Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James remains consistent
If you loved James Blake's previous releases then you will enjoy this continuation of his haunting melodies and fractured songs creating an atmosphere of longing and passion. I'd heartily recommend this album.
Published 22 months ago by MartinandKashka

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not my cup of tea
I found the CD to be a bit samey, and by the end of it, quite depressing really. Definitely not a cheery purchase
Published 17 months ago by Mrs. Morag Wood


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERY PLEASED WITH CD..., 10 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overgrown (Audio CD)
Overgrown by James Blake was everything I expected it to be. Extremely gifted singer and songwriter. Wat ahead of his time. CD arrived promptly and very well packaged. I would definitely purchase more from Amazon...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't stop listening, 9 May 2013
This review is from: Overgrown (Audio CD)
I cannot stop listening to this album.
Perhaps it meets my current state of mind.
Perhaps its, no perhaps, it is a work of art.
Thank you James.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as could be, 25 April 2013
By 
Mr. Pa Walsh (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Overgrown (MP3 Download)
So many people seem to want to dislike James Blake. I have read many scathing comments regarding his voice from listeners. Perhaps this is a sign that his music isn't for everyone, which is often the case when someone new and individual comes along. Personally I loved his first album and this one builds from where that left off. The songs are more realised and his voice is stunningly engaging. Perhaps he sounds a little like Anthony Hegarty (another new and exciting talent when he first emerged) but that is no bad thing. The production and sampling on the album is excellent and incredibly mature. This is an exceptional album and for me definitely one of the best of the year. James blake is fast becoming a big name in the music industry which is unusual for someone as talented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Stunning, 14 April 2013
This review is from: Overgrown (MP3 Download)
Best of album of 2013 by far. Nothing comes close, this is beautifully written & produced, & yes it has a WooTan rap too amongst the haunting & mesmeric feel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars incredible album, 13 April 2013
By 
Mr. Sunil C. Vishin "funkymonkeydoodah" (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overgrown (MP3 Download)
bar a silly rap mishmash this is a superb album, bringing a bit of the Blue Nile into today's music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overgrown (MP3 Download)
James Blake is an artist. Every track is absolutely phenomenal and makes me want to listen to it over and over again. It has a slightly different vibe to his last album, but, for me, it is just as good and maybe even better. I would definitely recommend this album to anyone who liked the first one or who wants to experience a bit of James Blake. This album is worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overgrown (Audio CD)
Very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I wanted to LOVE it, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overgrown (Audio CD)
I really, really wanted this album. I bought it for my son then ripped it right out of his hands and stole it for myself. He soon had it back though.
I love the sound of Blake's voice, it has that atmospheric winter's day quality that takes you someplace else. And then, just as you're getting into it, you notice the backing beat.
It's as if someone said to him, 'Look, mate, it's all very well singing sad songs, but people don't want that, they need a beat to keep them into it.' So that's what he did.
Songs which should be an uninterrupted ballad with his beautiful voice coming through all the way have the most intrusive backing beat tagging along - and this goes right through the album. And once you hear it, like a dripping tap or a clicking pen, it cannot be unheard.
Enough already! Please re-release without the beat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overgrown (Audio CD)
all good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The problem with anticipation, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overgrown (Audio CD)
Having loved a couple of tracks on his debut I really wanted to like this album but I just don't. Maybe it's a grower but since the first listen I just haven't been drawn back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Overgrown
Overgrown by James Blake
Buy MP3 Album£8.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews