Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not at all bad
The first time I encountered Deerhunter was when I heard 'Revival' being played on a 6 Music a couple of years ago. It was one of those great moments when the hairs on the back of my neck prickled to attention and I immediately fell in love with the song. So much so that I bought Halcyon Digest which I enjoyed but I still feel that it has a few weak tracks on it. Whilst...
Published 15 months ago by Mr. S. Williamson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's a deerhunter album
Not quite as good in my opinion as either Microcastle or Halcyon Digest. At its best when it's at it's most urgent, it has enough hooks to keep me happy.
Bit annoyed they cancelled the nov 13 UK gigs though......
Published 11 months ago by quantumpoker


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not at all bad, 17 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. S. Williamson (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monomania (Audio CD)
The first time I encountered Deerhunter was when I heard 'Revival' being played on a 6 Music a couple of years ago. It was one of those great moments when the hairs on the back of my neck prickled to attention and I immediately fell in love with the song. So much so that I bought Halcyon Digest which I enjoyed but I still feel that it has a few weak tracks on it. Whilst 'Monomania' has a fine collection of songs on it there have been no standout 'hair prickling' moments but overall I think I prefer it to Halcyon Digest. The whole album staggers along in a pleasingly semi-drunk fashion..creating a dreamy, discordant jangled soundscape that in the words of Alan Partridge is 'pleasing to mine ears!'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Probably their greatest album to date...., 20 Nov 2013
This review is from: Monomania (Audio CD)
One thing is for sure, this album is one hell of a grower. After your first listen, you might find the production and Bradford Cox's vocals a little too scratchy... I certainly did, but subsequent listens have pushed this album up to album of the year territory for 2013. A fantastic record...x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's a deerhunter album, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monomania [Vinyl [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Not quite as good in my opinion as either Microcastle or Halcyon Digest. At its best when it's at it's most urgent, it has enough hooks to keep me happy.
Bit annoyed they cancelled the nov 13 UK gigs though......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Give it time and it will deliver, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monomania (Audio CD)
The first 9 tracks on this album are catchy, and most of them have brilliant bass guitar; the next two songs 'Monomania' and the mainly acoustic 'Nitebike' come next, but these take more time to grow on you. When the album finishes on track 12 with 'Punk', I felt as though the acoustic track was out of place and spoiled the album as a whole. However after ten plays or so the fuzz and grating that pervades the album links each songs and creates a wonderfully disturbing feel. The replayability value is high also owing to the catchy nature of the opening 9 tracks (3/4) of the album. Don't be put off by the last three tracks if they don't initially excite. Give the album time to grow and you may just discover a modern classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good and solid, 23 Aug 2013
By 
A. McBurnie "Alex" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monomania (MP3 Download)
Given the storey behind the album, you would think it would be angry and hate filled. But no, its just generally chilled and trippy. Somewhat reminiscent of BRMC back in the day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great album, 22 July 2013
By 
Kevin Williams "Kev" (Newport, S.Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monomania (Audio CD)
Another really strong album from the Cox stable. Psychedelic, poppy playful. A must buy.Looking forward to a Atlas Sound record now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sadly, but this is rather disappointing..., 9 May 2013
By 
Mr. R. J. Jenkins "Django 67" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monomania (Audio CD)
Whilst 'Halcyon Digest' was a work of utter brilliance and beauty that worked as a fantastic entity in itself on initial hearings the new album 'Monomania' is a bit of a sprawling mess to be frank. I have all the Deerhunter albums and most of the Atlas Sound stuff so am extremely familiar with the work of Mr Bradford Cox and when certainly 'Halcyon Digest' was one of my albums of that year this one is so far a big disappointment in comparison. Apparently Bradford Cox had a huge amount of songs for this new album and ditched lots, maybe it was the wrong ones? I hope to be proven possibly wrong in my thoughts towards this album in the future but at the moment I will not be rushing to listen to it again in any hurry. Sad but true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Subliminally Sublime, 6 May 2013
By 
Gannon (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Monomania (Audio CD)
In recent years, Deerhunter have shied away from noise in favour of the sort of inconspicuous indie that casual outsiders just don't get. They view the subtle, shambling vibe as nought save aural wallpaper, yet to plenty of others those same shuffling chords are outright manna. The opening one-two on sixth LP Monomania - a welcome return to the band's punkier roots - is sure to ruffle a few feathers with both groups then. The echo-y opener, "Neon Junkyard", tackles the sound by way of dreamy 60s strumming and its gloriously messy follow-up screeches its way through some fun-time garage.

This signature blend of brash noise and killer melody is elsewhere less demanding, rearing its head really only via the out-of-focus distortion which permeates the album as a whole and, more prominently perhaps, on the grimy title track during which Bradford Cox`s vocal repeats sting with intensity. It's this light toasting in production that ultimately differentiates Monomania from 2010's cleaner Halcyon Digest LP, but, the odd track apart, the band haven't taken huge sonic strides from one to the other.

Monomania has a warmly reminiscent middle order therefore, which when it hasn't gone all minimal and reverb-heavy like eels in rock mode (see the sad and lovely "Blue Agent" and "T.H.M.") is full of ramshackle indie gems akin to those on which its beautiful predecessor was built. Supposedly there's some synth play at work during the likes of "Dream Captain" and "The Missing" too, but the hypnotic web that Cox and company weave is pleasantly dense to render it - in critical terms - unobtrusive in the mix.

When you've got a template that works, you're often best to roughly stick to it. Deerhunter have a deft one and it always lands a product more than the sum of its parts. Painstaking description of its construct often seems flippant and/or ignorant. So, in the face of such a thankless task, perhaps we better peg Monomania as somehow subliminally sublime and leave it at that so as not to be further incriminated.

Advised downloads: "T.H.M." and "Monomania".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deerhunter, 1 Jun 2013
This review is from: Monomania (Audio CD)
I thought it was a real grower but each new play it just keeps getting better and better with each new play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monomania
Monomania by Deerhunter (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews