Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A fine wine for anyone.
I would highly recommend this wine, its great tasting with a smooth fruit flavour but it isn't over powering either and is usable in cooking desserts as well if your looking for something different. You get a lot for the money with it being a case of two, well not case but well protected in bubble-wrap, either way I've brought a few of these and never had one break, so...
Published 1 month ago by Steins-brother

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Too Sweet for me
I thought I'd give this a try after enjoying a bottle of Choya Sake. It's much sweeter than I'd expected, a little bit like cough medicine, not really to my liking. I think this probably appeals to people who like Red Bull. I'll stick to sake which is a much more delicate flavour.
Published 3 days ago by Rupert


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A fine wine for anyone., 26 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Choya Original Ume Plum Fortified Wine 75 cl (Case of 2) (Grocery)
I would highly recommend this wine, its great tasting with a smooth fruit flavour but it isn't over powering either and is usable in cooking desserts as well if your looking for something different. You get a lot for the money with it being a case of two, well not case but well protected in bubble-wrap, either way I've brought a few of these and never had one break, so excellent care on delivery as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Too Sweet for me, 19 Nov 2014
By 
This review is from: Choya Original Ume Plum Fortified Wine 75 cl (Case of 2) (Grocery)
I thought I'd give this a try after enjoying a bottle of Choya Sake. It's much sweeter than I'd expected, a little bit like cough medicine, not really to my liking. I think this probably appeals to people who like Red Bull. I'll stick to sake which is a much more delicate flavour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet and sour plum 'wine' but more than that!, 26 Dec 2013
By 
Henk Beentje "Henk Beentje" (Kew, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Choya Original Ume Plum Fortified Wine 75 cl (Case of 2) (Grocery)
"Made from Steeping ripe green Ume fruit in Shochu" - ume are plums from the prunus mume tree, and shochu ('burnt liquor') is an old-fashioned japanese drink made from fermented barley or rice with a distinctive sweet/sour taste. Alcohol content is 10%. Apparently this drink is very popular in Japan.
I bought it because friends coming back from HK had bought me a bottle of Choya extra aged, which I loved. When it was finished i checked UK availability, but it is *very* expensive, so I thought I would try this version: same brand, but without the aging (or the plums in the bottle). I think this is very nice too, but not as wonderful (and i use the term on purpose!) as the aged Choya. More affordable, though, and very drinkabel. I enjoy it after a nice meal as an 'digestif' for which it is purrfect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ... who enjoys plum wine this seemed to be a good choice. It is however far to sweet for ..., 14 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Choya Original Ume Plum Fortified Wine 75 cl (Case of 2) (Grocery)
As someone who enjoys plum wine this seemed to be a good choice. It is however far to sweet for me. It was a very pleasant drink - just far to sweet to drink more than one glass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Choya Original Ume Plum Fortified Wine 75 cl (Case of 2) (Grocery)
If you like Japanese Plum Wine, you'll like this. For the price you pay - it's worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Choya Original Ume Plum Fortified Wine 75 cl (Case of 2) (Grocery)
Yum!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews