Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE DILLINGER ESCAPE PLAN - "ONE OF US IS THE KILLER"
The Dillinger Escape Plan style has been described as many things down through the years such as Mathcore, Hardcore and Metalcore to name just a few, what they really are is one of the best bands in music today. With their relentless non-stop style both in and out of the studio they have forged a path that is unmatched by most bands with their complex playing of styles...
Published 15 months ago by nin/ja77

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great service, not a great record.
I just want to say that the speed of the delivery and quality were top notch as it arrived in a few days and there was absolutely nothing wrong with the record or sleeve, my problem is with the music. The first half of the record is simply just chaotic and lives up to the hype of it's thrashy and down right nasty riff spitting madness but this becomes slightly stale in...
Published 12 months ago by Matt Murdock


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE DILLINGER ESCAPE PLAN - "ONE OF US IS THE KILLER", 14 May 2013
By 
nin/ja77 - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One of Us Is the Killer (Audio CD)
The Dillinger Escape Plan style has been described as many things down through the years such as Mathcore, Hardcore and Metalcore to name just a few, what they really are is one of the best bands in music today. With their relentless non-stop style both in and out of the studio they have forged a path that is unmatched by most bands with their complex playing of styles being heavy yet melodic at the same time and not to forget Greg Puciato ability for high pitched and angry in your face vocals and all this from a band that have a high turnover of members including numerous drummers, bassists and rhythm guitarists, of course lead guitarist Ben Weinman is now the only original member. Former guitarist James Love returns replacing Jeff Tuttle.

Following on from 2010's outstanding "Option Paralysis" the band release album number five "One Of Us Is The Killer" which has the same in your face style of tracks starting right from the get go. They come straight out of the blocks with the hard hitting single "Prancer" and follow that up with the equally aggressive "When I Lost My Bet" The band have long been influenced by Mike Patton (he recorded an ep with them back in 2002) whether it be his work with Faith No more or probably closer to Tomahawk and that style is evident on the title track which has Puciato adopt a much more straight forward vocal style, and with "Nothing's Funny" they have a song in the style of "Black Bubblegum" from 2007's "Ire Works" including Ben Weinman's use of electronics on the track. "Paranoia Shields" is a song full of twists and turns with Puciato twisting every vocal into a different style and features a real mellow breakdown at the 2:27 mark as it goes really quiet before coming out full belt again. If you want to hear how good the rhythm section of Liam Wilson and Billy Rymer are check out the mainly instrumental track "CH 375 268 277 ARS".

If you liked The Dillinger Escape Plan previous albums with Puciato on vocals you will love this as it features the usual mix of styles the band offer. And at forty minutes long never out stays its welcome and doesn't have any filler and just confirms the band as one of the most must see live acts that there is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SMAAAAAASH, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Of Us Is The Killer (Audio CD)
I'm kicking myself. I'm kicking myself because I disregarded these dudes for quite a while.

I remember seeing the video for '...Sleeping Giants' a fair time ago and it didn't grab me. How tastes change 'ey? Long story short; I was round my mates; he slaps on this album; I freak out at how mental it is; I buy it the next day. Egg on my face, DEP are superb.

Totally chaotic and explosive, yet completely in control. Imagine Converge destroying a baggy of whizz whilst listening to the first Mars Volta record. Whoooooop!

On my sixth or seventh listen I'm struggling to pick highlights. There's literally not a second of 'One Of Us Is The Killer' that isn't 666% awesome. I'll go for "Nothing's Funny" for now, check it out.

Do your self a favour and pick it up... I'm off to check their back catalogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Killler album, 23 Aug 2013
By 
N. Pereira (Lisbon, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Of Us Is The Killer (Audio CD)
DEP did it again, what a great record...not my fav of them. but all of them are 5 star albuns as they are unique!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums of the year, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Of Us Is The Killer (Audio CD)
Absolutely fantastic - perhaps not as good as some of their earlier albums but still significantly better than most other stuff.
Classic Dillinger in that there's a few accessible sing-along tracks (One Of Us Is The Killer, Nothing's Funny) and then there's also a few shall we say less accessible ones (Prancer, Understanding Decay); as with all Dillinger albums, it's definitely an acquired taste.
A moment to look out for is the breakdown in 'Hero Of The Soviet Union' that is so raw and powerful it makes you want to punch a wall or something.
Just buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome album, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Of Us Is The Killer (Audio CD)
I love this band, and I can't stop listening to this. I need to buy more of their albums :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a band, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Of Us Is The Killer (Audio CD)
The dillinger escape broke the mould with there sound and let's face it anyone who mike Patton works with has to be good,one of us is the killer is my album of the year so far,I've seen them live in Belfast and it was the best club gig I've ever seen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Astounding!, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Of Us Is The Killer (Audio CD)
This album wll blow you away if you like metal etc etc... It is highly original and brutal with melodics and some skillfull timing and off beats in the music. a breath of fresh air of something a little different... a cross between Mehsuggah and Mudvayne with some Faith No More style vocas thrown in....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One if us is the killer (VINYL), 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you're not sure about this record, go listen to the samples on 'the youtube player' uploaded up by Sumerian Records and make up your own mind. If you are going to buy a copy get it on VINYL! Not only do you get an inky smudged slab of white vinyl, you get a free cd of the album, (better quality than any download), a double sided A2 size poster with lyrics and a gatefold album sleeve with more art spooky artwork to peruse while you blast the tunes out. Good artwork and music packaged together used to be the norm, not the exception.

If bands want to increase sales and get more people to buy music, this is the way to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DEP's universe is like a Möbius Strip, 17 May 2013
By 
as "as" (dilbeek ,Belgium) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One of Us Is the Killer (Audio CD)
Dillinger Escape Plan is (again) back with a real killer album, sort of hyperactive merged entity of everything they did previously, starting from the big bang explosion (calculating infinity) , passing through the structuration of their works (miss machine), going to the expansion of their universe (ire works) ,followed by some local regressions (option paralysis). DEP looks sometimes to me as a Möbius strip . You follow their path in order to try to define their limits and at the end of the record, you get back at your initial point without being able to evaluate them. There will be some black holes in your way though(as for example ,the track "hero of the soviet union"): if you don't take care, such tracks could aspire you and let you melt down in with their overwhelming energy. Or in the same way, don't fall to fast for the CD title track, it's similar to a song of a siren: once you succomb, there is no way back. I will finish this review by a special mention to the artwork of the sleeve of which i won't spoil any detail except that it's one of the most sophisticated that I've ever seen. Long live Dillinger Escape Plan and long live the Math- Rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you'll be pleased to know it's a step above Option Paralysis, 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Of Us Is The Killer (Audio CD)
If you don't know dep, or what they're about, this isn't for you. However if you've heard their previous work, you'll be pleased to know it's a step above Option Paralysis. In fact, while I enjoyed Ire Works, I'm saying this is the best stuff they've released since Miss Machine almost a decade ago. My number one album of 2013.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Of Us Is The Killer
One Of Us Is The Killer by The Dillinger Escape Plan (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews