Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 October 2013
I bought this solely for watching Youtube videos & for the fact that it allegedly plays files from hard drives up to 2 TB.

Watching Youtube vids is fine if you use the annoying on screen search and enter a letter at a time from the single line of letters - which is irritating. When you watch a video there is basically no search fast forward or rewind function - well, there is - it will "fast forward" in annoying 10 second intervals!!

However you can attach your Android device and pair it so you can use the search on that. The problem is that the videos do not playback correctly, constantly repeating the last 10 seconds every minute or 2.

Miracast - I haven't got this to work even though it is visible it just doesn't connect for whatever reason.

Playing back files from a HD is an issue too. It says it will play up to 2 TB hard drives. However when I connect my 1TB HD and go to play videos it says that there are too many - over 50 and won't recognise them all.

Also it will not even recognise sub folders. When you do get a video to play it is actually a good interface and FFD and REV work quite well and go through the video quickly.

I am in 2 minds as to whether I will return this as it really isn't as described or fit for purpose. It also has Netflix & iPlayer - neither of which I have tried so may be good for them.

Panasonic could fix these bugs with a simple firmware update but judging by other comments doesn't seem like they are bothered.

I paid £29.99 for this and that is overpriced for what it does. If they fix the bugs then it would be great.

***Edit 30 October. Miracast and iPlayer don't work on mine - AT ALL! I can only assume that the reason these were being sold off at £30 is the fact that they don't work properly or had a bad batch. Most reviews say that it doesn't work as it should.

As a result mine is being sent back. As a side note my Samsung TV which is 3 years old plays all file formats and folders in my 1TB portable hard drive so the fact this thing doesn't and is a 2013 product is a bit of a joke.

One other thing to consider is that mine was sold via Amazon and delivered by MyHermes. I found it odd that it was simply delivered in the Panasonic box with no additional packaging, especially when Amazon is the king of packaging. Either Amazon sent it out like that, it was drop shipped from another supplier or the MyHermes delivery people opened the Amazon packaging and discarded it? The actual Invoice was attached directly to the box.

Something is definitely up with this product!
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2013
I purchased this a week ago and first impressions were good.

It connected to wifi no bother and immediately offered me a firmware upgrade which installed no problem.

HOWEVER - when I connected my 2tb drive, it said it would not show all folders / files as number had been exceeded!

Admittedly I do have thousands of files, but the drive plays on every other box / tv I've got - including my Panasonic 50st50 internal media player!

Contacted customer support who, while helpful, were no help at all. They did not know of this problem.

I've tried it on a smaller 500gb drive with obviously far fewer folders / files - same thing..

I regret to say it, but do not buy this streamer. it has a fault that Panasonic don't know about (well they know about it now!)

Oh, the streaming was fine by the way....
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2014
Bought this for £39 yesterday to use on second TV to add Netflix and Iplayer access to an older portable. My initial impressions;

It's a small and neat device and is easy to set up and get going, connecting to the internet via either wired or wireless access. The remote is typical panasonic logic though with the disappointment that it's not programmable to different TVs to access volume so unless you have a panasonic tv, it's not going to work.

What you do notice it that it's very slow to access services from the main menus - both Iplayer and Netflix take 20-30 seconds to load up and this is not helped by using a wired connection to router, so it's an issue with the speed of the box, not the connection. That said, once it has loaded up, access to programs via the menu is reasonable. Once running, picture and sound quality is fine, showing HD at 1080p with vibrant colour and detail. Be aware that this won't work with iOS systems at all, so if that's a requirement this is not for you. Also I cannot comment on connecting a hard drive to the unit as it's not something I need.

In summary, if you are looking to add bbc Iplayer and Netflix to a second or portable tv then this unit is ok, just as long as you're not in a hurry or need the speeds of a modern smart tv this does the job, not outstanding just ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2013
This is a great device and far cheaper alternative to the AppleTV which was my initial choice, but the thought of having to convert all those films was too much. My only criticism is the navigation is a bit clunky, takes quite a while to scroll through my library, and the Netflix button is annoyingly close to the up arrow and with my large fingers i keep hitting it. It will play everything i have thrown at it and demonstates no lag! Recommended!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
Good value media player but I've found it to be a little slow and buggy, regularly freezing up (and needing unplugging), and crashing on some apps like YouTube.
Miracast also temperamental (it will mirror a Nexus 7, but not my Nexus 5.. very bizarre).
It does work well for iplayer (but you can get this on a £10 SKY NowTV box), but if like me you're looking for a 5GHz wifi compatible media player, or one that supports Miracast (essentially Airplay screen mirroring for Android & others), it's a decent box. But please Panasonic, get some bug fix updates out ASAP.
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2013
NO GOOD....XXX The I-Player feature does not work (in UK Dec. 26th. 2013) with latest firmware installed. XXX

NETFLIX is good on it as is Euronews.
YOUTUBE works but the youtube features are slow to select due needing to select a letter at a time to build up a search criteria.
CNBC works.
SHOUTCAST radio works.
DAILY MOTION WORKS
Browser works (but slow).

Bought this to use with netflix to free up my pc. Pleased with that but disappointed by lack of propre Iplayer capapility.
mol
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
At £29.99 this little player is a bargain, miracast, iplayer and YouTube work flawlessly for me although you tube interface is akward, but the highlight is Netflix which Is my main use, picture and sound passed through my yamaha receiver are excellent and with a little tweeking works well with harmony 700 remote. Wifi also works very well and not having to tie up another ethernet source is also suitable for my set up and makes it easy to move to another TV somewhere in the house if I want to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2013
I bought this to use Miracast from my Samsung Galaxy Note 2014.

The video plays perfectly on the tablet, and via HDMI, but using this box it's far from perfect.

The quality is fine but it drops frames and simply cannot run a 1080p video smoothly.

I could get a better frame rate by turning off my wireless router, but it's still not good enough.

I am going to try a direct Mircast to a new Samsung TV to make sure it's not just a common issue.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2013
Installed this product without any issues and on day 1 all worked well.
On day 2 rebooted the product and tried to use BBC Iplayer. The screen froze with the message "Browser Initializing, please wait...".
This message persisted for a good half hour, the player was frozen and the remote control did nothing. I eventually switched the player off.
I rebooted and tried again 2 or 3 times without success.
This product is unusable and I have returned it for a refund.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
Whilst the product was simple to set up initially, and most features work perfectly well, I was disappointed to discover that BBC iplayer would not work. I rang Panasonic for help, but have to say that they weren't much use at all, insisting that my internet connection was too slow, despite having checked it (according to the iplayer tests, the connection was comfortably fast enough to support all of its services). I'll be returning for a refund.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)