Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great little device ...
This is a great device and far cheaper alternative to the AppleTV which was my initial choice, but the thought of having to convert all those films was too much. My only criticism is the navigation is a bit clunky, takes quite a while to scroll through my library, and the Netflix button is annoyingly close to the up arrow and with my large fingers i keep hitting it. It...
Published 12 months ago by Scott Cotterell

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Glitchy as you like
I bought this solely for watching Youtube videos & for the fact that it allegedly plays files from hard drives up to 2 TB.

Watching Youtube vids is fine if you use the annoying on screen search and enter a letter at a time from the single line of letters - which is irritating. When you watch a video there is basically no search fast forward or rewind function -...
Published 14 months ago by Ace reviews


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Glitchy as you like, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic DMP-MS10EB-K Smart Networking Streaming Player (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
I bought this solely for watching Youtube videos & for the fact that it allegedly plays files from hard drives up to 2 TB.

Watching Youtube vids is fine if you use the annoying on screen search and enter a letter at a time from the single line of letters - which is irritating. When you watch a video there is basically no search fast forward or rewind function - well, there is - it will "fast forward" in annoying 10 second intervals!!

However you can attach your Android device and pair it so you can use the search on that. The problem is that the videos do not playback correctly, constantly repeating the last 10 seconds every minute or 2.

Miracast - I haven't got this to work even though it is visible it just doesn't connect for whatever reason.

Playing back files from a HD is an issue too. It says it will play up to 2 TB hard drives. However when I connect my 1TB HD and go to play videos it says that there are too many - over 50 and won't recognise them all.

Also it will not even recognise sub folders. When you do get a video to play it is actually a good interface and FFD and REV work quite well and go through the video quickly.

I am in 2 minds as to whether I will return this as it really isn't as described or fit for purpose. It also has Netflix & iPlayer - neither of which I have tried so may be good for them.

Panasonic could fix these bugs with a simple firmware update but judging by other comments doesn't seem like they are bothered.

I paid £29.99 for this and that is overpriced for what it does. If they fix the bugs then it would be great.

***Edit 30 October. Miracast and iPlayer don't work on mine - AT ALL! I can only assume that the reason these were being sold off at £30 is the fact that they don't work properly or had a bad batch. Most reviews say that it doesn't work as it should.

As a result mine is being sent back. As a side note my Samsung TV which is 3 years old plays all file formats and folders in my 1TB portable hard drive so the fact this thing doesn't and is a 2013 product is a bit of a joke.

One other thing to consider is that mine was sold via Amazon and delivered by MyHermes. I found it odd that it was simply delivered in the Panasonic box with no additional packaging, especially when Amazon is the king of packaging. Either Amazon sent it out like that, it was drop shipped from another supplier or the MyHermes delivery people opened the Amazon packaging and discarded it? The actual Invoice was attached directly to the box.

Something is definitely up with this product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DOESN'T PLAY TOO MANY FOLDERS / FILES, 8 Nov 2013
This review is from: Panasonic DMP-MS10EB-K Smart Networking Streaming Player (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
I purchased this a week ago and first impressions were good.

It connected to wifi no bother and immediately offered me a firmware upgrade which installed no problem.

HOWEVER - when I connected my 2tb drive, it said it would not show all folders / files as number had been exceeded!

Admittedly I do have thousands of files, but the drive plays on every other box / tv I've got - including my Panasonic 50st50 internal media player!

Contacted customer support who, while helpful, were no help at all. They did not know of this problem.

I've tried it on a smaller 500gb drive with obviously far fewer folders / files - same thing..

I regret to say it, but do not buy this streamer. it has a fault that Panasonic don't know about (well they know about it now!)

Oh, the streaming was fine by the way....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Does the job ok, as long as you're not in a hurry!, 7 Sep 2014
By 
Mr. Carl D. Cattell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Panasonic DMP-MS10EB-K Smart Networking Streaming Player (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Bought this for £39 yesterday to use on second TV to add Netflix and Iplayer access to an older portable. My initial impressions;

It's a small and neat device and is easy to set up and get going, connecting to the internet via either wired or wireless access. The remote is typical panasonic logic though with the disappointment that it's not programmable to different TVs to access volume so unless you have a panasonic tv, it's not going to work.

What you do notice it that it's very slow to access services from the main menus - both Iplayer and Netflix take 20-30 seconds to load up and this is not helped by using a wired connection to router, so it's an issue with the speed of the box, not the connection. That said, once it has loaded up, access to programs via the menu is reasonable. Once running, picture and sound quality is fine, showing HD at 1080p with vibrant colour and detail. Be aware that this won't work with iOS systems at all, so if that's a requirement this is not for you. Also I cannot comment on connecting a hard drive to the unit as it's not something I need.

In summary, if you are looking to add bbc Iplayer and Netflix to a second or portable tv then this unit is ok, just as long as you're not in a hurry or need the speeds of a modern smart tv this does the job, not outstanding just ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great little device ..., 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic DMP-MS10EB-K Smart Networking Streaming Player (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
This is a great device and far cheaper alternative to the AppleTV which was my initial choice, but the thought of having to convert all those films was too much. My only criticism is the navigation is a bit clunky, takes quite a while to scroll through my library, and the Netflix button is annoyingly close to the up arrow and with my large fingers i keep hitting it. It will play everything i have thrown at it and demonstates no lag! Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't play MKV, 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic DMP-MS10EB-K Smart Networking Streaming Player (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Warning!

This product does not "play MKV's" as described. It would not play any of mine. I emailed Panasonic and their response was, quote
"Some MKV files may not play back"
and
"When using DLNA, the MKV type is not supported"

This sort of thing really annoys me. They should not be allowed to advertise 'half working' features.

Having to get a refund now. Grrr.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Deal of the century., 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic DMP-MS10EB-K Smart Networking Streaming Player (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
I've tried most of the media players out there and getting this for £29.99 made it a bargain. Plays from USB stick, drive and network seamlessly. Also has Mirracast so that all you Windows 8 users can wirelessly share your screen with the TV. Awesome.

Only gripe is the UI is not that pretty, but that's it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars decent at the price I paid, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic DMP-MS10EB-K Smart Networking Streaming Player (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
I bought this on a whim, it's a decent media player without being outstanding. It has played everything I've thrown at it but it's mainly used as a netflix player. Doesn't look like you can add apps to it either which is a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poor product, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic DMP-MS10EB-K Smart Networking Streaming Player (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Does not play mkv over dlna. Miracast didn't work. Buggy, unpleasant UI. Best avoided as a day to day streamer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Dont buy it, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic DMP-MS10EB-K Smart Networking Streaming Player (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Got this hoping to use the miracast function with my Galaxy Note 2 10.1 but it doesn't work. Tried youtube pair and it doesn't work. The rest of the function already exist with my PS3 .. what a waste of money. It is not expensive so I cant be bother to return it but completely lost confident with the brand Panasonic from now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great for you tube and netflicks on tv, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic DMP-MS10EB-K Smart Networking Streaming Player (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Excellent value for money, if a little slow too use to search films, music etc. Have a panasonic tv so works perfectly.
Can recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews