Customer Reviews


726 Reviews
5 star:
 (604)
4 star:
 (77)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


126 of 134 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding mount
Before I start, I'll just stress that I don't work for the people who make these, this is a genuine user review. I read a few of the reviews before buying and immediately thought they were from employees as they were just too complimentary!

I've always had trouble finding a decent car mount for whatever phone I've had at the time. One or all of the same old...
Published 22 months ago by Mr. N. Wildman

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Effective Smartphone Holder for Car Windscreens, Less So for Dashboards
This is a very handy and practical universal car mount for smartphones, including iPhones and Samsung Galaxies, I use mine with an iPhone 6. The suction pad for attachment to a car windscreen has a reassuringly tenacious grip. You depress a lever on the base of the mount to secure the attachment, and then pull the lever up to enable you to pull the mount away from the...
Published 5 months ago by William Mason


‹ Previous | 1 273 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

126 of 134 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding mount, 14 Jun. 2013
By 
Mr. N. Wildman "nickwildman2" (Beds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MONTAR Universal Car Mount For Smartphones GPS One Hand 360 Rotation Best Holder Cradle Windshield Dashboard For Samsung Apple HTC Nokia Blackberry Motorola Sony Ericsson LG iPhone 3 3GS 4 4S 5 5S 6 Galaxy Note 2 3 II Galaxy S3 S4 IV i9300 i9500 i9200 i9100 HTC One X+ The New Droid RAZR Blackberry Q10 Z10 9700 9900 Sony Xperia Z L T LG Optimus Nokia Lumia 920 820 Google Nexus 4 (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Before I start, I'll just stress that I don't work for the people who make these, this is a genuine user review. I read a few of the reviews before buying and immediately thought they were from employees as they were just too complimentary!

I've always had trouble finding a decent car mount for whatever phone I've had at the time. One or all of the same old issues always pop up: the suction is rubbish and the mount falls off, the holder itself doesn't grip the phone so the phone falls out, the mount wobbles while driving and results in the phone not staying where you want it to or the holder covers up the charging/headphone port. I am very glad to report that this mount has none of these problems.

Suction: the only problem you'll have here is getting the thing to un-stick! The mount uses a lever which secures the bottom to whatever surface you're using but to be honest, it doesn't need it as it sticks brilliantly without it! I attached the mount to my dashboard but when I tried remove it, it took a lot of effort. You don't need to worry about this coming off mid-drive.

The phone holder: this consists of a spring loaded clip with a rubber inlay that grips the phone. Unlike some spring loaded ones I've tried before, this one is very strong and grips the phone very tightly. There's no danger of the phone falling out once it's secured. The other obvious benefit is that the clip has a wide opening range meaning that you'll be hard pressed to find a phone that will be too big for it. The rubber inlay prevents the phone slipping and also protects it from scratches etc.

Wobble: a lot of mounts have long necks that wobble during driving and the phone position changes. This mount is made of a solid plastic block so that problem is negated but where this product really shines is the ability to tighten the back of the gripping head once it is in position so that it won't move. I live in the a**** end of nowhere and the potholed country roads provide a stern test but I can promise you the phone didn't move an inch after I had tightened the head. You can change the orientation i.e. landscape/portrait or anything in between of the phone prior to tightening the head so you can have it where you want. This is the main selling point for me as the phone moving in transit really p***** me off. I am absolutely chuffed with this and it alone justifies the asking price in my opinion.

Charging port: This won't be a problem in the vast majority of cases as you can choose where the head will grip the phone to make sure the ports are unobstructed. Due to the strength of the grip, it doesn't matter if the phone has to be gripped at the end rather than the middle.

The only issue I can see is that if you have a long phone like mine (S4), the slightly sloped bottom end of the mount means that you may not be able to have the phone standing completely upright while being gripped, it may lean to a very slight angle. This however can be easily overcome by having the head in the horizonal position if it bothers you but the angle is so slight it didn't bother me.

In conclusion, this really is a fantastic product, it's the first one I've found that ticks all the boxes and looks quite stylish while doing it. I very rarely give anything 5 stars but this mount deserves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dash or Windscreen Mount. Robust Design. Strong Suction., 19 Mar. 2015
By 
Ian Daniel (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MONTAR Universal Car Mount For Smartphones GPS One Hand 360 Rotation Best Holder Cradle Windshield Dashboard For Samsung Apple HTC Nokia Blackberry Motorola Sony Ericsson LG iPhone 3 3GS 4 4S 5 5S 6 Galaxy Note 2 3 II Galaxy S3 S4 IV i9300 i9500 i9200 i9100 HTC One X+ The New Droid RAZR Blackberry Q10 Z10 9700 9900 Sony Xperia Z L T LG Optimus Nokia Lumia 920 820 Google Nexus 4 (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Lots of competition for a product like this, most are cheap and inferior. In a former life my work was in-car installer, I've fitted a ton of car phone car kits. Typically brackets for dashes and windscreens are hit and miss with poor suction. The Montar is the polar opposite, it's absolutely superb. Strong, robust with a great design, and 360 degree rotation.

Features:

- Compatible with all mobile devices up to 5.3 inch screen size
- Works with GPS devices
- 360 degree rotation
- One hand installation
- Works on any flat surface; Dashboard / Windscreen
- Max device weight 3.5 Kg
- World's strongest suction cup design
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Effective Smartphone Holder for Car Windscreens, Less So for Dashboards, 13 Nov. 2014
By 
William Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: MONTAR Universal Car Mount For Smartphones GPS One Hand 360 Rotation Best Holder Cradle Windshield Dashboard For Samsung Apple HTC Nokia Blackberry Motorola Sony Ericsson LG iPhone 3 3GS 4 4S 5 5S 6 Galaxy Note 2 3 II Galaxy S3 S4 IV i9300 i9500 i9200 i9100 HTC One X+ The New Droid RAZR Blackberry Q10 Z10 9700 9900 Sony Xperia Z L T LG Optimus Nokia Lumia 920 820 Google Nexus 4 (Wireless Phone Accessory)
This is a very handy and practical universal car mount for smartphones, including iPhones and Samsung Galaxies, I use mine with an iPhone 6. The suction pad for attachment to a car windscreen has a reassuringly tenacious grip. You depress a lever on the base of the mount to secure the attachment, and then pull the lever up to enable you to pull the mount away from the windscreen. The holder for the smartphone has adjustable arms, which hold your 'phone very securely, but not so tightly as to leave marks on either your 'phone or its protective cover. The mount can be rotated through a full 360 degrees, so that you can view your smartphone vertically or horizontally. The holder comes with a circular 3M adhesive pad, to hold the mount on surfaces where the suction pad doesn't work, such as breathable surfaces. However, my own experience is that the 3M pad doesn't work. I've placed the 3M pad on the dashboards of a Suzuki SX4, Subaru Impreza WRX, BMW 335i and BMW 130i, and it was unable to hold the mount in place.
In short, this smartphone holder works absolutely fine on car windscreens, but it doesn't combine well with the 3M pad, which means that I can't use this device on top of a car dashboard. If you want a dashboard rather than windscreen mount, you might want to look elsewhere.
Thanks for taking the time to read this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Stand for dashboard!, 2 Nov. 2013
By 
smartyPants "Smartypants" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MONTAR Universal Car Mount For Smartphones GPS One Hand 360 Rotation Best Holder Cradle Windshield Dashboard For Samsung Apple HTC Nokia Blackberry Motorola Sony Ericsson LG iPhone 3 3GS 4 4S 5 5S 6 Galaxy Note 2 3 II Galaxy S3 S4 IV i9300 i9500 i9200 i9100 HTC One X+ The New Droid RAZR Blackberry Q10 Z10 9700 9900 Sony Xperia Z L T LG Optimus Nokia Lumia 920 820 Google Nexus 4 (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Been looking for a car mount for my iphone 5 for months - I wanted to try & find one that connects to the fascia, or one of the ones that mount on the air vents. But none of them get great reviews & when you spend a lot of money on an iphone, I didnt want to risk getting it damaged. So decided to try out this one as very good reviews.

I drive a Seat Leon MK1, the dashboard has slightcurve to it, but this mount stays firmly stuck to the dashboard. Been using for about a month & driven about 2,000 miles with no issue. I havent had to remove & clean it to get it to stick again as it hasnt lost its grip in the past month. My wife has a really expensive mount which fits an iphone 5 perfectly but ONLY if you take the case off! This one expands, so I never need to take the case off the iphone.

I use with an iPhone 5, but will work with pretty much all phones.

So, wasnt exactly what I was looking for, as would have preferred a docking solution that sat lower, but this works & best solution I have come across.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A solid well made car mount that doesn't fall off, 25 Jun. 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: MONTAR Universal Car Mount For Smartphones GPS One Hand 360 Rotation Best Holder Cradle Windshield Dashboard For Samsung Apple HTC Nokia Blackberry Motorola Sony Ericsson LG iPhone 3 3GS 4 4S 5 5S 6 Galaxy Note 2 3 II Galaxy S3 S4 IV i9300 i9500 i9200 i9100 HTC One X+ The New Droid RAZR Blackberry Q10 Z10 9700 9900 Sony Xperia Z L T LG Optimus Nokia Lumia 920 820 Google Nexus 4 (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Note: The supplier sent me a review sample to test, no attempt was made to influence my opinion of the product.

The Montar car mount is universal mount for smart-phones with an attractive glossy black finish. You get a pre fitted cleanable sticky pad at the bottom, you can wipe this clean with a damp cloth and let it dry, it retains the sticky nature on the pad.

You can fit the mount to either a windscreen or dash. There is a supplied 3M stick pad for dash fitting, you remove the cover and stick it down, then put the mount on it and lock it down. It won't mark the dash with the 3M pad placed there. The main jaws that hold the phone are just over 5 cm when closed and can open up to around 9.5cm max, they are spring loaded so close up around any phone fitted, with red rubber which has grooves to hold a phone in place without damaging it. There is a locking nut around the base of the jaws so you can swivel it around to the require position (tilt and angle)

I prefer to fit to a windscreen and the device was very solid when placed here due to the combination of the sticky rubber and locking it down held it securely in place. Even in warm weather there is no sign of movement or falling off. Do make sure to clean the windscreen before applying as they can build up residue over time. There is a tab at the bottom of the rubber mount to help removing it, it does take a bit of effort to pull it off, so make sure you use the tab to help.

A nice product, well built and effective. It's a bit more expensive than some other mounts I've tried, but to date this is the best built unit I've tested by some margin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Quality Car Mount, 12 Mar. 2015
By 
Paul E (Derbyshire (UK)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: MONTAR Universal Car Mount For Smartphones GPS One Hand 360 Rotation Best Holder Cradle Windshield Dashboard For Samsung Apple HTC Nokia Blackberry Motorola Sony Ericsson LG iPhone 3 3GS 4 4S 5 5S 6 Galaxy Note 2 3 II Galaxy S3 S4 IV i9300 i9500 i9200 i9100 HTC One X+ The New Droid RAZR Blackberry Q10 Z10 9700 9900 Sony Xperia Z L T LG Optimus Nokia Lumia 920 820 Google Nexus 4 (Wireless Phone Accessory)
This MONTAR Universal Car Mount by Winnergear, is designed to hold your Smartphone or Satnav etc. to the windscreen or dashboard of your vehicle. Like a few other car mounts I've tried, this one employs a vacuum suction cup (operated by a lever) with a tacky-gel coating to give additional adhesion - this allows the mount to be fitted directly to the windscreen. For dashboard use, or use on a porous surface, a round plastic disc has been provided, which can be permanently stuck down via. it's 3M adhesive side. The mount is now placed onto the smooth side of this disc.

A spring-loaded clamp, with two jaws, is connected to the main body of the mount by means of a ball joint with lock nut. Whatever device you wish to hold, is placed within the spring-loaded jaws, by pulling them both open. The jaws are fitted with red-coloured protective inserts to prevent marking your phone. This material is also ribbed which provides a better grip by slightly deforming to the contours of the phone within it's jaws. This works very well when tested with my LG L40 Smartphone still in it's flip case. The phone stayed within the jaws even when driving over roughly-surfaced roads and pot-holes.

The ball-joint mechanism allows the jaws/phone, to be moved from landscape to portrait viewing, in addition to left, right, up and down positions. Turning the lock nut, secures the jaws in the final position you've chosen and keeps them there.

So, to sum up, this is a nicely-engineered mount and works very well in practice. It's quite attractive, the main body being constructed from a piano-black plastic material.

The mount stays firmly attached, due to the additional adhesion provided by the tacky-gel coating, but this also makes it more difficult to remove. A pull-release tab is provided which allows air into the suction cup but it still requires quite a tug to break the hold of the tacky gel coating before this can occur. An option to fit the mount using vacuum-only (i.e. without the tacky-gel coating - just for windscreen use) would probably be sufficient to hold the mount/phone and would make it easier to remove.

This mount is still one of the best car mounts I've tried ... Recommended.

I was kindly provided with a sample of this product for evaluation and unbiased review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A top flight car mount, 10 Mar. 2015
By 
Pepper (Uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: MONTAR Universal Car Mount For Smartphones GPS One Hand 360 Rotation Best Holder Cradle Windshield Dashboard For Samsung Apple HTC Nokia Blackberry Motorola Sony Ericsson LG iPhone 3 3GS 4 4S 5 5S 6 Galaxy Note 2 3 II Galaxy S3 S4 IV i9300 i9500 i9200 i9100 HTC One X+ The New Droid RAZR Blackberry Q10 Z10 9700 9900 Sony Xperia Z L T LG Optimus Nokia Lumia 920 820 Google Nexus 4 (Wireless Phone Accessory)
This Montar WG-CMM02013 Car Mount is a high quality holder for your smartphone or other device that can be dashboard or windscreen mounted. In the transparent box you get the mount and a 3M branded adhesive pad which you can stick almost anywhere and then clamp the holder to it via its reusable suction base. The immediate "out of the box" impression is that this this is a beautifully manufactured holder that will look at home in almost any car including top marques like Audi, Mercedes or others.

The whole unit is made from high quality gloss black plastic. The inside of clamp is finished in a ribbed red rubber material to protect your device and can be used with up to 5.3" sized screens. The firmly spring loaded clamp can be used in horizontally or vertically or, in any position throughout the 360 degrees of rotation it offers. This flexibility means the mount could be used for a smartphone in a vertical position or satnav in horizontal orientation for example. The screen angle is adjustable by tilting the clamp on a ratchet and it can be locked into position by tightening a knurled knob.

The stand mounts by pressing it into place with the reusable gel suction mount and pushing a locking lever. Once locked the unit clings like a limpet to the windscreen, supplied adhesive pad or other surface. Removal is achieved by unlocking the lever and gently lifting the rubber tab on the suction pad to break the seal.

In use this Montar car holder is excellent - I tried it with my phone and satnav and both devices were held firmly and with minimal vibration. This is one of the few phone/device holders I've used that actually works and at the same time looks elegant, in fact, as though it is an original part of the car. Recommended.

(This phone holder was supplied for my review).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Grip!, 17 Jan. 2015
By 
Newton "Sassy Brit" (Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: MONTAR Universal Car Mount For Smartphones GPS One Hand 360 Rotation Best Holder Cradle Windshield Dashboard For Samsung Apple HTC Nokia Blackberry Motorola Sony Ericsson LG iPhone 3 3GS 4 4S 5 5S 6 Galaxy Note 2 3 II Galaxy S3 S4 IV i9300 i9500 i9200 i9100 HTC One X+ The New Droid RAZR Blackberry Q10 Z10 9700 9900 Sony Xperia Z L T LG Optimus Nokia Lumia 920 820 Google Nexus 4 (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Disclosure: I was supplied a sample for test and evaluation purposes in return for an honest and unbiased review.

The Montar Universal Car Mount is a very smart looking product with a sleek, shiny black look and a red inside grip. It rotates 360 degrees so can swivel around to face either driver or passenger and because the gripper can be adjusted width ways, it also fits various gadgets of mine; different phones, satnav's and iPods for instance.

This is very easy to install, with a base that can be stuck onto the dashboard with 3M film, so the mount's body can be added on top to make it even more secure and steadfast. In addition it has a suction lever that keeps the cradle even tighter in place. This is particularly good for breathable surfaces where the 3M film will not stick as well.

What is also very good about this (apart from the fact that is it truly universal) is that, should you want to remove this from your dashboard after it has been stuck down securely it's fairly easy to remove from the sticky base, wash and dry and wait for the stickiness to come back.

I'm really pleased with this universal car mount, and received some lovely, positive comments about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Holds my Xperia Z very tightly., 20 May 2013
By 
S. Stroud (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MONTAR Universal Car Mount For Smartphones GPS One Hand 360 Rotation Best Holder Cradle Windshield Dashboard For Samsung Apple HTC Nokia Blackberry Motorola Sony Ericsson LG iPhone 3 3GS 4 4S 5 5S 6 Galaxy Note 2 3 II Galaxy S3 S4 IV i9300 i9500 i9200 i9100 HTC One X+ The New Droid RAZR Blackberry Q10 Z10 9700 9900 Sony Xperia Z L T LG Optimus Nokia Lumia 920 820 Google Nexus 4 (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Bought this car mount for my new Xperia Z.

The mount sticks VERY firmly to glass - haven't tried it on any other surfaces yet.

Just a couple of comments ... it is a very tight fit on the phone, so fitting the phone is a bit of a struggle as you really have to use one hand to hold the "gripping jaws" open while holding the phone in place. With the Xperia Z this is a bit tricky because you have to clamp it in just the right place - see below. I can imagine how the design could be improved to make this easier - add finger grips round the back that you "squeeze together" to open the jaws, instead of having to prise the jaws open with your fingers from the inside while the phone is in the way.

On the Xperia Z (unlike the phone in the picture) you do not want to clamp the phone near the middle, because that's exactly where the power button is. Also just a bit further down are the volume up/down buttons so you can't clamp it there either. Also you can't clamp it ABOVE the middle because then you can't connect a charger when in-car. So you have to clamp the phone rather close to its bottom edge. This works OK for navigation apps, but for "dashcam" apps it seems that there is a bit of vibration in the videos, I am guessing because the camera is right up the top, and the phone is held right near the bottom.

All in all a good sturdy mount, but just a couple of issues make it not quite a 5 star!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Looks great and works well. A real quality item., 18 Mar. 2015
By 
The Truth "How it is" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: MONTAR Universal Car Mount For Smartphones GPS One Hand 360 Rotation Best Holder Cradle Windshield Dashboard For Samsung Apple HTC Nokia Blackberry Motorola Sony Ericsson LG iPhone 3 3GS 4 4S 5 5S 6 Galaxy Note 2 3 II Galaxy S3 S4 IV i9300 i9500 i9200 i9100 HTC One X+ The New Droid RAZR Blackberry Q10 Z10 9700 9900 Sony Xperia Z L T LG Optimus Nokia Lumia 920 820 Google Nexus 4 (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I was very kindly sent this item free of charge to review and I have to say it's a beautifully designed, top quality item. The mount is easily attached to your window or dashboard via a patented suction cup which is controlled with a quick-flick lever; the lever is hidden seamlessly in the body of the mount when in the down (attached) position.

The suction cup is coated in a sticky substance for further grip which can be washed and made re-sticky with soap and watere. And I f for some reason the suction cup doesn't work (say if the dashboard is slightly textured, letting air in) a sticky adhesive base is also supplied.

The clasp which holds the phone in place is fully adjustable and works via a spring; you just push the clasp open, slip your phone in, and it springs back into place to securely hold your phone.

The stand is not quite perfect though. The best thing about it (it's sleek, stylish, curvy lines) are also it's biggest problem; big being the operative word. Personally, I feel the stand is a little too big for my small car however it would be great in a car with a larger dash.

Overall, it's a top quality product, that's well made and beautifully designed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 273 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews