Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Energy saving replacement for G4 bulbs, hopefully will last longer too
I was forever replacing blown halogen G4 bulbs. I tried not to think about the cost of my time plus all the electrical power used but finally I decided to look for LED bulbs, having successfully converted several GU10 spot lights to LED bulbs.

These bulbs seem to fit the bill, obviously they are slightly more expensive than some halogen G4 bulbs but at about...
Published 11 months ago by Steve Ward

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The first one has given up after 2 weeks
I have installed a few of these and after 2 weeks the first one has given up with one of the leds starting to flash. The light output is quite reasonable and the color is a cool white, much cooler than halogen. I am hopeful that the one that gave up was a fluke.
Published 12 months ago by N. Mekenkamp


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Energy saving replacement for G4 bulbs, hopefully will last longer too, 19 Oct 2013
By 
Steve Ward (Milton Keynes, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 10X G4 1.5W SMD 3014 LED Bulb DC12V 1.5W G4 led lamp 3014 SMD LED Light Bulbs 12V G4 spotlight bulb in crystal lamp Super Bright G4 led Warm White
I was forever replacing blown halogen G4 bulbs. I tried not to think about the cost of my time plus all the electrical power used but finally I decided to look for LED bulbs, having successfully converted several GU10 spot lights to LED bulbs.

These bulbs seem to fit the bill, obviously they are slightly more expensive than some halogen G4 bulbs but at about £1.50 each this isn't a deal breaker.

Initially the bulbs looked good, with a similar colour (warm white) to the halogen G4 bulbs being replaced. However, I noticed a few things as follows.

In one overhead light fitting, the bulbs would not light at all. When replacing some of the bulbs with the original halogen G4s, the new bulbs started working. Either the power supply in this fitting has a minimum load and this wasn't met or the voltage was too high and the bulbs didn't light. So for this fitting I now have a mix of halogen and LEDs. It looks fine, however, and still saves some energy but not as much.

In an under cupboard fitting, the bulbs would flicker. Replacing some of the bulbs with halogen G4s helped, but as they heated up there was more flicker. I decided to replace the old transformer with a new LED driver and this resolved the issue, however this added significantly to the cost and the time to install. All looks good now, though.

I would add that the light is very slightly dimmer than before, but this is only just noticeable. Also, I don't think these bulbs are suitable for dimming. Another issue but not for me is that these bulbs are longer than halogen G4s, all my fittings still allowed them to be installed. These bulbs also run very cool which is good in summer and for the kitchen cupboards but not so good for the cats who liked to use the old lights as heatlamps.

So, you may find that some fittings won't work, you may have to replace old transformers/power supplies, but eventually you will start to save electrical energy and hopefully the bulbs will last much longer than Halogen G4s.

I have now ordered some more of these and may buy some more for other fittings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good bulbs but if your gonna do it, do it correctly, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 10X G4 1.5W SMD 3014 LED Bulb DC12V 1.5W G4 led lamp 3014 SMD LED Light Bulbs 12V G4 spotlight bulb in crystal lamp Super Bright G4 led Warm White
bought these to fit to my mothers light which went through halogen 12v ac bulbs like sweeties.

bonus is cost saving on bulbs and bills

have seen bad reviews for these and similar bulbs but that's from people only capable of changing bulbs.

these are dc bulbs which require a dc voltage
the light I fitted them to had an 240volt to 12(ish) volt ac transformer
thus requiring this removed and swapped over for a suitable led driver

had no problems since fitted and light colour is very similar to the halogen bulbs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good LED Bulbs and cheap too, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 10X G4 1.5W SMD 3014 LED Bulb DC12V 1.5W G4 led lamp 3014 SMD LED Light Bulbs 12V G4 spotlight bulb in crystal lamp Super Bright G4 led Warm White
I was wary about these as the price was so cheap £1.29 per bulb. Many I have seen on Amazon are circa £5 each, but I have to say that these inital thoughts / concerns were unfounded. The bulbs are excellent in every way as bright or slightly brighter than the 10W halogen 12V bulb that they replaced. It is important to note that I also replaced the transformer for the light with an LED driver. I see from other reviews that not all people do this and then complain that the LED bulbs do not work very well due to being dim or fail. You must follow the manufacturers direction and use a proper LED driver unit sized appropriately for the bulbs in question and all will be well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These are brilliant, but require a driver to work properly., 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 10X G4 1.5W SMD 3014 LED Bulb DC12V 1.5W G4 led lamp 3014 SMD LED Light Bulbs 12V G4 spotlight bulb in crystal lamp Super Bright G4 led Warm White
These bulbs are great - they are a little whiter than the halogen capsules they replace but after a day or so, it's not at all noticeable. When used with a suitable LED Driver (DC Mode), they are excellent and provide a constant (non flickering) and bright light. Without a suitable LED driver (AC Mode) they flicker and require at least one halogen to drive the AC transformer - a situation that was not acceptable to me at least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The first one has given up after 2 weeks, 23 Sep 2013
By 
N. Mekenkamp "Meek" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 10X G4 1.5W SMD 3014 LED Bulb DC12V 1.5W G4 led lamp 3014 SMD LED Light Bulbs 12V G4 spotlight bulb in crystal lamp Super Bright G4 led Warm White
I have installed a few of these and after 2 weeks the first one has given up with one of the leds starting to flash. The light output is quite reasonable and the color is a cool white, much cooler than halogen. I am hopeful that the one that gave up was a fluke.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars 10X G4 1.5W SMD 3014 LED Bulb DC12V 1.5W Rubbish bulb!!!!, 28 July 2014
This review is from: 10X G4 1.5W SMD 3014 LED Bulb DC12V 1.5W G4 led lamp 3014 SMD LED Light Bulbs 12V G4 spotlight bulb in crystal lamp Super Bright G4 led Warm White
DO NOT BUY! There you have been warned. These Led's were bought to replace the Halogen bulbs in an illuminated bathroom mirror. Firstly, they are so dim they make it impossible for intended purpose. Secondly, all of them flicker. The "led transformer" was replaced but no difference. These are cheap imports. I guess the old saying still holds true, you get what you pay for. Not recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Led G4, 28 Aug 2013
This review is from: 10X G4 1.5W SMD 3014 LED Bulb DC12V 1.5W G4 led lamp 3014 SMD LED Light Bulbs 12V G4 spotlight bulb in crystal lamp Super Bright G4 led Warm White
Out of sixteen LEDs 4 failed within a week and the remainder are now dimmer than the new ones. Obviously more testing and research is needed to make them a viable replacement. I will try again in a year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, can't fault, 13 July 2014
By 
Laura Butcher - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 10X G4 1.5W SMD 3014 LED Bulb DC12V 1.5W G4 led lamp 3014 SMD LED Light Bulbs 12V G4 spotlight bulb in crystal lamp Super Bright G4 led Warm White
Bought alongside a new low-voltage transformer for 3 sets of lights. They were easy to fit and give out a lovely bright light. Only had them a month so can't comment on longevity but they've already lasted longer than the old halogen ones used to in the same fittings!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 12 July 2014
This review is from: 10X G4 1.5W SMD 3014 LED Bulb DC12V 1.5W G4 led lamp 3014 SMD LED Light Bulbs 12V G4 spotlight bulb in crystal lamp Super Bright G4 led Warm White
These were not as good as expected low light output.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They have a nice bright white light, 11 July 2014
This review is from: 10X G4 1.5W SMD 3014 LED Bulb DC12V 1.5W G4 led lamp 3014 SMD LED Light Bulbs 12V G4 spotlight bulb in crystal lamp Super Bright G4 led Warm White
I have just fitted 20 of these to a spiral ceiling light which once up is hard to access so anticipated life expectancy is important to me. They have a nice bright white light, brighter than the original 7w Halogen bulbs. All worked out of the box. I have no data on life expectancy and hope not to have for some years. I have replaced the original transformer with an LED power supply which cost more than the 20 bulbs but which was still only a few pounds. These bulbs cost me about 60p each and if I had bought them locally they would have been over £5.00 each. Nothing more to be said. Tesco charge 90p each for halogen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews