Customer Reviews


174 Reviews
5 star:
 (120)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Very Accomplished Debut
I've been keen to listen to Tom Odell' debut album since he won the Critics' Choice award at the BRIT Awards. The wait was worth it, as this is a good album, with some great tracks. Such is the strength of this album that you could imagine any of these songs being played on the radio.
The opening track 'Grow Old With Me' is very typical of the feel that is being...
Published 13 months ago by Sprootie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a listen to
A lot of music critics where giving this great reviews so I purchased being curious and wanting to expand the musicians that I llisten to!
Not impressed on first listening but gave it a few more plays and it begins to grow on the listener. someone to watch for the future
Published 2 months ago by Mr. B. P. Fitzpatrick


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Very Accomplished Debut, 24 Jun 2013
By 
This review is from: Long Way Down (Audio CD)
I've been keen to listen to Tom Odell' debut album since he won the Critics' Choice award at the BRIT Awards. The wait was worth it, as this is a good album, with some great tracks. Such is the strength of this album that you could imagine any of these songs being played on the radio.
The opening track 'Grow Old With Me' is very typical of the feel that is being portrayed on the album, which is a soulful ballad with a lovely piano obbligato. The way Odell combines all the different elements of the tracks together shows a lot of musical ability. I'm especially impressed by the way he changes volume, and uses that, and the softening of his voice to sing more tenders parts, such as on 'Hold Me'.
My favourite track is 'I Know'. I think this track has the best piano accompaniment, although maybe that's only because 'Another Love' has received a bit of radio play so I'm perhaps overlooking it. I don't think that there is a track on this album that is especially weak, although they are all very similar for me. I would have liked to have heard a couple of different ideas maybe, or perhaps a bit more instrumentation, but nevertheless it's a very accomplished debut album.
It's a bit hard to think that he's 22 and has released an album of this quality. It makes me wonder what I've been doing with my life. I'm hoping that as he ages his music keeps getting better, as this is a great place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long Way Down by Tom Odell., 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Way Down (Audio CD)
Heard just one track on the Radio and
Was bowled over with it !
Bought the album on the strength of that one
track and have been more than delighted with
all the other tracks on the album !
Tom Odell is one to watch in the Future !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Way Down (Audio CD)
A brilliant album. A very talented artist. There is not one bad track. Here's to his next one can't wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Way Down (Audio CD)
Really good album haven't heard a duff track on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Way Down (Audio CD)
Some excellent tunes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Way Down (Audio CD)
good listen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Way Down (Audio CD)
My partner loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Way Down [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
This has been an album where I wasn't sure to buy but finally gave in and downloaded. So glad I did it is amazing I love all the songs it's well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easy listening CD, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Way Down (Audio CD)
A good cd to relax to. In my opinion he is good, but nothing outstanding when it comes to content of the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a listen to, 1 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. B. P. Fitzpatrick "Music mellow" (Newry. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Way Down (Audio CD)
A lot of music critics where giving this great reviews so I purchased being curious and wanting to expand the musicians that I llisten to!
Not impressed on first listening but gave it a few more plays and it begins to grow on the listener. someone to watch for the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews