Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars21
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.34+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 June 2013
This latest live release from Jarrett's trio really is nothing short of brilliant.
Everything from their famed tight, intuitive and almost telepathic interplay down to how much fun these three legends seem to be having together.
The more I listen to this superb disc, the more I start to think it could even rank as one of my all-time favourite Jarrett recordings.
How anyone can listen to this level of quality musicianship and not be filled with total awe & joy is truely beyond me.

Easily a 5 Star recording.

Now please just go and buy as many ECM Jazz recordings as your bank balance will allow!!!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Five VIRTUOSIC Stars. Jazz Trio Excellence! "The Standards Trio" of piano icon Keith Jarrett, inventive bassist Gary Peacock, and drum master Jack DeJohnette is in outstanding form in this 2009 concert recorded live in Lucerne Switzerland. It's been over 30 years since this most highly-influential trio began playing together as a unit in live and recorded 'summit meetings' to critical and popular acclaim. Each performance is wonderful but the 'best of the best' begins with the beautiful 'solo piano to trio' reading of "Deep Space/Solar" with marvelous solos from Jarrett and Peacock over DeJohnette's percussive commentary. "Stars Fell on Alabama" and "I Thought About You" get the mellow, inventive ballad treatment. "Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea" and "Tonight" are swinging, off-kilter performances. And perhaps best of all the amazing bolero-like vamps surrounding the 19 minute convergence of "Somewhere/Everywhere", which gets a roaring ovation. These are 'killer' performances with great trio interaction and solos, recorded on the pristine ECM soundscape in front of an enthusiastic audience, by one of the greatest jazz trios in history which seems to get better with each new offering. My Highest Recommendation! Five LYRICAL Stars. (6 tracks; Time: 65 minutes: 33 seconds )
66 comments|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2013
My husband is a great Keith Jarrett fan and loves most things he does, so this was an excellent present. (Stars should say "he loves it" - he plays it in his workshop, so I haven't even heard it!)
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 25 September 2015
Yet another KJ Trio release?Do we need more,you ask?Of course we do!This is another great example of the best jazz trio of our time.No,I'm not indulging in hyperbole,it happens to be a fact.Three stars in their own right,a coming together that simply makes absolute sense,working(or should that be playing?) in perfect harmony/sympathy/empathy.There is no peer for this collaboration,don't waste your time looking,just buy this,and then as many of the others as you can get your mitts on,and enjoy them!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
As has been widely remarked, this 2009 concert is the first release of the Standards trio since a, well, trio of recordings from 2001. The current strategy of releasing Jarrett live performances is slightly cryptic (which is not necessarily a bad thing); while certain solo performances have been rushed out, ECM have also delved into their vaults for (admittedly excellent) quartet recordings from the 1970s.

I saw the Trio at the Royal Festival Hall the same summer in what was an undeniably fine concert but the decision to release "Somewhere" is justified in that it strikes a rare and more satisfying balance between tradition and invention. When I first saw the tracklisting, I was slightly underwhelmed but the two restless Jarrett originals (which respectively lead into and out of other compositions) add a spike to proceedings. The much-recorded Miles Davis original "Solar" is presented in an inventive, propulsive form before evolving into a rich resolution while "Stars Fall on Alabama" is simply beautiful.

Although the standing of the Standards Trio is beyond reproach, in past I have sometimes wondered what more they can say beyond their mastery of the great American Song Book. "Somewhere" dispels any such doubts and is highly recommended to the faithful and the unwashed. Enjoy.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2014
Articulate and skilled pianist in a well driven trio;wonderful jazz!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 June 2013
The trio are in great form here. So much so it feels as if a new phase has been entered, one which reaches back to the 70s and touches the American Quintet. The title track is amazing; how they arrived at where they arrived from Leonard Bernstein's standard.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2013
... you'll know what to expect. If not, this is an excellent place to start. Quality; from cover, through sound (an ECM given) to the sheer joy of the playing.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
Excellent selection of tracks, with really interesting music. Bought this as a gift and the recipient was delighted. Highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2014
Arrived swift and in good nick
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.72
£8.30
£8.47

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)