Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nearly a winner
Having looked high and low for a wake up radio with analogue display, and I already use Roberts radios, this looked like the winner. The set up proceedure and alarm settings are fairly easy and from a bedside view, the radio look and display is quite compact and not too bulky. The sound quality is ok for the objective of being an alarm radio, and the variable volume...
Published 13 months ago by K. Smith

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good radio and clock with a few niggles
This is a good DAB (and FM) radio and it is a good clock that is easy to read. The clock radio/alarm feature also works well.

You can set up to four alarms that can be either a buzzer or the radio on a selected preset. If you choose the buzzer, it starts a low volue and increases over time. Each alarm can be set to either daily, weekdays, weekends or once...
Published 9 months ago by Jens F


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nearly a winner, 27 Feb. 2014
By 
K. Smith "Capt Flugga" (Aberdeen Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts ECO16 DAB/DAB+/FM RDS Digital Clock Radio (Electronics)
Having looked high and low for a wake up radio with analogue display, and I already use Roberts radios, this looked like the winner. The set up proceedure and alarm settings are fairly easy and from a bedside view, the radio look and display is quite compact and not too bulky. The sound quality is ok for the objective of being an alarm radio, and the variable volume control on the right hand side is easily reached.

The analogue face is a good size and display, electronically set and no ticking, which makes a nice difference from all the digital machines we have these days. The clock face has a nice blue light tinge and this can be varied in brightness from no light, to a fairly bright light level. The clock face is easily readable through the night as well.

Station programmes can be set, but I did initially struggle a bit on this simple exercise. Over all I would have given this 5 stars except for the following which are personal complaints, and as you can see from the reviews, some people have other plus or minus points.

1). The lowest level of light setting is still a little bit too bright for me through the night, and takes a bit of time to accept and get use to. I would prefer a very dim click face light, lower than this level.
2). The wake up volume level is set at a pre programmed level by Roberts, which us way above my own preference. It does build up slowly, and then exceeds what I would call a relaxing wake up level of volume. In this case I switch it off, and then switch it on again to my preferred level of volume, which does defeat the object in one way, but then again, it has woken me up in the process.
3) the buttons on top of the radio clock are flat, unlit and close together, and there fire you need to memorise where everything is to control or change any programming etc. these could maybe have been incorporated with the light settings.

If the above negative points were solved it would have 5 stars in my opinion, but it falls short in this case. Good little radio though and recommended to those looking for analogue face and wake up to radio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At last a decent product from Roberts., 25 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts ECO16 DAB/DAB+/FM RDS Digital Clock Radio (Electronics)
For years I have put up with a Roberts Milano FM radio/alarm clock that I could only use for the radio and clock; the hoops you had to jump through to set it for anything else - alarms, sleep, snooze etc - were just ridiculous, using stupid little pimple buttons with unreadable labels that plagued most Roberts radios for far too long. Minimalism doesn't work for bleary eyes and fumbling fingers! This replaced my favourite Radio/alarm clock of all time, a white Sony cube with analogue clock face and simple buttons that lived by me at home or away. In vain I sought for another. The old one still works, but its aged face is dreadfully discoloured now ; it is definitely more use than ornament.
Recently, after trawling through page after page on Amazon I came upon this black beauty from Roberts ... analogue clock face, DAB/FM, and large, sensible buttons! I looked it up on the Roberts website - it wasn't there. Did it really exist? I took a chance and ordered it from apparently the sole current supplier, Bridport Music. It arrived almost at once, beautifully packed, and is now doing what I needed a Clock/radio/alarm to do for all those years.
It is so easy to set up and set alarms. The only reason it has four stars, not five, is because getting the presets in for FM radio is proving tricky, and the instructions made a mistake in the section on DAB presets (it says hold the Select button down until it says the station is now preset, but in fact you have to hold the Preset button down and press the Select button for a moment and it's done. My favourite digital stations are now all sorted.)
Anyway, with its multiple dimmer/off settings for the delicate bluish backlight, gentle wake-up system with radio or buzzer, and largely intuitive settings, this is the bedside companion I was looking for. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 17 Oct. 2013
By 
Atticman (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Roberts ECO16 DAB/DAB+/FM RDS Digital Clock Radio (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a wonderfully designed alarm clock - how nice to see a DAB clock-radio with a PROPER analogue face! When you firat plug it in, it picks up the signal and the hands start to automatically whir round on their own to the proper time. It's a bit eerie but it's nice to now the clock is always telling the time right!

There are three alarms you can set up, deciding on time, day, repeat (once, weekends, weekdays etc) and source - whether you want to have a buzzer, FM or DAB, station etc. When the alarm goes off, the face and digital panel on top gradually brighten over a minute or two, as the sound simultaneusly increases in volume, meaning you are gently awoken rather than having that feeling of getting shaken awoke like most alarm clocks!

The sound is fine, though a touch more depth and bass wouldn't hurt. I certainly wouldn't replace my Pure DAB radio in the kitchen with this - the sound doesn't compare to the Pure models - but then it's designed as a bedside companion, to be played quietly. It has all the expected snooze functions, sleep functions you'd expect, presets etc etc. My only gripe would be that the menus could be a touch more straightforward, especially setting the alarm. The button layout also isn't great, and it would be nice if the buttons on top lit up so you could set it in the dark. But these are quibbles really, as this is a great bit of kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to Use Clock/Radio/Alarm in a Compact Unit., 18 Aug. 2013
By 
Bruce "from Brighton" (UK - England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Roberts ECO16 DAB/DAB+/FM RDS Digital Clock Radio (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is very compact and ideal for a bedside unit that can sit on a narrow shelf or small table and has a lot of functions/features. I plugged it in, set the aerial straight and on pressing the on-off button, the unit started searching for DAB channels.

Very shortly it had tuned in and found all the DAB channels and had set the time on both the digital display and the analogue clock face. The set-up process could not have been simpler - full marks to Roberts on this.

I liked the large clock face, which is easy to see and read in a dimly lit bedroom, from any distance - but of course, whether you want this kind of "look" is personal preference. I also like the large volume wheel on the side, which you can make sure is near to you in bed and allows you to adjust this easily - i.e. without getting out of bed.

The sound is OK for a bedside unit, but it's not going to fill a room with sound. It's very clear, but lacks bass and dynamic range. In fact the copious documentation points you towards options for compressing the output to make it easier to hear. The instruction booklet is very clear and has good illustrations to make all the functions accessible.

Basically this is a clock/radio/alarm with a quiet radio added that is suitable for some quiet listening and gives you music or chat to gently wake up to, rather than just an alarm. But the sound is not really up to the quality of most small DAB players.

This is mostly down to the provision of a single, mono speaker in the back of the unit - which seems a bit strange - you would expect the sound to come out at you, rather than aimed at the wall. So if you have the clock face pointed towards you (which seems to be the most logical positioning) then the sound is going in the opposite direction.

There are a few useful inputs/outputs on the back - for headphones, auxilliary input and a USB input. But disappointingly, the latter is only used for software upgrades.

Overall I liked this unit and it fulfils the functions I would want from a bedside unit - but some people might prefer a proper iPod dock or a USB that could be used to connect an MP3 player. The pluses for me are the ease of use, with large volume control, the large clockface and the compact nature of the whole unit. Nice for quiet, late-night Radio 4 possibly - but it doesn't do so well for loud music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what in needs to, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts ECO16 DAB/DAB+/FM RDS Digital Clock Radio (Electronics)
I got this to replace an older (non DAB) version which was getting a bit long in the tooth. I'm not one for reading instructions unless I have to, but managed to set up my weekday and weekend alarms straight away. The clock is easy for me to read in the middle of the night when I don't have my glasses on, and the radio can go way louder than I'll ever need it to.

The only thing about this clock radio I'd change is the screen used for the menus. You have to be right on top of the clock to read this, which is a bit awkward given the setup of my bedside table. Sloping the screen more towards the front would have worked better in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pretty unique combination of DAB with analogue clock face, 19 Aug. 2013
By 
Don Panik (Cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Roberts ECO16 DAB/DAB+/FM RDS Digital Clock Radio (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
If you are wanting a DAB / FM radio alarm with an analogue clock your choices are very limited indeed. In fact I really couldn't find an alternative to this Roberts model, but fear not, this is an excellent product which succeeds in every aspect except one.

So lets get that negative out of the way. The sound from the less than 1 watt rear facing mono speaker is rather thin at best. It will go surprisingly loud without distortion, but you would not buy this for the quality of music reproduction, which to my ears is barely acceptable. It will produce a stereo output for headphones, so for those who like to listen to music radio in bed I guess that could be the way to go. Or you could run a line from the headphone out into an external speaker. I tried this through to a Bose Speaker and the result was impressive. In practice when listening to radio 4 or similar talk radio the reproduction is ok. And given the compression used on DAB broadcasts these days (64kbs on some stations) I guess that fidelity is not really an option anyway.

In every other respect this Roberts model is a winner. The analogue and digital clocks set themselves from the DAB signal. The choice of 4 alarms is great and I like the option to distinguish week days from weekends. I like that that there is a chip that remembers the alarms once set - a real boon if you are prone to getting power cuts. This will turn itself on when the power returns, find the right time and remember what time the alarm was set to go off.

It is easy to set up (even if the instructions are wrong in terms of storing to the presets) - finds all the DAB stations easily. It is intuitive to use and the option for 4 levels of backlight plus off is great. It is a little bigger than I was expecting - but this makes it easy to use and it is still a very compact unit easily fitting on the bedside table. Reception seems pretty good and the option to force mono on FM broadcasts helps to give a hiss free output even on poorly received stations. In short it functions very well as an attractive bedside clock, speech radio and flexible alarm. Oh yes, the alarm even increases gradually in volume to be a little bit more `humane'!

So if you really want an analogue alarm clock radio this is the one to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good radio and clock with a few niggles, 25 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts ECO16 DAB/DAB+/FM RDS Digital Clock Radio (Electronics)
This is a good DAB (and FM) radio and it is a good clock that is easy to read. The clock radio/alarm feature also works well.

You can set up to four alarms that can be either a buzzer or the radio on a selected preset. If you choose the buzzer, it starts a low volue and increases over time. Each alarm can be set to either daily, weekdays, weekends or once. However, if you use the once feature, you have to set the date manually every time – it defaults to whatever date it was set to last, not today/tomorrow based on whether the time of day has been reached yet.

There are four levels of light level in the display (plus off) for both on and off. Personally, I would prefer the lowest level a tad lower – or for it to have a light sensor.

Finally, the buttons are not lit and only the snooze button stands out so it is difficult to operate in the dark.

It seems to be good at setting the time automatically from the DAB signal. Still to find out whether it does the summer/winter switch properly overnight thogh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tradition and modern blend beautifully, 10 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts ECO16 DAB/DAB+/FM RDS Digital Clock Radio (Electronics)
Brilliant classy looking DAB radio. Easy to set up. Only slight criticism is the buttons are not raised, makes it a little hard to feel the difference if you want to change settings at night. The clock is very easy to read at night, and the varying brightness helpful . The sound quality is acceptable, while the 'wake up to radio' feature, is a very pleasant way to start the day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost unique and nearly brilliant, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts ECO16 DAB/DAB+/FM RDS Digital Clock Radio (Electronics)
A retro, analogue clock face, easy to read in the middle of the night, and a contemporary, DAB radio. A winning combination if you like those things. Multiple alarms that can be separately set for weekdays and weekends, sleep function, all the essentials. Only quibble is the rather complicated routine for setting the alarms. Perhaps I'm just an old dog ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to set up and use, good size and no 'ticking'....perfect ! !, 21 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roberts ECO16 DAB/DAB+/FM RDS Digital Clock Radio (Electronics)
Great clock to get my daughter up in the morning to her favourite tunes. ..easy to set the alarm and great quality sound. A nice neat compact size and the the low light clock face is perfect for night time. Definitely recommend...as it was also highly recommended to us !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Roberts ECO16 DAB/DAB+/FM RDS Digital Clock Radio
£74.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews