Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark near future?
I really enjoyed this book, well written and quite pacy with some believable characters. The idea is not so far fetched and could be a believable reality at some time and this story picks up on one of the reasons for not going down this route. There was a nice little twist in the tail of this although if you're a regular reader of mystery/crime/thriller books you'd...
Published 16 months ago by Gaz C

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but ultimately a bit amateur
The book concept didn't really take the premise very far. As an IT worker I'm quite familiar with the possible issues with firmware and software. There are already security issues involving exploitation of software and firmware vulnerabilities (NSA, OpenSSL, Netgear, etc.) so this was not really new ground. Putting it in someone's head is pretty old-hat in science...
Published 6 months ago by John Kelly


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark near future?, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firmware (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book, well written and quite pacy with some believable characters. The idea is not so far fetched and could be a believable reality at some time and this story picks up on one of the reasons for not going down this route. There was a nice little twist in the tail of this although if you're a regular reader of mystery/crime/thriller books you'd probably guess this before it comes. This was what I would descibe as a good holiday read, and will be enjoyed by thos who like sci fi and thrillers as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the not so distant future..., 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firmware (Kindle Edition)
A great read by Stephen Sweeney - I only picked this up because I liked his Battle for the solar system trilogy, and this book has a completely different premise. It was very British, very well thought out, and I really enjoyed it.

Will there be a sequel? It 'ends' well - but I can't help but think back to what the back-ups were about...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but ultimately a bit amateur, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firmware (Kindle Edition)
The book concept didn't really take the premise very far. As an IT worker I'm quite familiar with the possible issues with firmware and software. There are already security issues involving exploitation of software and firmware vulnerabilities (NSA, OpenSSL, Netgear, etc.) so this was not really new ground. Putting it in someone's head is pretty old-hat in science fiction. E.g. William Gibson.

I also found the characterisation a bit dull and pedestrian. The UK aspects were initially refreshing in this age of relentless US cultural promotion but in the end it was a bit ... lame? Maybe I'm already too used to US 'glamorisation'.

It was all a bit 'Shaun of the Dead' but without the satire and humour if you get my drift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, engaging novel with a well-thought-out scenario, 28 Mar 2013
By 
Ian Hocking "author" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firmware (Kindle Edition)
This was a punchy little book. A technothriller in the true sense; plenty of technical detail, discussion of the implications of technology, all wrapped up in a kinetic plot. You're pretty much guaranteed to enjoy this book. Some might find the moden-day setting a little inconsistent with the advanced tech of the brain implants, and the protagonist had a habit of spitting out food with each story twist, but these are minor quibbles in a fun book. And at 99p, you can't really go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointed, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firmware (Kindle Edition)
Did not live up to my expectations. Could gone much further than it did, hence this review, started well but fizzled out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughtly enjoyable, a good read, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firmware (Kindle Edition)
Having read, and enjoyed The Battle for the Solar System ( http://www.battleforthesolarsystem.com/ ) by Stephen J Sweeney ( http://www.stephenjsweeney.com/books/ ), I knew I wasn't taking much of a risk in buying Firmware ( and also H1NZ and The Red Road ).

As I expected, Firmware is a great book, short but sweet ( no, not in a saccharine way ! ), with a good twist.

Without wanting to spoil it, there are parallels with a recent Doctor Who episode ( the one with a Triumph motorcycle ), but I'm guessing Herr Sweeney was there first.

Bottom line, Firmware is good, British sci-fi, in the best tradition of the genre, and definitely worth a (good) read.

Thanks :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really enjoyable read., 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firmware (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book. In fact it was over far too soon!

The story was believable and I liked the characters.

It set itself up for a sequel, which I hope is coming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good train read, 27 July 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Wellington, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firmware (Kindle Edition)
The story line is a good one - people in near-future England are required by law to have chips inserted to improve their mental abilities. A group of hackers get discovered and things go wrong. The pace is good, the characters are believable and there's a bit of a twist at the end. A bit formulaic but it's okay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff....., 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firmware (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyable, addictive, intriguing,liked it a lot, until the end. Read it yourself and see, I'm not going to spoil it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good but wished it was longer, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firmware (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book, a very good cyber techthriller. Well flowing plot and good characters. I only have one complaint, I wished that it was longer. Looking forward to the sequel!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Firmware
Firmware by Stephen Sweeney
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews