Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everybody should read this.
Very easy to read and follow lots of good information. Gives you peace of mind if suffering from anxiety and depression, people should realise that your brain lies to you all the time when you have depression and anxiety and the thoughts you have are not who you are. I would recommend this book to anyone suffering.
Published 15 months ago by claire sweet

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing overall
The book does have some great points, it covers a lot of ground and has some great ideas. However, most of the ideas are under-developed and the author does not really go into much detail on any one idea. I think the book is probably trying to cover too many subjects in it's short page count - the author should either have broken the ideas up into separate books and gone...
Published 4 months ago by Jack Bettle


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing overall, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brain Renovation - Rebuild your brain from the ground up (Kindle Edition)
The book does have some great points, it covers a lot of ground and has some great ideas. However, most of the ideas are under-developed and the author does not really go into much detail on any one idea. I think the book is probably trying to cover too many subjects in it's short page count - the author should either have broken the ideas up into separate books and gone into greater detail or just gone deeper within the one book (but it would then have to be considerably longer). Now, because the book was very cheap (I bought it when it was 77p) I can overlook this lack of depth.

Then come my two biggest problems: the first one is a personal pet peeve with e-book and small/self publishing and that is spelling and grammar. Really if you are a professional writer and you are releasing a book it needs to be properly proof read and checked for obvious mistakes. I found several instances of missing words, misspelled words and the occasional wrong word (which made the sentence make no sense. Obviously, it slipped past the spell check because it was spelt correctly, just the wrong word!)
Finally, the biggest problem with this book. To be honest it's pretty inexcusable for any piece of writing trying ti pass itself off as scientific and that is a lack of sources. Frequently, the author uses phrases such as "studies have shown" or "X has been shown to..." Where has this been shown?! Please, please, please include the references to papers/studies etc.

Overall, it wasn't a bad buy because it was short (this is a positive because it didn't waste too much of my time), cheap and did contain some decent (and occasionally valid) points/ideas - unfortunately I only found out they were valid after checking sources myself - something which wasted my time and annoyed me no end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everybody should read this., 27 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brain Renovation - Rebuild your brain from the ground up (Kindle Edition)
Very easy to read and follow lots of good information. Gives you peace of mind if suffering from anxiety and depression, people should realise that your brain lies to you all the time when you have depression and anxiety and the thoughts you have are not who you are. I would recommend this book to anyone suffering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good points, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brain Renovation - Rebuild your brain from the ground up (Kindle Edition)
Well worth the money. I have been suffering a little bit of anxiety at different places recently nothing serious . I felt the book gave a lot of good info about the subjects listed I didn't read the depression pages as I didn't need to but totally agree with the fact that exercise and completely switching off using meditation can help in life and give you piece of mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth a read for some basic common sense around how your brain works and keeping good mental health, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brain Renovation - Rebuild your brain from the ground up (Kindle Edition)
Very clear explanations with a friendly style - wish had read this a long time ago. No silly mumbo jumbo involved - all facts can be easily verified. The title seems to imply that it is for 'broken brains' that need rebuilding - not the case, it is a useful reference for everyone in looking after their mental well being without being too taxing a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brain Renovation - Rebuild your brain from the ground up (Kindle Edition)
This is a really really good book I have read a lot of books that talk about ways to help ease depression and anxiety and insomnia and this by far is the best it actually makes a lot of sense and I highly recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brain Renovation - Rebuild your brain from the ground up (Kindle Edition)
This is a really really good book I have read a lot of books that talk about ways to help ease depression and anxiety and insomnia and this by far is the best it actually makes a lot of sense and I highly recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews