Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NO PUNCHES HELD
As with the man himself this book is brutal and no nonsense. He doesn't kiss a** and and exposes people like Nash, Shawn & Hall as p***** like we suspected all along. Perhaps the first ever auto to actually slate Vince Mac numerous times yet show what a genius he is in the wrestling business as well. In my top 3 alongside Bret and Road Warrior Animals book.
Published 19 months ago by SHAWN POP

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Honest yet one track book
I'll start by saying, I wouldn't consider myself a Bob Holly fan, he was just one of those guys who was always around but never really seemed to click for me, but as a man who'd been around for every significant event (both on camera and off since 1995 or there abouts) I figured it would be a decent read.

It was and it wasn't. I can't fault the man for his...
Published 12 months ago by J Whitney


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NO PUNCHES HELD, 24 May 2013
This review is from: Hardcore Truth, The: The Bob Holly Story (Kindle Edition)
As with the man himself this book is brutal and no nonsense. He doesn't kiss a** and and exposes people like Nash, Shawn & Hall as p***** like we suspected all along. Perhaps the first ever auto to actually slate Vince Mac numerous times yet show what a genius he is in the wrestling business as well. In my top 3 alongside Bret and Road Warrior Animals book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like wrestling autobiographies this is a must read, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hardcore Truth, The (Paperback)
I was blown away by how much of a page-turner this was. Totally unexpected. Bob Holly's book is about as honest as it gets and should be a textbook for any sports-man/woman/entertainer attempting to write their own.

Bob is brutally honest about his experiences in wrestling, some of the people that we read about in numerous other autobiographies (his thoughts about Shawn Michaels, both then and now, are fascinating) and a career that was good but perhaps didn't reach the pinnacle of his talent. His explanation of the now famous Tough Enough incident is particularly fun to read and pretty much sums him up as a character. The wrestling industry is much worse for his absence.

A really good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any wrestling fan, 2 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hardcore Truth, The: The Bob Holly Story (Kindle Edition)
This book is up there with Foley's, Hart's and Jericho's books. What it may lack in humour it easily makes up for in grit and true insight. Bob pulls none of his punches when describing what it was like to be working during the most exciting and turbulent times of WWE history.
Bob's story isn't one of instant success and overnight fame, it's an arduous journey of blood, sweat and tears with the goal of just appearing in each year's wrestlemania.
Bob has a unique opinion on pretty much every WWE superstar past and present, and while you may not sometimes agree with his views you will definitely understand where he's coming from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hardcore Honesty, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hardcore Truth, The: The Bob Holly Story (Kindle Edition)
I'm a little surprised by this book. Here I was, expecting another wrestler to not mention names, not really give any dirt or even be that honest, Bob Holly has done the exact opposite to what everyone else has done, and gives plenty of insight into what life is really like for an eternal mid-carder. He is open and honest about himself and how he wrestles, why he didn't make it big, and doesn't seem to bothered or really blame anyone too much for that. He knew his job was to make others look better and he tried to do just that. One of the best book's on wrestling I have read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a brilliant read!!, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hardcore Truth, The: The Bob Holly Story (Kindle Edition)
I would recommend this book to all wrestling fans and anyone interested in finding out the truth ( most wrestling 'autobiographies' I have read have been works of fiction driven by an overinflated ego) about wrestling. It is an open and honest account of life in the wrestling business, it has a great flow and really draws you in. Hardcore Holly is one of the most underrated superstars in the business I watched him for every one of those 15 years and this book brought back some great memories as well as explaining the backstage stories behind the matches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best wrestling book since Have A Nice Day, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really wasn't sure about this, as Bob Holly was never a favourite and his online rep is, ahem, let's just say he's never been a smarks darling. But this is a great read. It's honest, funny and genuinely interesting. He comes across as a very straightforward guy and not one trying to settle scores or suck up to anybody either. Wrestling books often fail because the writers either want to position themselves in a better light than they deserve or are too scared to name names and actually reveal what was going on. This isn't like that at all. He clearly doesn't care about offending anyone, though he isn't unduly nasty to anyone. For example, he absolutely rips HHH as a person but often states how much he respects his ring work.

He's full of insights and when you disagree with his opinion - which you will occasionally - you can at least respect it.

If you like non-kayfabe wrestling books, this is essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bob Holly - a sensible and likeable bloke!, 7 Sep 2014
By 
M. J. Taylor (Newbury, Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A truly brilliant book, that had me hooked all the way through. Bob's views on wrestling are very articulate and understandable. I agreed with his opinions on almost everything. This book isn't about ego or trying to to bury another wrestler. Bob is incredibly respectful of everyone who deserves to be written about that way. His views on HHH are hilarious! This book was a total surprise, I expected him to be miserable and revengeful. The book ended with me liking Bob Howard immensely. Thank-you Bob.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must for hardcore fans, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great read and a great insight into a wrestler I have liked for many years.
It was good to hear his take on things and read things I did not know before.
There's also some touching subjects covering other wrestlers and it's lovely to hear them spoken about honestly and by somebody who worked closely with them.
Enjoyed reading this. Well done Bob.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hardcore Truth, The: The Bob Holly Story (Kindle Edition)
A very interesting read that I finished in just over 4 days·A very different view of the world of wrestling from a mid card act, worth every penny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for any wrestling fan, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After reading this book I gained so much respect for Bob Holly. Even if you didn't care for him during his WWE run, give this book a try as you learn so much about the politics behind the scenes of the company during the Attitude Era.

His stories are honest - they really open your eyes and mind to the ups and downs the WWE wrestlers go through just to entertain us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews