Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last the Wii U has a first person shooter with brains!
I enjoyed the first Deus Ex (PS2) game so much on my PC that I re-brought it for my PS2, because most of my old PC games don't work on my newer PC. It was one of those games which was ahead of it's time like Half-Life (PS2) and GoldenEye 007 (N64), which both came out around the same time period. Anyway Deus Ex: Human Revolution really captures the spirit of the first...
Published 14 months ago by Dragonlord

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
3 stars because it's cheap otherwise it plays like a graphically enhanced Goldeneye
Published 2 months ago by Mark Greenwald


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last the Wii U has a first person shooter with brains!, 27 Oct 2013
By 
Dragonlord (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deus Ex: Human Revolution - Director's Cut (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
I enjoyed the first Deus Ex (PS2) game so much on my PC that I re-brought it for my PS2, because most of my old PC games don't work on my newer PC. It was one of those games which was ahead of it's time like Half-Life (PS2) and GoldenEye 007 (N64), which both came out around the same time period. Anyway Deus Ex: Human Revolution really captures the spirit of the first game and makes good use of the GamePad. You can control augmentations and hack security devices using the touch screen controls. The map can be marked with pen, which might help you find yourself around easier. Also the whole game can be played on the GamePad, which is always handy if someone else wants to watch the tv.
The graphics have been enhanced for the Wii U version, which brings it closer to PC spec and the soundtrack is very atmospheric as well. The story and the RPG elements really make this game shine and are fantastic. Your character Adam Jensen has a good range of weapons, but he is a real pro at stealth attacks. The level design is well thought out and I'm so glad Square Enix are supporting the Wii U with this triple-A game, when so may other 3rd party developers are giving the Wii U the cold shoulder at the moment. Call of Duty: Ghosts (Nintendo Wii U) may sell more copies, but this game has far more substance and is better for it in my eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deus Ex, now with game pad augmentation, 6 Nov 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Deus Ex: Human Revolution - Director's Cut (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
Played the original human revolution when it was released a few years ago, but the boss fights completely ruined it for me. Now that they have been fixed this is reason alone to recommend this game, but the biggest surprise is how well the game pad is implemented here. The game pad functions as a full map, showing moving markers for your enemies and which way they are facing. The touch screen also includes a touch selectable I Inventory and upgrade system, and just generally improves this game for the better. If you have never played this game before i highly recommend picking this up, and even if you have I'd recommend getting this to play it again. One of the best wii u titles around and a steal for twenty quid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive version of what was already a masterpiece, 30 Oct 2013
By 
possessed.by.a.lemon - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deus Ex: Human Revolution - Director's Cut (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
Game of the year. There's a good chance that's what you said of Deus Ex: Human Revolution if you played it back in 2011 when it was first released. The same might be true of anyone who has the good fortune of being introduced to it as this new Director's Cut edition on Wii U two years down the line. This is a modern classic improved.

Not the most obvious of bedfellows, Deus Ex feels perfectly at home on a Nintendo console as soon as you load it up. Occasionally described as a first person shooter, don't fall into the trap of thinking your Call of Duty skills will get you far in this. Human Revolution is intended (and best experienced) as a cerebral stealth-action RPG. For the Nintendo hardcore who never touch other consoles, this introduction to the franchise will be a revelation.

Originally intended as a Wii U exclusive (or at least announced as such) this Director's Cut is no quick, cheap port. Polished graphics, improved AI, redesigned boss battles and DLC included all make this a worthy upgrade on any format. The use of the GamePad pushes the Wii U version to the forefront as the definitive one. Off-TV play, easy access menus and hacking are key additions. Moving the map to the GamePads's screen is another improvement in itself, then you realise you can draw on it! Equally handy is the inclusion of a digital strategy guide. Throw in some developer commentaries and the usual Miiverse integration and you have without question the best version on the market.

As for the core game? Those 2011 reviews still stand. The story is engaging and well written, the world is immersive and the soundtrack is sensational. Multiple choices and paths mean new experiences await even for those who played it first time around (even without the DLC missions). The guns? Hmmm, well, like I said, it looks like an FPS but it sure doesn't feel like one. That's not a problem, though. Checkpoints, on the other hand, can be a pain at times. For instance, say, like me, you suddenly have an urge to throw a cardboard box at a police officer to see what happens and then he takes out his gun and tries to kill you, so you run out of the station only to find the entire city wants you dead for this minor misdemeanour. When death comes you'll be thrown straight back in front of the aggrieved cop. The menu allows you to go back to previous checkpoints, but by default it can be incredibly sinister in this respect. Hey, the moral of this story is, don't playfully throw cardboard boxes at cops, it annoys them. Who knew? Loading times are the only other complaint. They were long and intrusive before, they still are.

It was always going to be a tough sell for Square Enix. Alas, they have failed as far as commercial success goes, but for those of us who've decided to take a break from Mario, Zelda and Pikmin to pick this up, the Wii U just got that little bit more awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Directors cut & a lot more, 10 Dec 2013
By 
A. Vasilciu - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Deus Ex: Human Revolution - Director's Cut (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
Okay this game came out on the other two consoles (that we shal not mention their names) & pc a couple of years ago.
So its an old game. (I did play it on the PC).

So for a start this game only uses the wii u game pad. It also includes the previous dlc & more. It has the strategy guide selected from main menu. The game pad screen is used for map, inventory among other things. Also you can post guides & info onto miiverse from inside the game. Graphics while not best on the system are top notch.
One of the good things about this game is you can chose to tackle it how you like. From being a sniper charging in all gun blazing or the nice guy aproach of not killing anyone. (Im trying this aproach it just adds another level of challenge).

Its a great game & highly recomended especially at the sub £20 price on amazon. It would be nice to see some more of
SE games having the same style of release. Would love to see a sleeping dogs directors cut on the wii u.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dues EX, 4 Dec 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deus Ex: Human Revolution - Director's Cut (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
truly epic game, first time i have played and makes great use of the gamepad! as a dad i can play the game with touch screen controls when the kids have the big TV! must buy and at this price a complete steal what you waiting for go buy it people
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fit for wii u, 19 Dec 2013
By 
Even A. Langseth "villaksen" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Deus Ex: Human Revolution - Director's Cut (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
Played through the Xbox 360 version, which was extremely addictive.
So far, the wii u version seems superior in a few ways, mainly in how the game pad is used.
A fantastic game, and a great fit for wii u.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deus Ex: Human Revolution - Director's Cut (Nintendo Wii U) is a great update for the game, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deus Ex: Human Revolution - Director's Cut (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
The game was great originally but now even better with the directors cut. Great updates to the extra dlc included in the game, the visuals have improved greatly and gameplay is so much better and accessible. Boss battles are better because there is more ways to defeat the enemies. The gamepad makes this game so much better and that is why I recommend you get the game for the Wii U.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much improved, 3 Dec 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Deus Ex: Human Revolution - Director's Cut (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
With the boss battles , and other aspects much improved . There really isn't any faults in this game. For a deus ex fan this is a 10/10. If your into stealth, free roam, but have the choice to go in all guns blazing (even though I wouldn't recommend it) this is the game for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deus Ex: Human Revolution - Director's Cut (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
A really great game, with fantastic mechanics, and pretty good graphics. The loading screen is rather long sometimes, though. Overall very worth every penny, and even a few more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A gem, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deus Ex: Human Revolution - Director's Cut (Nintendo Wii U) (Video Game)
Very good value game with loads of content and a good challenge.

Adam Jensen has really grown on me as a character.

A very worthy purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deus Ex: Human Revolution - Director's Cut (Nintendo Wii U)
£22.02
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews