Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Modern Classic
This latest live release from Jarrett's trio really is nothing short of brilliant.
Everything from their famed tight, intuitive and almost telepathic interplay down to how much fun these three legends seem to be having together.
The more I listen to this superb disc, the more I start to think it could even rank as one of my all-time favourite Jarrett...
Published 15 months ago by T. Riley

versus
5 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing result from Mr Jarrett
Quite frankly a rather boring and repetitve CD. I ordered it based on some good reviews by others, but I'll be more careful in future.
Published 15 months ago by Captain Sensible


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Modern Classic, 24 Jun 2013
By 
T. Riley (Bournemouth, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Somewhere (Audio CD)
This latest live release from Jarrett's trio really is nothing short of brilliant.
Everything from their famed tight, intuitive and almost telepathic interplay down to how much fun these three legends seem to be having together.
The more I listen to this superb disc, the more I start to think it could even rank as one of my all-time favourite Jarrett recordings.
How anyone can listen to this level of quality musicianship and not be filled with total awe & joy is truely beyond me.

Easily a 5 Star recording.

Now please just go and buy as many ECM Jazz recordings as your bank balance will allow!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SOMEWHERE: THE TRIO EXCELLENCE OF JARRETT, PEACOCK, AND DEJOHNETTE, 28 May 2013
By 
RSProds "rbsprods" (Deep in the heart of Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Somewhere (Audio CD)
Five VIRTUOSIC Stars. Jazz Trio Excellence! "The Standards Trio" of piano icon Keith Jarrett, inventive bassist Gary Peacock, and drum master Jack DeJohnette is in outstanding form in this 2009 concert recorded live in Lucerne Switzerland. It's been over 30 years since this most highly-influential trio began playing together as a unit in live and recorded 'summit meetings' to critical and popular acclaim. Each performance is wonderful but the 'best of the best' begins with the beautiful 'solo piano to trio' reading of "Deep Space/Solar" with marvelous solos from Jarrett and Peacock over DeJohnette's percussive commentary. "Stars Fell on Alabama" and "I Thought About You" get the mellow, inventive ballad treatment. "Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea" and "Tonight" are swinging, off-kilter performances. And perhaps best of all the amazing bolero-like vamps surrounding the 19 minute convergence of "Somewhere/Everywhere", which gets a roaring ovation. These are 'killer' performances with great trio interaction and solos, recorded on the pristine ECM soundscape in front of an enthusiastic audience, by one of the greatest jazz trios in history which seems to get better with each new offering. My Highest Recommendation! Five LYRICAL Stars. (6 tracks; Time: 65 minutes: 33 seconds )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great CD!, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Somewhere (Audio CD)
Excellent selection of tracks, with really interesting music. Bought this as a gift and the recipient was delighted. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars KJ Fan, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Somewhere (Audio CD)
My husband is a great Keith Jarrett fan and loves most things he does, so this was an excellent present. (Stars should say "he loves it" - he plays it in his workshop, so I haven't even heard it!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jarrett in top form, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Somewhere (Audio CD)
Because of his output (who can keep up with it?) Keith Jarrett is taken very much for granted but usually there is at least one track which is spectacular.
Here the mix is from rombustious to plaintive, the tune selections are excellent. At first I thought Solar with its fast tempo and way out improvisation was the outstanding track but on further listening the other tracks come up to this standard, Somewhere and Tonight from West Side Story are outstanding but really the whole CD is outstanding as well.
Jarrett lovers will need no second bidding and for those wishing to dip a toe in the Keith Jarrett waters this will set you off greatly.
Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An innovative take on tradition, 29 May 2013
This review is from: Somewhere (Audio CD)
As has been widely remarked, this 2009 concert is the first release of the Standards trio since a, well, trio of recordings from 2001. The current strategy of releasing Jarrett live performances is slightly cryptic (which is not necessarily a bad thing); while certain solo performances have been rushed out, ECM have also delved into their vaults for (admittedly excellent) quartet recordings from the 1970s.

I saw the Trio at the Royal Festival Hall the same summer in what was an undeniably fine concert but the decision to release "Somewhere" is justified in that it strikes a rare and more satisfying balance between tradition and invention. When I first saw the tracklisting, I was slightly underwhelmed but the two restless Jarrett originals (which respectively lead into and out of other compositions) add a spike to proceedings. The much-recorded Miles Davis original "Solar" is presented in an inventive, propulsive form before evolving into a rich resolution while "Stars Fall on Alabama" is simply beautiful.

Although the standing of the Standards Trio is beyond reproach, in past I have sometimes wondered what more they can say beyond their mastery of the great American Song Book. "Somewhere" dispels any such doubts and is highly recommended to the faithful and the unwashed. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful jazz!, 19 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. J. B. Silcock (Sheringham,Norfolk,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Somewhere (Audio CD)
Articulate and skilled pianist in a well driven trio;wonderful jazz!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you know your Jarrett......, 9 July 2013
By 
R. Carless "Mr C" (Hartlepool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Somewhere (Audio CD)
... you'll know what to expect. If not, this is an excellent place to start. Quality; from cover, through sound (an ECM given) to the sheer joy of the playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On song again, 28 Jun 2013
By 
Deep Reader - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Somewhere (Audio CD)
The trio are in great form here. So much so it feels as if a new phase has been entered, one which reaches back to the 70s and touches the American Quintet. The title track is amazing; how they arrived at where they arrived from Leonard Bernstein's standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Aug 2014
By 
G. N. Lawson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Somewhere (Audio CD)
Arrived swift and in good nick
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Somewhere
Somewhere by Keith Jarrett (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews