Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb DAB radio
This radio is a marvel of technology. Not only is it beautifully designed with its shiny black fascia and bright orange OLED display, but the sound out of the built in speaker is surprisingly good considering its size. I expected to have to charge it out of the box but the charge indicator showed full so I was able to explore its features without having to connect the...
Published 18 months ago by Mark Bullock

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why?
Let's start with the positive. This seems to be a very well made radio. It has a built-in speaker which is perfectly good enough for speech. It has a telescopic aerial which retracts fully for portable/headphone use (when the headphone cable serves as the aerial). In contrast to some other reviews, I don't think the aerial is flimsy at all, given its constraints. Sure,...
Published 6 months ago by Pete


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb DAB radio, 13 Aug. 2013
By 
Mark Bullock "snap shot" (Carryduff, N. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts SportsDAB3 DAB/DAB+/FM RDS Personal Digital Radio with Loudspeaker and OLED Display (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
This radio is a marvel of technology. Not only is it beautifully designed with its shiny black fascia and bright orange OLED display, but the sound out of the built in speaker is surprisingly good considering its size. I expected to have to charge it out of the box but the charge indicator showed full so I was able to explore its features without having to connect the charger.

The bright clear OLED display is factory set to stay on all the time, and such was its appeal that I left it on this setting. I imagine that this would seriously reduce the length of a charge so will switch to time out after 30 seconds after it first needs charged. As on the previous model it has a sleep timer but on this unit it goes up to 2 hours instead of 90 minutes. There are also separate buttons for 'Band' (FM or DAB) and 'Info' (details of the station you are listening to). The 'key lock' button remains and is a very useful feature.

Only slight downside is that there's no provision for a carry strap, but I found an old mini-disc player case which it fits into nicely and will help protect it when I'm out and about.

All in all its a great little unit and even though it may seem a little pricey as with all Roberts products it is built well and future proof (it is DAB+ compatible). I would recommend it to anyone looking for a truly portable but functional DAB/FM radio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roberts Sports DAB3, 2 April 2014
By 
Brad Carter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts SportsDAB3 DAB/DAB+/FM RDS Personal Digital Radio with Loudspeaker and OLED Display (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
This fits the bill exactly in what I have been looking for to replace my Pure 1500 DAB personal radio.

The reason for replacing the Pure radio was at nearly 8 years old the rechargeable battery was no longer fully charging and it seems impossible to find a reliable replacement battery. The Roberts Sports DAB3 has a non-replaceable rechargeable battery, something that could be of concern, however if it gives me another 7 years of service then that would be a reasonably economical lifetime.

The setup of this unit was a breeze and good reception available in with an error signal up to around 10 - that would have lost the signal on the pure unit. I did have some concern after about 4 weeks of using as the DAB band in which 'Talksport' is broadcast disappeared completely. However checking with a couple of other DAB radios this seemed to be a transmitter rather than a receiver issue, though unable to find anything online to confirm this - strange. The signal returned after a couple of days to all DAB receivers/units.

Battery life seems fine as I have only charged the once as the initial setup and used for well over 20 hours far - and that is a couple of months usage.

Long term usage - who knows? I can only comment on mu=y usage to date and that looks to be very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars roberts sports dab, 14 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts SportsDAB3 DAB/DAB+/FM RDS Personal Digital Radio with Loudspeaker and OLED Display (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
having just purchased this radio after trying the different dab radios I find this one is so easy to use and very clear setting with the back light on
would recommend this for going for long walks with the hounds just waiting for a good case for the said item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why?, 15 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts SportsDAB3 DAB/DAB+/FM RDS Personal Digital Radio with Loudspeaker and OLED Display (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Let's start with the positive. This seems to be a very well made radio. It has a built-in speaker which is perfectly good enough for speech. It has a telescopic aerial which retracts fully for portable/headphone use (when the headphone cable serves as the aerial). In contrast to some other reviews, I don't think the aerial is flimsy at all, given its constraints. Sure, you wouldn't want to pick the radio up with it and swing it around but I never felt in any danger of damaging it with normal, reasonably careful use.

So why only two stars? Sadly, this is the second portable audio device I've bought recently that has been totally let down by a dismal user interface (UI). I can't imagine why manufacturers go to so much trouble to create fundamentally good devices only to squander all that effort with a UI that (apparently) has not been thought through at all.

Firstly, there's the power button. This is right next to the volume up button and right opposite the 'jog wheel' - which you have to press and hold in order to get to the menu (which you have to do a lot, see below). I lost count of the number of times I accidentally switched it off. If it must live in that position, why isn't it a press and hold control, like the menu access?

However, that is a minor niggle compared with the use of the presets/favorites. Roberts appear to have forgotten that selecting a station to listen to is one of the day to day tasks you do with a radio, rather than some sort of obscure setting action that you only do occasionally. Having presets is of little use if it's more fiddly to select one than to find the station by normal tuning in the first place. Things are not quite that bad for FM but for DAB, it's a close call. There is no dedicated control to access presets, you have to use the menu. Strangely, there is a dedicated control for display information (bizarrely adorned with a red dot, like a 'record' control), so if you are suddenly overwhelmed with the desire to know the frequency of the DAB multiplex or its 'signal error', you will find your task far simpler than if you should decide to listen to a different preset.

Putting preset selection in the menu isn't a great plan but if (for some reason) you have to, surely it should be right at the top of the first menu? Roberts, it would seem, disagree. To get to the preset list you must; activate the menu, select 'Favorite station', avoid the temptation to select the first item on the sub-menu (enticingly but confusingly called 'Preset') and scroll down to 'Recall'. The 'Preset' option displays an almost identical list of presets but beware - it is actually for storing a preset - selecting the one you want will overwrite it! You actually need less control actions to store a preset (something that you will probably do rarely) than you do to select one to listen to (something you may well do daily)!

I pointed all this out to Roberts in the hope that there might be a firmware update in the near future that could at least address the worst of the problems. They said that there wasn't and suggested I return the radio for a refund. You can't argue with that......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What a disappointment, 24 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts SportsDAB3 DAB/DAB+/FM RDS Personal Digital Radio with Loudspeaker and OLED Display (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
I bought this to replace a Roberts Sports 988 radio which has just started to fail after many years excellent service. I chose the Roberts DAB3 because MW reception of Radio 5 Live is generally poor and I was spending a fortine an AAA batteries.

In many ways the Roberts DAB3 is great - it looks good, its a neat size, DAB and FM reception seems pretty good, it can run for about a week of average use after a 4 hour battery charge, the display can be set to turn off after a short period. But, what were they thinking when they added the sleep timer function? The Sport 988 will always turn itself off after about 90 minutes - and if I want to listen for longer I just turn it on again. The DAB3 let's you set different sleep time periods (good), but you have to reset it (through a not straight forward set of menu options) each time you want to use it! As I mostly use the radio late at night I want it to turn itself off after, say, 1 hour every time I use it. Why would they think you'd want to reset it every time??

Then there's the volume control - two buttons to step through volume levels. The quietest setting is not quiet enough, the steps are too large, the buttons are fiddly. What is wrong with a wheel and a full range of volume levels? Thirdly, there's a background his which is a bit annoying. And fourthly, I find the supplied earphones uncomfortable.

So overall, pretty disappointing. The price suggests this should be a top of the range pocket DAB radio so they should have given a bit more thought to the design process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent DAB Radio, 29 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts SportsDAB3 DAB/DAB+/FM RDS Personal Digital Radio with Loudspeaker and OLED Display (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Really impressed. Reception has been good wherever I go. I connected it to my car radio and had DAB stations without a glitch from London to Sheffield. Perfect for what I want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice., 8 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts SportsDAB3 DAB/DAB+/FM RDS Personal Digital Radio with Loudspeaker and OLED Display (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Bought this for hubby,s birthday
He loves this product, takes it to work
Uses it in the car
What more can I say.
Happy hubby
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great little DAB, 19 Aug. 2013
By 
L. W. Newton "lwn83" (Nottingham, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roberts SportsDAB3 DAB/DAB+/FM RDS Personal Digital Radio with Loudspeaker and OLED Display (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Unpacking this DAB radio is was surprised how small it is and how well made the radio is, it even has a built in speaker!

So after charging this radio up I attempted to get a dab radio station, I got zilch so went outside and got 38 stations, I went back indoors and the radio worked fine, even flicking from station to station it held the signal ok using the built in telescopic aerial, we have other DAB radios around the house that have no difficulty getting a signal indoors. This radio also has FM but who is going to use that unless you are somewhere you can't get a DAB signal of course.

The oled display is bright and crisp with its orange glow, information on the display is good and covers all areas including signal strength, battery level, station name and what's playing info, press the info button and a host of info can be displayed.

Sound quality is ok through the built in speaker and surprisingly loud but has a total lack of any bass, but hey, the speaker is only 1.5 inch in diameter. I plugged in the supplied earphones and was met with a rather flat and lifeless sound quality, there is no eq or bass/treble setting in the menu. I plugged in my Ultimate Ears triple-fi pros and the sound improved a little.

Claimed battery life is 18 hours, this I am yet to find out and charging of the built in lithium ion battery is done via the supplied mains charger, however when the radio is switched off there is no indication of it charging, I feel the battery icon should stay on the display whilst charging in the off position.

Being Robert's this radio is of a good build quality.

There is room for improvement though, firstly the lack of an eq or a simple bass/treble control in the menu to me is a huge over site, the sound is flat otherwise and can be a little lifeless, also no charging indicator when the radio is off. The buttons on the side of the radio are easily pressed by accident unless you have the lock switch on.

Overall a decent little radio with great portability, it easily fits into the pocket. I'm going to be using this radio in a garage that has no power, it's not going to be shaking the rafters but at least I can have some music whilst working.

4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent but Mind the Aerial, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts SportsDAB3 DAB/DAB+/FM RDS Personal Digital Radio with Loudspeaker and OLED Display (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
I loved my previous Roberts Sport Radio and felt I had to replace it when the aerial snapped off when it toppled over onto the floor. This is a slightly more expensive model and I'm delighted that it is so light and portable. As you must have the aerial extended when listening in loudspeaker mode, I have to remind myself to push it back in for fear of another catastrophe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor Reception. Poor Audio, 2 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts SportsDAB3 DAB/DAB+/FM RDS Personal Digital Radio with Loudspeaker and OLED Display (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Too Expensive. Bought this radio as a carry round the house set. Very small and has flimsy aerial which is too short for FM reception. Audio very weedy. DAB reception poor. Sent it back and purchased Sony XDR 40DBP instead for less than half the price. Sony has better receiver and better audio and has a decent aerial. It is also much better value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews