ingenious. This latest album is very easy listening on the ears, and is great electronic music that is delivered in cool laid back fashion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars all I expected !, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's perfect ,great awesome !!
worth for waiting for a long long time.
especially instant crush.
but for get lucky is too hype for me haha
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to the good old days, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Homework, let's be honest, has never been matched, not even by the duo themselves. Discovery, though fun, was too cheesy pop. Human After all, though driving, was too dark. The Tron Legacy soundtrack was epic, though still not quite Daft Punk. RAM offers us a return to the balance that brought us to the dynamic French duo in the first place. Stick the album on and it just becomes the soundtrack to a good day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 255 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Random Access Memories
Random Access Memories by Daft Punk (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews