Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A breath of fresh air
Well it's been around 6 years or so since The Katmen released their fantastic debut album and the wait for their follow up album has been well worth it!!
Not that it needs it but this CD gives the Rockabilly / Rock 'n' Roll genre a breath of fresh air and a modern edge whilst still having that familiar sound that we all know and love.
Darrel Higham is on top...
Published 15 months ago by Fabian

versus
0 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars KATMEN --THE KATMEN COMETH
THE LINEUP OF THE RETRO ROCKABILLY BAND, WHO CALL THEMSELVES KATMEN, COMPRISES DARREL HIGHAM, SLIM JIM PHANTOM (EX STRAY CATS, I BELIEVE) AND AL GARE, WHO ARE ALL PRETTY WELL KNOWN. APART FROM MR. HIGHAM'S USUAL BRILLIANT GUITAR WORK, THIS ALBUM IS A BIT OF A DISAPPOINTMENT FOR ME, AND I JUST WONDER WHAT THEY'RE TRYING TO ACHIEVE. 'THE KATMEN COMETH' I SUPPOSE IS A LINK...
Published 15 months ago by STEVIE


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A breath of fresh air, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Katmen Cometh (Audio CD)
Well it's been around 6 years or so since The Katmen released their fantastic debut album and the wait for their follow up album has been well worth it!!
Not that it needs it but this CD gives the Rockabilly / Rock 'n' Roll genre a breath of fresh air and a modern edge whilst still having that familiar sound that we all know and love.
Darrel Higham is on top form as always and is accompanied by the top drawer talents of Slim Jim Phantom on drums and Al Gare on bass.
It's also nice to hear the wonderful voice of Mrs Higham (Imelda May) and her Sister on backing vocals.
Every track on this CD is a winner but at this moment in time my two favourites would be "All In Good Time" and "I'll Make It Right If I Can".....Ask me next week and my choices might be different, as on this CD there is no padding out with filler. Every track screams quality.
A nice surprise is a re-visit to the track "The Love's All gone" from Darrel's solo CD (and my personal favourtie) "Ghost Of Love".

Anyway, give yourself a treat and purchase this CD. You won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Katmen Cometh (Audio CD)
I bought this not having heard any of the songs, it is an excellent album some fantastic songs on it, buy it NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic rockin CD, 13 April 2013
By 
Maria Lewis (Bucks, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Katmen Cometh (Audio CD)
We really enjoyed this CD - much better than the first Katmen CD. Really catchy songs, amazing guitar riffs, fresh drum and bass beats, all supported by brilliant Darrell Higham vocals and backing from Imelda May. One of the best new rock'a'billy albums in years. Well done Katmen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars katmen,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Katmen Cometh (Audio CD)
heard darl higham on the tv, great guitarist and his back up players, bill hayly look alike!
real rock a billy sounds, uses a peavy guitar and amp,,,,,super
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars back to the 50s., 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Katmen Cometh (Audio CD)
Brilliant tunes would recommend . Great to listen to good old rock &roll. I would recommend it To all music lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great album, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Katmen Cometh (MP3 Download)
A fantastic slice of contemporary rock and roll. - I have only recently got into the rock and roll / rockabilly thing and find new bands hit and miss compared to the older scene. I found out about Darrel and Al through the Imelda May connection and Slim Jim through the Stray Cats and Brian Setzer solo stuff. I was very intrigued to hear this off the back of their earlier album which is good. The tunes are classic rockers and the musicianship is superb. The production quality of the album is top notch and cuptures the feel of the three guys having a ball in the studio. If you do get a chance to catch them live then do they rocked Sheffield earlier this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a long time coming, 13 July 2013
By 
R. Bennett "hound dog" (eire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Katmen Cometh (Audio CD)
At long last a decent record label and a fine release hard to beleive that Darren is able to release an album of rockabilly in these modern times.
A great album by three very accoplished musicians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars real rockin stuff, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Katmen Cometh (MP3 Download)
great toe tapping album! rockabilly lives on with this very talented band, their cover of over, under, sideways, down is just brilliant. listen to this album, you wont be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my hubby likes this band, 19 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Katmen Cometh (Audio CD)
as my hubby was seeing these live in Cambridge, he brought this to get up to date with their songs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Katmen Cometh (MP3 Download)
Great song, from a great album, from a great band. Catch them live if you can, great to hear some new, fresh rockabilly sounds.

Slim Jim - legend
Darrell Higham - great guitar and vocals
Al Gare - great bass player.

Good backings from Imelda and her sister as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Katmen Cometh
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews